We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with very friendly staff”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #57 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I recently stayed here for a girls' getaway. I visit New Orleans often, but this was my first time to stay at the Prince Conti. I felt it was a nice, safe, affordable choice.

The hotel is conviently located. It's easy to walk pretty much anywhere you want to go in the French Quarter or Central Business District. It's close to great restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotel is not very big, which gives it a comfortable, homey atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious. The bathrooms are small, so it's hard for more than one person to get ready at the same time. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel.

The staff really contributed to our satisfaction with the hotel. Everyone from the front desk associate to the valet was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Check in was effortless and it only took a few minutes to get our car when we were ready to leave.

I would recommend the Prince Conti and will visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CenlaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

The P.C. Hotel is conveniently located in the the first block north of Bourbon Street, a short walk from many French Quarter attractions. Our reservation was accurate and we were checked in quickly. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. The A/C was adjustable by thermostat so there was no noise "zone-line" unit. The free wireless performed without any problems. They could do more to increase the lighting, as the old type 60-watt bulbs were just not enough for easy reading. Otherwise, our stay was quite carefree.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohzonejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Located in the French Quarter only a half block away from Bourbon Street. Amenities and attractions all within walking distance. The breakfast at the cafe was excellent and the staff are all professional and courteous. Would recommend going for a martini at the Bombay Club where the bartender will serve you the best martini you've ever had. The room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

When you hear JR SUITE you think this will be a step-up....not so fast....the couch was old and dirty...we were afraid to sit on it...the door in the bathroom stuck and made a noise every time you tried to open or close it...there were several eletrical plug covers missing.....there were 2 closets...the mirror doors on both closets were broke...the bedspreads on both beds needed to be updated and were old.the valet who works days had no personality or people skills.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbhal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcharlesnola, Owner at Prince Conti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

No issues were reported by this guest during the stay. Management conducted a thorough inspection of room subsequent to this report. With the exception of 1 loose box cover behind a dresser, the other observations were inaccurate. This Jr. Suite offers great value and good accommodation. The hotel staff is competent and cordial, particulary the valet staff, that gets rave reviews from guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We've stayed here a few times now and will continue to go back each time we visit New Orleans.
We usually travel with a few friends so being able to get a suite at the Prince Conti that has 2 double beds + a pull out sofa for an average of under $200/nite is a great deal! We'll sleep 4-5 people in the room so the extra space that comes with having a separate living room from the bed room is very helpful with all of our chaos. Plus the room has a fridge & micro for our leftovers & beverage storage.
The location is perfect if you want to be right in the heart of the frech quarter, it's half a block off of Bourbon on a side street called Conti so it's not quite as loud as being righ on Bourbon but it's still close enough to run back to the room at anytime.
If you're looking for complete silence then you'll want to stay somewhere outside of the Quarter, there's always people carrying on a having a good time around Bourbon street so plan on dirty streets and late night hoots and hollers anywhere within about a block of Bourbon. That's not to say that you won't be able to get a good nights sleep at places like the Conti, but if you're a light sleeper, maybe bring some ear plugs just in case, we do :-)
The rooms are pretty good here, they have very high ceilings and the bathrooms were just re-done recently. The beds are not very fluffy, but depending on how much you drink during the day you won't notice that anyway.
If you're looking for a decent place that has some character, is very reasonably priced, is close to the fun party stuff and nearby to great food and awesome street performers (Royal Street) then the Prince Conti is the place to stay... we look forward to our next trip back there very soon!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs just in case, you never know when fellow hotel guests might coming strolling thru th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

In the heart of the French Quarter and totally affordable and clean. Walking distance to everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Just a half-block from Bourbon street and yet the noise did not reach the very large room at the Prince Conti. Great staff, easy access to the French Quarter, Jackson Square, the Riverwalk, and the Central Business District. The breakfast at Cafe Conti was great. Every member of the staff was courteous and professional, and very responsive to the needs of the guests. The room was large, comfortable, and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for room 200 or 300 - you will have no neighbors on either side, a street view of Dauphine, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NedNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
1,373 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
1,703 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $104 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing