We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel,great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel,great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon street. This was our first trip to New Orleans...what an experience...anybody who is hesitating to go and visit..don't heistate and go and have a good time...the hotel is very nice, the pool-very refreshing from the heat, the staff are nice, the location is the best,walking distance to everything. The rooms were clean, and the lobby was huge. I would defintely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone.....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RenHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    988
    296
    97
    86
See reviews for
417
1,474
102
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for four nights in July. We had chosen New Orleans for our anniversary and decided on the Royal Sonesta based on reviews from TripAdvisor. The hotel was beautiful. Lots of fountains, marble and beautiful flowers and plants. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful during our stay. The room was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and the poolside food & drink service. The hotel is right in the heart of the French Quarter and walking everywhere was easy.

  • Liked — pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTPCGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

The Royal Sonesta is really a great little hotel right on Bourbon Street. I was surprised at how nice the hotel actually was. The rooms were nice and clean, the balconies were a blast, and the courtyards were well appointed. With orange tree's, a coi pond, and lush tropical plants. There was a large group of us and the hotel was very accommodating. The Door men and Bell men were great. They always had a smile and a joke. Very helpful as well. The AC worked great, and the bed was perfect. We slept very comfortably. We didn't have much of a view, but I'm really not there for my room or a view. I'm there to experience New Orleans, even if it is for just a few days.
The only down sides were: One night we got a cot delivered to our room. We didn't order a cot. When we called down to say we didn't order a cot they said "it happens a lot. Someone probably got rooms numbers messed up." We thought they would come and take it away, but we were wrong. No Big deal. It was just a pain because the room is not that big. So when I woke up the next morning I smashed my ankle on it on the way by. Oh well. The other down side is the pool. Now the pool itself is great. Especially when it's extremely hot and humid out. It is a welcome relief. But it was very cloudy. To the point where you couldn't see the bottom in the shallow end.
Two very minor things. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port O'Connor, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

This was a great 3 night trip to the Quarter. First time at the Royal Sonesta. My wife and I loved the location, walking distance to about anything you want to see. The room was excellent. Service was excellent. Pool was excellent. My only recommendation is that you request a room that doesn't overlook Bourbon Street because the party goes until pretty late. We were on Bienville Street and didn't have a problem. Parking is $30 per night with unlimited "In and out". That's a bargain in the Quarter and the parking is in the lower level of the property. Can't say enough about the Royal Sonesta.

  • Liked — Location, Room, Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful property with plenty of Old New Orleans architecture and decoration. The dining room is richly and beautifully appointed. The service (at the front desk, in the restaurants,concierge and the doorman) was warm and helpful. Only ate breakfast but it was tasty. There was a jazz lounge where folks were drinking and seemed to have a nice time. The rooms are of average size but comfortable. It was a pretty luxe experience for the $99 price per night for a room with 2 double beds (we were there for a wedding so the rate may have been reduced due to that). UNFORTUNATELY I don' t think I will ever stay here again because of the noise factor. Perhaps its just been too long since I stayed on Bourbon Street but between the noise from the bars on the street and other hotel guests slamming doors and shouting in the halls, it didn't make for a particularly peaceful stay in the evenings. That is a shame because I really enjoyed the hotel itself. Too bad it isn't off "the strip..." its much too good for such common nuisances...

  • Liked — Service and decor in resaurant and reception area
  • Disliked — Location ... Bourbon St was too noisy.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NTTDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

beautiful hotel on bourbon street. request a room overlooking the pool because it will be quiet. if you get a room on the bourbon street side, you might not get much sleep depending on how much you had to drink that night. get an early morning bloody mary as an eye opener in the lobby or try the coffee drinks. no problems with the rooms at all.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank littercritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

Stay here for 8 nights and for the most part it was very enjoyable except for a few monir things that added up. For about 3-4 days the hot water was only luke warm, one day I went out and took off the privacy sign and by 3pm the room was not made up, had to call housekeeping and when I returned at 4pm, it still was not done, had to put in an angry second call to have the room done ASAP. Also one monring I had the privacy sign on and housekeeping still knocked on my door, lucky I was not sleeping.
The location cannot be beat and service/staff is still very good.

  • Liked — Service and proximity to Bourbon Street
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooklynsolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,861 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,789 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing