We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very New Orleans experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Bedding / Free WIFI
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very New Orleans experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I liked this hotel a lot. Rates are very affordable, location is perfect (you're close to Bourbon, but not TOO close) and I really liked the front desk staff I interacted with. You could tell one or two of them were real characters (in a good way), but at the same time they were the height of professionalism without being over the top. They had some very good recommendations of things to do during my stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWWBusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    668
    227
    92
    53
See reviews for
249
668
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We pick new orleans for our vacation.some friends of our told us we must stay at the hotel st. marie
so we took a chance and book the hotel.well let me say our stay was memorable starting with the front desk agent at check in throughout our stay everyone was helpful and gave us grate places to eat as well as your wonderful restaurant/bar a little bit pricey doe.but overall our stay was wonderful.
the room was some what smaller then i picture on the web but the wonderful staff made up for that. the hotel being so close to bourbon andeverything being in walking distance.GREAT LOCATION!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jermaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

After a great first visit to the French Quarter in November 2010, we returned to the Hotel St. Marie for a second visit in November 2011. My question is this ... what happened to the hotel?
Although there is now a nice cafe and restaurant/bar area staffed by friendly folks and pretty good food and coffee, the front desk staff are either overworked and underpaid or just don't care. We stayed 5 nights in a courtyard, balcony room. The courtyard room was quiet and protected from all the noise of Bourbon St., so we slept better this time around, however, the second week of November 2011 was pretty chilly. No real blankets are provided on the beds at HSM. When we asked for one at the front desk, we were given a polyester, cigarette burned and stained "blanket" which we used because, gosh, it was just darn cold in there. My goodness, there has to be another option for getting an extra comforter! We also had incomplete room service and when we asked the front desk about this, we didn't feel anyone really cared too much to address our concerns. At the end of our stay there was a discussion with a front desk person and we were given the name of the hotel manager, Peter Dandridge. We were assured that if we called Mr. Dandridge after paying our full hotel bill and expressed our concerns, we would get a call back. This didn't happen. Calls were made, voicemails left and no return call and no bill adjustment as promised by the front desk.
There are other hotels in the area and sadly, we won't be coming back to HSM. Not sure if there is new ownership here or what has happened, but we weren't too happy about the service this time around and lack of follow up with, at the very least, a promised return phone call.

Room Tip: get a courtyard balcony room if you are concerned about the noise from Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassij01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The hotel is just one block from Bourbon Street and is nice and quiet. The room was simple but pricing good for the location. Boubon St. is not a place to be in your room for any reason other than to sleep. Staff was nice but not outgoing. The value here is the price for the location along with quietness.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the little bit extra as the room is on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Wifi broken all weekend when I was there, staff not too concerned or even able to say when it would be repaired. Asking Sat morning the desk guy informed me condescendingly the it would surely be fixed within hours (the IT guy is *very* good, he opined). Complained Sunday afternoon when it still wasnt working, and the guy at the desk didn't even respond (silence) let alone take note of my complaint, or offer some kind of accommodation like a voucher or something.... If you want to do some work during the day and enjoy the FQ at night find another hotel. If you just want to hang out, be close but not actually on Burbon street, I'd recommend it.
Btw, unlike some reviewers I didn't notice any untowards odors (cold weekend in December, though...)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowerymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

After reviewing options online, we chose the Hotel St. Marie for a 3-day stay. The hotel is quaint and has the New Orleans charm that you would expect from an older hotel. The location was fabulous...just minutes from Bourbon street and very close to all local attractions...shopping, Jackson Square, riverfront, etc. The staff was not overly friendly but helpful upon request. The rooms were clean and furnished as you would expect for this type of hotel. I would suggest that the management look at adding refrigerators to the rooms...which would have been perfect. A pillow upgrade would also be recommended. Otherwise, everything was great. You can't beat the location, especially for the price. We would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VolsFanForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great value staying here during the week. Convenient location between Bourbon and Dauphine, ~10 min. walk to Jackson Square. Key entry to the hotel after 10 pm which is nice for safety considerations. Lobby staff are nice. Bellmen available to store luggage if arriving early or leaving late. Computer in the lobby to print boarding passes (for free) is a nice bonus.

Rooms are a nice size and pretty clean - there was dust on the bathroom counter and dust accumulated in the blind-like spaces on the door to the bathroom and doors leading into the small closet area outside the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chatterbox-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#5 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing