We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, high quality in the French Quarter”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
FORT WORTH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, high quality in the French Quarter”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Prince Conti is one of three Valentino family owned hotels in the French Quarter. It is located about half a block north of Bourbon Street, which makes it accessible to the action, but far enough away to sleep quietly. These hotels are all very reasonably priced for New Orleans, but very low for the French Quarter (normally under $100 including parking & taxes). These hotels are very well-maintained & nicely furnished. This one does not have a complimentary breakfast, but there is a restaurant in the building as well as several in easy walking distance. The staff at all hotels is great.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms that have no view, so try to get a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackalopefw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    680
    163
    64
    43
See reviews for
226
663
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I honeymooned in New Orleans 46 years ago and stayed at the old St. Charles Hotel. On November 12, 2012, we returned for a few days and stayed at the Prince Conti. The Prince is a hidden treasure. It has the quaintness of old New Orleans, but is totally up-to-date and offers all amenities one could need. The ambience, food, drinks are all top-drawer, and more importantly, the entire staff is professional, friendly and makes one want to return---and we will!! This is a classy place, folks--one half block from Bourbon Street-- and reasonably priced. We suggest you try it soon!!

Jack and Sandra Butler---Houston TX

Room Tip: Did not utilize the fitness center or pool--not certain they are available. If they are, we are conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butlerfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay Nov 2012 for a night in the Prince Conti Hotel. Normally tend to stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. This one came as part of a deal with our cruise package. Wasn't sure what to expect.
Hotel located in the heart of New Orleans --great location --just a block from Bourbon Street so you get the fun of Bourbon Street without all the noise. 2 Blocks from Royale Street which was busy, but quieter than Bourbon Street and had lots of neat art shops, antique shops and other shops to browse through. Loads of restaurants around including a nice cafe right next door and a German restaurant across the street.
Tried some yummy Louisianna cuisine ---shrimp po boys from johnny's were fun. Lots of seafood at reasonable prices to be had. Not far from cruise ship docking area ---short taxi ride. French Market is walkable or a short taxi ride. Taxi fares are set so you know what you are paying before you go. Trip from downtown to airport 33 dollars for 2 people---about 15 per person. Took a tour of the city ---that was very interesting ---got a chance to see areas hit hardest by hurricane Katrina in 2005 ---lots of work has been done...more still happening. Tour guides were excellent...very informative and love their city. Big football game on between the Saints and Atlanta rival teams ---so lots of excitement and buzz about the city for this.
Went on Laura Plantation tour and viewed Oak Alley Plantation ----great tour ---lots of history shared by the guide at plantation and the plantation is neat to see ---sugar cane plantation. Wouldn't have minded the full 4 plantation tour that is offered, but we didn't have time. There is a drive over the 25 mile causeway to get to the plantations ----that was neat to see. Never been on a causeway that long before with lake on one side and swamp lands on the other.

Prince Conti hotel ----Very pretty at night with lights on . Nice architecture. A little dark with the decor colours, but seemed clean. Older building, but that is part of the charm. Bathroom was fairly new. and clean. Towels nice. Just need to lighten up on the paint colours, bedding colours to give a better first impression.

Prince Conti hotel - staff ----Now here is what makes or breaks a place no matter what it looks like -----AVA ---desk staff on in the daytime ---what can you say ---this woman was awesome---very efficient, very friendly, lots of warm Southern hospitality emanating from her, She booked our tours immediately...asked about our day...suggested great dining spots...made us feel right at home. The porters --sorry --have forgotten their names ----were terrific too and the cleaning staff were all very friendly with warm greetings whenever you passed them in halls, etc
For the staff ---especially AVA (and the night desk clerk very helpful too) ---the rating is a 5+---
Thanks for helping make our trip fun and safe and enjoyable
Would stay there again.
They have flat screen TV in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CEJ393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The only thing this place has going for it is the location. Street repair makes it impossible to drive up and check in... no water pressure in shower, sheets on bed had cigarette burns, furniture was shabby and stained, carpet was very old, room was dank and dark, windows did not open, beds were awful, wi-fi was spotty, walls were paper thin, elevator was slow. You could hear people snoring in the other room. The only people who should stay here are people who are in NOLA to party and therefore won't be in the room much and won't remember much about being in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srayhill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The front desk staff at this hotel is wonderful! They made us feel welcome and had lots of advice on places to eat. You must try Acme Oyster House, Cochon Butcher and Luke's YUM! Great location (1 block up from Bourbon St) and easy to walk everywhere, even our favorite club The Spotted Cat.
Not so good news is the rooms. There were a lot of people traveling with our group and 3 of us had some major problems with the rooms. 1) Door fell off the hindges 2)Door wouldn't lock 3) We came home to water and black stuff all over our bathroom floor/tub/sink (seems they had a pipe problem in the room above) but a lot of our stuff had to be cleaned or thrown out. FYI don't get the rooms facing the street...very noisy!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the air con units are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureGirl0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It would be nice if they would upgrade to flat screen TVs and provide hair conditioner. It was within walking distance to everything, but we had our car. Had to pay extra for our car.
We were fortunate and our room was on the first floor, no elevators.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Exceptional service from receptionists: Lisa, Ava, and Monica. Great location close to Bourbon Street. The only problem encountered was our car (gray) had been side swiped and scratched by a black car while in the care of valet services at the hotel.
Did not notice it until we had left and gased up our vehicle in plenty of light. VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED IN OVERNIGHT VALET SERVICES for not making us aware of it. And we even tipped them very well. With the scratches on our vehicle, the parking attendant was well aware of the damage done to our vehicle. My advice is to check your car no matter how long it takes to make sure you don't encounter the same problem we did.

Room Tip: Room with window facing Conti street is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,251 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#58 of 162 in New Orleans
1,895 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,143 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing