We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Comfort, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We've been staying in the French Quarter for the last 9 yrs or so. Hotel St. Marie has been one of the best so far. The location is wonderful, so close to the action of everything. We were impressed with the size of the room itself, it was larger than any of the others we have stayed in. We were quite pleased with our choice this year by staying at Hotel St. Marie. The staff was very helpful & informative in anything we needed. I was somewhat worried after reading some of the reviews, I'm glad I didn't let any of the negative reviews sway my decision. I found the bed to be comfortable, the bathroom area was great. We never went to the bar or restaurant so cant comment on that. We only had the tv on once so no complaints there. The walls are thin so you do hear other people, tvs or doors but out of the other 8 hotels we've stayed at in New Orleans they've all been like that. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. I want to thank them for such a great stay this year. We look forward to staying again. A few things to keep in mind is what hotel is perfect? and no matter what you can't satisfy everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    745
    257
    104
    61
See reviews for
302
754
79
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here 10 years ago and it's quite evident that in time in between, they have not invested any money back into the rooms. The beds were very uncomfortable, room appeared dirty but think it was just dingy. The bathrom door gave no privacy, the mirror chipping and so on. The service given by front desk, bar and restaurants was very good. You can't beat the location, just a block from Bourbon St., but quiet enough for the noise not to bother you. So, if you're just heading there to party, it might be a good choice. Not sure I'd stay there again myself though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everything was great from the service, food, cleanliness to a great location.
For the price you can't beat it. We had a great time.
The only minor set back is the doors in the hotel.
You can't close your room door quiet. We aren't late nighters which is what makes the location so great. A couple times we were just starting to drift off at night and a neighbors door would slam and startle us. We couldn't even shut our door quietly no matter how we tried.
Again this is so minor I'm not sure I should mention it but I did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GREG E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice historic hotel with most amenities just a 1/2 block from Bourbon Street. My room was modest, but nicely furnished in Victorian style. Very clean, but somewhat dated. Restaurant Vacherie served a very good Creole breakfast. The lovely courtyard is a major feature, but it rained while I was there, so I didn't spend any time in it. As with all Valentino hotels, the bedding is never up to snuff. Other than that I had little to complain about, since the price coveried all shortcomings. Valet parking on-site is a bargain at $28 per night. Nice staff.

Easily recommended for value-conscious travellers.

Room Tip: Balconiy rooms available on the noisy street side and the quiet courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nedntxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I am amazed at the positive reviews of this place. We had a booking here through hotwire in October and the room assigned to us had a water leak:

There was a non-stop drip into the room - after an initial complaint a maintenance person came
- who clearly indicated he had looked at this before and had told management that it was NOT resolved and that it could not be resolved at short notice. This means:
1) This is a safety hazard - there is a long term moist environment and the whole room smelt of moistness and fungus/mildew
2) management was aware of this problem and put is in this room knowing the state of the room from a comfort and safety perspective

After this I asked for a different room - hotel was full so where sister properties. This can happen off course - but there was plenty of availability in the area - NOTHING was done to arrange anything for us - literally NOTHING (I have never never been treated so disrespectfully as a client by the responsible manager there - travel to communist countries has shown a higher regard for basic economic rationality and customer focus).

We decided to leave on our own accord and booked into the Marriot in New Orleans (Great Experience for an additional 20 USD!!!) and informed Hotwire that the hotel was refusing us accommodation in an acceptable room. And you would think it could get not get worst - you are wrong.

They now tried to keep hotwire out of the loop with some blah blah about that it would take months for me to get my money back - I should let them refund it directly. This suggestion came when they called the offsite manager (1st time in the process!!!!)! So there would be no registration at Hotwire of the hotel not meeting the Hotwire contract terms and being liable for the compensation Hotwire owes me. This was the valuable suggestion of the off site manager of this clearly client focused property.

As a clear proof of the above - Hotwire refunded in a matter of days and covered all additional costs and provided the 1st apology in this whole process - they have not confirmed they have stopped doing business with this dangerous and fraudulent hotel but hope they are taking this into account.

I have not provided many 1 star reviews (only one previously I believe) but I feel bad for that property now - this deserves a 0!. To give you an indication of how serious we took this - we spent time the next day lodging a formal complaint with the health authorities in new orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esploratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recommended to us by our Travel Agent, who knows her business. The St. Marie was just what we wanted. Large, quiet room with balcony over courtyard near the swimming pool. King-sized bed.

Front Desk service was always very helpful, especially John Marshall.

Major PLUS: GREAT location 2 blocks from Royal Street & close, but not too close, to Bourbon Street. Easy walking to riverfront and all parts of French Quarter. Few Blocks from the St. Louis Cathedral and its surrounding artists.

Restaurant served excellent breakfasts, including fresh fruit cup and one of the largest, fluffiest (homemade) biscuits ever. Lounge has good service, TV over bar, and long-duration happy hour. Reasonable prices for the room, at the restaurant and the lounge.

"Cons": 1 elevator for about 102 rooms; in-room TV was not HD, and (if needed) on-the-premises parking was $31 per day.

The photos excellently depict a real sense of the hotel and its location. etc.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the courtyard and is on a hallway that is away from the elevator (such as room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel just OK, location was the main factor. Situated in the French quarters just around the corner to Bourbon Street and Pat Obrien pub. All the action at night is in that area. Not to scare anyone as it could happen anywhere, but in the morning I learned that there was a robbery at gunpoint in front of the hotel. It is situated on a side street and not as visible as a larger hotel, so that could be a setback. Otherwise, it was comfortable and clean and the desk was helpful in getting us a taxi to bring us to the cruise terminal. Not really a place if you have kids.

Room Tip: Just an overnighter, if needed longer I would look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andisml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 165 in New Orleans
2,275 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 165 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 165 in New Orleans
624 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#50 of 165 in New Orleans
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing