We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in French Quarter”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Azusa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in French Quarter”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights (me, my husband and mother-in-law) in the Executive Suite and it was wonderful. The room was quiet; we could not hear any noise from Bourbon St. which was a short 1/2 block walk from Prince Conti. Everyone at the front desk was helpful; sorry we don't remember all your names except for Lisa and Cindy but you were all terrific. Also Willie (or William) the porter was very helpful and welcoming. The room was cleaned every day.

Room Tip: If you need quiet + a big table for 6 people, a full-sized kitchen, and a small patio, ask for Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    686
    163
    64
    43
See reviews for
227
668
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama, USA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about Prince Conti is the location! You are about 1/2 block from Bourbon Street but far enough to get away from the noise at night. I was a little disappointed at first with the lack of a view (faced an inside wall) but then realized we wouldn't have to deal with the street noise at night. Room was a good size, bathroom was very small, carpet was stained and needed replacing. Staff was very accommodating. Hotel is in a historic building so the walls are thin. If you are looking for a moderate priced hotel in the heart of the French Quarter, the Prince Conti is worth considering. Most other hotels in the area are much more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aint_Life_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is very easy to find getting off the highway..great location because it is just off of bourbon street so not much noise..although breakfast is not included we dealt with it...
Staff very helpful..friendly..easy to check in and out.room lovely..would we go back..oh yes..reasonably priced..

Room Tip: King bed rooms have nice size rooms with at least 10 foot ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adustbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days. The room was great, the bathroom was a little small but thats my only complaint. The staff was fabulous and it was clean and well kept. On Saturday night we could hear some sounds from Bourbon St. but it didn't really bother me too much. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekytraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The property was well kept. Our room & bath were clean. Granted the carpet had a couple of spots that could be cleaned. You'll have....that but I hope they take care of that. The bed had a good quality of sheets & great pillows. There was a safe in the room & WiFi worked well. Everyone that we interacted with were friendly & nice. One thing out of their control was the street noise. Early morn the refrigerator trucks came to deliver to the restaurants close by. We were in room 250. What was the brand of pillows & mattress, I would like to buy them! That is if they are at retail level. We wished after we left that we would have checked. There was a nice flat screen TV in the room too.

Room Tip: Ask for a inside room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the Prince Conti in October, 2013. The lobby area was nice and check in was flawless. Our room was on the second floor and the elevator and hallways were very clean and nicely maintained. I was impressed with the hallway leading to our room - the floors were part carpet/part tile and the tile was literally gleaming. We had a room with a king bed. The room was a nice size and there was plenty of closet space and drawers. We did have an older tv, but it got a good picture and was enclosed in a nice cabinet. The bathroom was spotless! The bathroom had a pedestal sink and shelving for putting your toiletries on.

Our floor did have a fairly large stain on the carpet. I thought that the mattress was way too firm, but my husband thought it was fine. I tossed and turned the first night due to the mattress, but adjusted to it as the week went on. Also, the bed did not have enough covers for me. I know this is a new trend in some hotels, to have very minimal bedding in order to avoid having comforters on the beds. Our bed basically had sheets and a very lightweight blanket - no comforter. If this is going to become the norm in hotels, I will need to travel with my own heavier blanket because I was very cool most evenings.

The final negative was our complete lack of a view. We did have a nice window in our room, but it overlooked a flat roof area and across the way was what appeared to be the janitor/maids closet where we could see mops/buckets, etc. Not a view at all and I was rather disappointed with that. The hotel did not seem to be full while we there so I think that putting us in a room with a view would have been a nice gesture.

In spite of the 'negatives' though, we would definitely stay there again. The location is very good, the hotel was clean, staff was very nice and the price was right.

If you stay at any of the Valentino properties (Prince Conti, Hotel St. Marie, Lafayette Hotel, Place dArmes, and French Market Inn) be sure to use their website for the best rate. Their rates on their website (valentinohotels.com) is always lower than what you will find on priceline, hotels.com, etc.

Room Tip: Our room #261 did not have a view. Ask for a room with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've stayed in the French Quarter many times before, and it's always difficult to find something reasonably priced that is also clean, well-staffed, and well-appointed. The Prince Conti met all of our requirements. The room was large and clean. The staff was very helpful with our luggage, including storing it for our late departure after check-out. An infinite number of food and beverage establishments are literally next door and just steps away. The Prince Conti is a half-block from Bourbon Street if that's your focus. If it's not a priority of your trip, you're still very close to everything else the historic district of New Orleans has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
1,276 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#62 of 163 in New Orleans
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,222 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing