We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location, Price, and Friendly Helpful Staff”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Location, Price, and Friendly Helpful Staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Recently stayed at the Prince Conti with my girlfriend. We are college students and on a tighter budget than the gainfully employed and this hotel fell into our price range. The hotel is located just a half block from bourbon but somehow we heard no noise what so ever. The hotel is not ultra fabulous but is great for the price. Surprisingly, we slept better at this hotel than we often sleep at home. Bathrooms are small but workable. They offer free wi-fi which a lot of other hotels we looked at didn't. The small restaurant attached to the hotel serves breakfast but the little cafe across the street is half the price and makes great omlettes and coffee. The staff were very helpful with whatever we needed and happily showed us some "authentic" New Orleans things to do since we didn't want to spend the whole time wandering down Bourbon Street drunk. As with anywhere in the French Quarter, be aware that Rampart Street runs just a few blocks north of the hotel and beyond that is sketchy ghetto-land (just because HBO made a show called Treme doesn't mean you should go there) where you are bound to get robbed, raped, or killed. Not to discourage anyone, just keep in mind to keep your wits about you and not to venture outside the French Quarter unless you know its an O.K. area to enter (Canal Street is not bad unless you get up north of the quarter). But back to the hotel, I was more than satisfied but if you have a bit snobbier tastes maybe spend more money and stay at the Ritz or something. Another thing, if you want to have food in your room like we did, just pick up a foam cooler from Wallgreens on Canal and fill it up with ice from the hotel.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kettells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    686
    163
    64
    43
See reviews for
227
669
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I booked on-line sight-unseen based on price and location.Compared to other hotels in the French Quarter the price was moderate so I was surprised at the quality of the hotel and the service.
Our first night we were disturbed by noisy partying in the next room and when we complained we were promptly moved to the other side of the hotel.
The included Continental breakfast was served at our table by a pleasant waitress in a charming room ,large juice,great coffee,and a toasted croisant with honey.
The room was small but comfy with two full-size beds and lots of fluffy towels,very clean and well serviced.
Don't be put off by the small lobby or the $25.00 charge for parking,space is at a premium in the Quarter. We took taxis from the airport and back and used the streetcar to get around,cheaper and more fun. The hotel is half a block from Bourbon St.,far enough that the nightime noise did not bother us but close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My fiancé and I have stayed at the Prince Conti several times and used to recommend the hotel to everyone. This will not be happening any more. It has been about two years since the last time we stayed there, and they have gone down hill since. The staff is now rude and the rooms have changed. Either that or we were given a less nice room because we paid the discounted rate for Papa Noel. This past weekend we stayed on a Sunday night. We arrived early in the afternoon (around 12:30) and were understanding that we could not check in. We were asked to come back at 2:00. We left, paid for parking elsewhere, and came back at 2:00. The person at the front desk told us our room had not been cleaned yet. We still understood, as it was not yet check in time. She called over her radio for our room to be cleaned. When asked how long it would take, she told us about an hour. Two and a half hours later we came back at 4:15, after check-in time, to find our room was still not ready. However, other people were checking in ahead of us. We were asked to wait. We finally were given our room at 4:30. Upon arriving to the room, the toilet was stopped up. We called for a plunger and left to go have dinner. Yet another two hours later we came back to a clogged toilet! My fiancé walked down to the lobby and on his way someone was bringing a plunger. He just took it from her and told her he would do it himself. Throughout the stay, we were only given excuses by staff, “We had a large wedding party stay and they would not get out of bed in time for check out,” “We only have a few people working tonight,” among other things. The only staff member of the hotel who was straightforward and helpful was the valet. Otherwise, the 3-7 other staff we interacted with during our stay need some serious work on their customer service. Almost forgot to mention, our room was next to their parking and I was woken up twice from someone honking their horn below my window.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensac0latraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Prince Conti for 2 days after a terrible vacation experience on Carnival Cruises. Both of us love New Orleans but arrived at the hotel more than a little grumpy and very early for check in. The front desk person was cheerful and very quickly found a room that was ready. We check right in at 10:30 in the morning! Bless her. The room was clean and well appointed, I would have appreciated a table and chair in the room but there really wasn't room. This is typical in New Orleans, rooms tend to be on the small side. We found a new (to us) place for breakfast on Royal St called Orleans Beignet, I think. It is next to the police station and has tables and chairs inside and in the courtyard in front of the police station where you can relax over coffee in the shade and commune with the police cats.
The hotel has on site parking and restaurants, I wish we had tried them but there were too many places to go to and try. On Orleans St there is a wine bar with a player piano, try their selection of wine flights. One block over is Pat O'brien's, there are several different bars in PO's; one is a dueling piano bar. In the evenings this bar is so much fun.
The hotel is a block off Bourbon, if the night life is your thing. Two blocks from the hotel is Royal St for shopping and great eating, Jackson Square and galleries.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookssunandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We spent two nights at the Prince Conti Hotel. We stayed in a suite which was wonderful with big rooms and tall ceilings. It is a bit noisy if your room is on the street side, but overall the hotel was very nice. Great location. Continental breakfast with excellent croissants and coffee.

I found my laptop missing the day I got home, but before I could even call the hotel, Mr. Brad Valentino, the hotel manager, had called me to assure me that the laptop was safe and with him for safekeeping. Ms. Darlene Littleton in Lost and Found mailed it back on Tues and I had it in my possession on Wednesday!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthaclinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

It's not easy to find a reasonably priced hotel in or near the French quarter. Unfortunately the Prince Conti is not the answer to this problem, and we strongly suggest to stay away.

We stayed there for two nights. To start with the good things: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to the heart of Bourbon Street, but if you have a room facing north (as we did) you won't hear a thing. The room was spacious (as are most rooms in the USA).


On the negative side:
First of all the hotel looks as if it was good and prestigeous some years ago, but has taken a beating since. Most of the furniture was well worn, and there was some visible and unrepaired damage.

As for our room, the ceiling of the bathroom showed a lot of mould. The beds were pretty soft and unfortunately just about 1,80m (6 ft) long, so even somebody at average height will sleep with his or her feet at lease partially hanging out of the bed. On the first day the linen appeared clean, but on the second day the new linen had holes and bloodstains (we later discovered holes in the blanket too). There were also holes in the curtain.

As we arrived, the carpet was pretty wet and the whole room clammy and damp. This state persisted for both days we stayed there. (We were told later that the carpet had been shampooed, but apparently there was no plan to get it dry again.) As in many hotels, the windows couldn't be opened, so there was no way to get the humidity out (the AC didn't help at all).

The "included" breakfast didn't help. Since it consisted only of croissants, jelly and some cake. Drinks were coffee, water and a juice that tasted as if it consisted only of sugar and artificial flavours. Everything else had to be ordered separately and of course to be paid for, too - and it took the kitchen a long time to prepare a crepe and some toast, even though just 3 or 4 tables were occupied.

To sum it up, an adventurous backpacker might tolerate this in a Motel that costs 20 dollars a night, but to me this is totally unacceptable for a hotel in this class (where a night costs more than 100 dollars).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frunobulax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Very central location right in the centre of the French Quarter but was very quiet at night. The rooms were stunning, beautifully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. A continental breakfast was included which was delicous and served in a lovely room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrycavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 163 in New Orleans
1,280 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#62 of 163 in New Orleans
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,229 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing