We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #53 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Forked River, NJ
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“good for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night while on a business trip in the area. Here's the good: decent competitive price for a good location. I hear really good things about the Bombay Club in the hotel. Staff were super nice. Here's the not so good: I opted for a "petite room" since I would only be staying one night by myself. REALLY SMALL room, but I could live with that. The room, however, was in serious need of updating. Carpet looked old and stained. Mattress did not fit the box spring underneath, which showed some sign of mildew. Bathroom, strangely, was updated and very nice. Even with the price, I'd probably pass on the petite room and opt for the larger rooms, which I hope are updated at least a little. Good location to French Quarter, a bit more quiet here than elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the petite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    656
    159
    61
    43
See reviews for
210
644
83
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

First the good. We were on the the top floor, the third, and I did ask for a balcony and windows. We got both with room 332. There were 3 chest high windows and a balcony outside the windows but no door to go out to the balcony. The hotel could easily change one of of the windows to a doorway, unless maybe the balcony was rated unsafe? The location was perfect. We were only a half a block away from Bourbon street and really close to everything. we did not rent a car. The Taxi back and forth to the airport is $33 so with tip it is $40 both ways. Even so, cheaper than paying for valet parking there which I think is about $33 a night. You can walk anywhere and also buy a street car pass. I felt our room was very clean,

Now the bad. The rooms are very small and no counter space in the one bathroom. The shower is almost impossible to regulate the temperature. And if you are on the street, you hear noises constantly. In October 2012 they are redoing all the sidewalks to make for handicap accesible. But waking up to jackhammers at 7:00 am on a Saturday morning was almost too much. Considering the small amount of time we spent in the room, I now wish I had chosen an inside room. With or without windows. If you want a great location, this is the place. Espesically if you do not plan in sleeping all that much. If you take a Taxi, even at 4:00 am, one will be there within 10 minutes. I might even stay here again. After Monday's the price nearly doubles though. We paid $168 a night from October 3 to October 7. If trip advisor will let me post the rates!

Room Tip: If you want a window facing the street be prepared for a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel was great the employees made you feel very welcome and it was a great price(other than the parking). The rooms were very spacious we had a King room and clean as well. Cant beat the location only 1/2 block from Bourbon St. very easy to many Restaurants as well as bars. Dont be afraid to stay her and dont bother with the bad reviews I will reccomend to everybody and stay here again if I make it back down here.

Room Tip: Great Cajan food at Oceana Restaurant Just up the street ate there twice in 2 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We much preferred staying at a B&B in the Garden District. This hotel was ok, but very worn down and the sound proofing was terrible. We could hear our neighbors conversations on both sides at all hours and the staff was very loud while cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delcambre, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Prince Conti Hotel for two nights in early August. We had never stayed at this hotel when traveling with our children as it does not have a pool, but the hotel is perfect for a couple's getaway. We were in Room 300, which is in an area separate from the main building and our room was the only room on the floor in this area. We had a private balcony and the room was much larger than an average hotel room. That area of the hotel was also very quiet. Our room and bathroom were very clean upon arrival and for the duration of our stay. The front desk and valet parking staff were very friendly and helpful, providing excellent restaurant recommendations. Valet parking was $30 per night, which is comparable to other French Quarter hotels. The hotel is about a half-block from Bourbon St. and within short walking distance to many restaurants. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up the stairs, ask for Room 200 or 300 (there are no elevators in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Prince Conti many times mainly due to the staff and location. It's a nice historic hotel which fits the atmosphere of the French Quarter. Most of everything we enjoy is within walking distance, which we usually need after some of the best cajun/creole food you can find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niekampgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

the location is perfect for exploring the french quarter.the hotel is old but clean and the rooms are decorated very appropiately for the french quarter location. the bathrooms are clean and the beds are fine.my only complaint is the walls are paper thin.all in all a good value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikendonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing