We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #53 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria, TX
11
Reviewed August 8, 2004

The staff, rooms, and rates at the Prince Conti were excellent. I definitely will stay here again next year. The closeness to Bourbon St. is a very great amenity all to itself. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,615 - 1,621 of 1,684 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Canton, MA
1
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Great hotel for the budget traveller. Ideal location just a short walk from Bourbon St. Close enough to jaunt back to the room after a shopping trip. But you don't hear the noise of Bourbon St here (although the walls are a little thin). Clean rooms.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed July 29, 2004

We got a great deal on this hotel, and it was in the French Quarter so we booked it. My Husband and I stay in the French Quarter at least once a year. This was a great value for what it was. There is no pool, no fridge in the room, no coffe makers et,,, but the room was nicely decorated, nice sized, and comfortable. The Bombay Club is on the premisses, which has the famous martini bar ($8-$11) each but an extensive menu of martini's! They also have a fabulous menu for dining (a little pricy, but great items). We did eat else where but we do intend on visiting the Bombay Club to dine, on our next visit.
There is a bristro next door, outside the lobby, that serves breakfast. Dont be fooled by the "buy one get one free". Breakfast for 4 of us cost, over $60.00 by the time you add $2.50 for coffe each, and $2.50 for toast! The breakfast was delicious, but if you just want eggs over easy, go across the street to a local diner/bar, a bit dark and dingy but an excellent breakfast for $5.00!
The Prince Conti was a nice location one block down Bouorbon Street which concerned me but I must say, our room over looked Bourbon, and there was no noise at all. This hotel is great for walking around the French Quarter, close to everything.
The only complaint I would have is, though the decor is nice, it seemed a bit dirty to me. The lobby chairs were dirty, the wallpaper had stains, the bathroom tub had redisue up the walls. (I am a clean freak). There were fresh clean linens and towels every morning and the staff was friendly.
I would have just liked to have gotten on my hands and knees and scrubbed the corners!!!
I have to say though, a great value for the price, and a nice stay!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
210
Reviewed July 19, 2004

We had a wonderful time at the Prince Conti. The staff was great. Be warned though, French Quarter hotels are generally in very old buildings, this is part of the "charm". If you are looking for spacious accommodations, this may not be the place for you! We had a king deluxe room. The room was lovely for two of us, and the bathroom was nice, but small as well. Along with the old building thing...the shower pressure could be considered "low" by some standards, but don't let that scare you. It still gets the soap off. The location of this hotel is perfect, you can walk anywhere from here. Some reviews suggested that the hotel seems unusually noisy, but we didn't notice it. We were on an inside room (Sorry no lovely views or courtyards...but honestly We don't come to the FQ to sit in our hotel room) I have also stayed at the St. Marie, run by the same hotel group and it is wonderful as well...good to consider if the larger room and courtyard view is important to you. We would definitely stay at either property again!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tallahassee, FL
13
Reviewed July 14, 2004

For $60 a night this hotel is great. The location can't be beat. I would recommend parking on the corner or Conti and Rampart (it's cheaper), and the lot is attended. The rooms are small, but sufficient. The bathroom is small and showing some wear, but again sufficient. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet. Note, the ice machine is on the 2nd floor only. If you tend to sleep in late (2pm), you will probably not get maid service. Again, no problem. As they say-Laissez les bon temp roullez (Or something like that). Can't wait to get back there.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Myers, FL
12
Reviewed July 13, 2004

The Prince Conti Hotel, one-half block from Bourbon, is outstanding in every respect. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us feel like family. The general manager greeted us warmly; the desk clerk was friendly and gave us several recommendations on clubs and restaurants that proved invaluable and accurate. During our 6-day stay, they called cabs for us whenever we needed them, changed large bills for us, and kept our luggage after we checked out. The young men who handled our luggage were friendly, polite and accommodating. Our room was immaculate. We always had plenty of fresh supplies and linens, and the cleaning staff was sweet and kind. We have traveled extensively, and our stay at the Prince Conti Hotel has been the best hotel experience we have had. We heartily recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to New Orleans.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
17
Reviewed July 12, 2004

Recently stayed on the Prince Conti, after reading the rave reviews placed by others. The room rates for summer are great. However there were some disappointing factors: sheets were clean but bed cover had a cigarette hole; there was hardly a view; walls are thin that I could hear the next door's guest jumping in bed; some guests were running down the hall around 3 am; there is no courtyard to sit in for some relaxation. The day concierge was friendly and very helpful with sightseeing. Next time, I will look for a hotel with more amenities like coffee in the morning and a courtyard.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,430 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,379 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,755 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
1,624 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $108 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing