We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #57 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Prince Conti was in a great location just about 1/2 a block from Bourbon Street. The room was nice enough, nothing too fancy, but for the price it was great. Our window didn't face the front of the hotel (view was horrible, but oh well) and we didn't have any problem with street noise. Would recommend if you want a reasonably priced, clean place to rest your head after a long night on the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kaitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Located within walking distance of bourbon street and all the main attractions. Price was great, probably due to the time of the year early summer.

Room clean and tidy. Hallways a little scary since they are long and narrow, reminded me of the Haunted Hotels and the apparitions that always appear at the end of a long, narrow hall way. Lucky for us, no ghost out that night.

Ms. Ava the registrar was nice but one of the valets was unhelpful upon our arrival. He didn't ask if we needed assistance with our luggage, just wanted us to hurry out of the car so he could park it. Not sure why since we were the only people checking in so early during the day.

However, upon check out the same valet (Allen) wanted to know if we needed help putting our luggage in the car to see us off. I guess he felt it was tipping time. To bad for him, we are constant tippers and would have tipped him the first day we arrived for helping retrieve our bags from the car and upon our leaving. But this time we were ready for him and told him "no thanks" put our own bags in the trunk and pulled off, like Thelma and Louise.

Maybe he'll be a little more social and friendlier to other guest upon arrive and upon exiting the hotel.

Besides that guy we enjoyed our stay at the Prince Conti.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were initially concerned about booking the Prince Conti having read some adverse reviews, but decided to go for it based on its great location and we are really glad we did. It is a great location, just a few yards from the madness of Bourbon Street, but far enough to be peaceful when you've had enough fun! It is also only a block or two from Canal Street. Getting the car into the old coaching entrance can be a bit tricky but it's then only a couple of step to the reception desk and lift to the rooms. All the staff were friendly and helpful and there is plenty of tourist information in the reception to help you plan your days. The hotel does not offer breakfast as such, but we can recommend the German café opposite over the on site café. The Bombay Club is a cool and sophisticated grown up kind of place after all the beer and animation of Bourbon. There was a live Jazz band playing on one night. Just right, not too loud. The photo of the garden terrace on the web site is bit flattering. It is really only very, very small so even on separate tables, everyone is in everyone else's company. The hotel can't be responsible for annoying guests, but if you're out there with them, there's not much avoiding them. But it's cooler indoors in the summer anyway. The rooms are chintzy in keeping with the building. They are well kept, well appointed and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Prince Conti and cannot think that there would be anywhere better to have spent our few days in New Orleans.

Room Tip: There is something about windows. Make sure you book a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAMooreLpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the suite. The room was clean and had lots of windows. The location was perfect, close to everything within walking distance. Air conditioning worked perfectly. My only two complaints is that a lot of reviews say that this is a quiet area which I found to be incorrect. You could hear all the people partying in the street, good thing we were so tired that eventually we fell asleep. The staff at the front desk could learn a few lessons on customer service. I always had the sense that I was bothering them when I would ask a question, almost snobby. If they smiled more when talking to the customer then this would do them well. Other then that this hotel is definately worth the cheap price, I would not pay anymore though. If you are looking for a cheap hotel to stay in that is clean, safe, and close to everything then this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paragirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband & I stayed here after the Sugar Bowl January of 2013 for a few days. Our 1st time in New Orleans we could not believe what a good location it was. So close to Bourbon St., but not too loud, and easy walking distance to many popular restaurants and attractions. The room was nothing special, but it was clean, and I actually thought the bathroom was pretty nice. Staff was great. And, so appreciative that staff immediately shut down a loud, drunken group from the Sugar Bowl! We did get a good night's sleep every night. The Bombay Club was a fun place to go our 1st night - every drink you can imagine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallfeettravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Other reviewers have mentioned the shortcomings of this hotel. The positives are the location and price which are what I was interested in. Great location and price in the French Quarter. Yes it is an old hotel and could use a facelift but it was $80/night during the week. I would stay here again if I was looking for a bargain. Also the Bombay Club is part of this hotel and has a great drink menu- awesome Martini bar.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I recently spent four nights at the Prince Conti hotel. While the hotel is old, it was clean, and the employees at the desk were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, 1/2 a block off bourbon Street, and very safe. Noise was not a problem. We ate at the Conti Cafe several times. The crepes were awesome, as were the croissant sandwiches.
We also ate at the Deja Vu across the street. The food was very good and the place was clean. Walking tour of the garden district was good, as was the Natchez Riverboat and Preservation Hall. Fritzel's on Bourbon Street had very good authentic jazz, unlike most of the bars where the bands were playing classic rock.
All in all, the hotel was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tunia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
1,372 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
1,709 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $103 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing