We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My one and only in N O”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My one and only in N O”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Lovely old hotel all spiffed up. Can't-be-beat location in the Quarter. Excellent staff across the board. Stayed in a courtyard room this time and it was much quieter than streetside. We were awakened at 3 one night by loud knocking on another door. Something of this sort usually occurs once during our stays. The hotel is on Burbon after all. One complaint: charging for wireless is pretty chintzy. Esp when one can get it free at budget fast food places.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misapplied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,334
    1,143
    345
    117
    98
See reviews for
520
1,778
119
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

stayed here for a convention recently and while the hotel and staff are fantastic (especially Jabari out front!) the outside sounds when you are trying to sleep are crazy! From Saturday night to Monday night I never had a full nights sleep where I wasn't woken up by music, laughing, motorcycles or trash trucks. The music was so loud that you could hear it over the TV and my room was in the back away from Bourbon Street. Maybe the rooms that face the courtyard would be better but the rooms definitely aren't soundproof!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgod1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This was my first time to New Orleans, can't wait to go to back! I loved this hotel and will stay here again! It is a great location ur in the heart of Burbon St. but if ur not into all that craziness everthing is with in walking distance. The hotel staff was beyond exceptional and very helpful and friendly. the concierge Russell was the best was very helpful for us as first timers and Malcome the door man was fantastic and always directed us in the rt direction. Great coffe shop! The Jazz Playhouse great music. although not a good lay out with that colum in the middle of the room blocks the stage so get there early to get a good seat or u will be looking at a colum the entire evening. Never ate at the hotel resturaunts, Great coffe at P.J's in lobby, pool was small but cute, nice relaxing coutyard. Over all was fantastic 1st time experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maydeltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta during a convention in April. The rooms were wonderful, newly decorated. We were on an upper floor facing the courtyard and it was perfect. My boss was on the 2nd floor facing Bourbon Street and he found it very noisy! The Desire Oyster Bar which is part of the hotel was fabulous! Barbecue shrimp was amazing! The Jazz bar in the hotel had great entertainment for the price of a drink! The hotel restaurant for breakfast was excellent value - much better than the coffee shop which was also on the main level. Tip: remember that room service already has the tip built into the price - no need to tip 2x! I learned this the hard way!! But the meal was good...:)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schweizerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Expensive hotel, rooms a bit small with average appointments. We stayed in a king with a balcony on Bourbon St. Paid over $300/night. Location is fantastic if you want to be in the middle of the Bourbon St action. Note that it's VERY noisy since Bourbon St never seems to quit at night. Plan on music, people shouting, howling etc until 4am every night and even with the doors closed, you hear it all. Great for people-watching and bead throwing!
Rooms on Bourbon towards Bienville St face the Gentlemen's Clubs with views of scantily clad women. Rooms towards Conti St just face bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMK520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed in a room on the Club Floor, during a conference, rates were not cheap at this time. Stunning and peaceful lobby, especially compared to Bourbon Street outside. The concierge doubles up as the special R-Club check-in, but he was busy and so I used the ordinary check-in desk. The room was quite small, but clean, nicely decorated, with flowers and complimentary bottled water. The bed was very comfortable and the turndown service included careful folding of pyjamas. You get a separate key for the minibar, return it at check-out or get charged $20. Outward-facing view was nothing to speak of. But the room was quiet: not a peep to be heard from the streets.

The club lounge was fairly small but never busy. Hot sausages, bacon and eggs at breakfast plus fruits, cereals etc. In the evening for a couple of hours there were complimentary drinks and nibbles, including a couple of hot items which were different each day. Tasty.

The lounge has complimentary wireless, but it took a couple of phone calls to reception to get a valid code for this - it was given up almost grudgingly. The hostess in the lounge itself, whilst a beacon of friendliness and hospitality, was not of much technical help in this respect. As a plus, the wireless code then worked in my room, too. The iMac in the lounge also had internet connection problems, even though it supposedly had both wired and wireless connectivity. Finally solved by physically pulling its wired ethernet out and using the wireless code I had been given, again this was a do-it-myself solution.

I had an interesting chat with the security guard when I accidentally wiped my keycard with my phone, apparently police vanish from the streets at 4am and then it really gets interesting.

I chose the hotel over the larger chains as I felt it would have more of a local flavour: it succeeded.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This hotel has a beautiful lobby and great location, that is it. The staff including the front desk and security were very unprofessional. While waiting for a ride by the front door I witnessed a patron denied entry to the hotel because they accused the woman he was with as being a prostitute. After the man produced a room key and drivers license, showing that the woman was infact his wife, he was allowed in. I shrugged it off and continued on with my night. The following night I tried entering the hotel to use the ATM and security denied me entrance. I am a Dr. who dresses more casual on my off time and security didn't approve of a tshirt and shorts even though the hotel doesn't have a lobby dress code. I complained to the front desk and they laughed with the security guard about the misunderstanding. I tried complaining the next day to the manager, but the front desk clerk claimed the manager iwas not in the building at 10:00 am on a Friday. I waited for 2 hours in the lobby, but felt it was not worth my time to complain again since I was leaving. Not what you would expect in a """"luxury"""" hotel.
The rooms are old, musty and dirty. My nonsmoking room was filled with smoke smell and my clothes smelled of smoke. Every meeting I went to the others thought I took up smoking due to the smell on my suit. This hotel would be good for singles or party people, but not for families or professionals. I am not sure where the star rating came from or the good reviews, but this is at best a 2 star hotel. If you are looking for a real luxury hotel in the French Quarter look someplace else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike46826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
We are so disappointed by these comments. They are so contrary to the guest experience we strive to create. Your posted comments have been shared with the entire executive committee for immediate action. While you have our sincere apology, you also have our gratitude. Since most of our TripAdvisor comments are glowing our management team takes this review by you very seriously and met on this review today. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this our attention, and we will turn this around. Our reputation for exceptional quality and guest service means everything to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing