We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2005

I have been to New Orleans several times, but this was the first time taking my husband. I was able to find a great price for the Royal Sonesta over Easter and decided to gie it a try. We were not dissapointed.
Our room was nice but very close to bourbon and very noisy. The next night, we opted for a poolside room. Very nice. Quiet and overlooking the courtyard. Although we didnt use the pool, it was a nice option.
We had a great time and would recommend this if you can find a good deal. The location was great.
Only negative was a safe that wasn't working when we arrived, but we called the front desk and someone arrived quickly to fix it.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heathork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,239 - 4,245 of 4,438 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Kilgore, Texas
14
Reviewed September 13, 2005

We recently went to New Orleans for a convention and were assigned to the Royal Sonesta at 300 Bourbon St. Upon arrival we went directly to the underground parking where we were met with wonderful people. All of the staff were dressed in wonderful uniforms, and they were very kind. From the moment they unpacked our car and parked it, until they repacked it for us a week later, they did everything possible to make us feel like we were at home. Our room was very nice, it had french doors leading out to the courtyard and pool. The room included mini-bar and a safe. We had two small children with us and the hotel supplied us (at no extra cost) with a refrigerator for their milk. The atmosphere was one of elegance and charm. I intend to return to New Orleans as soon as possible and will ONLY stay at the Royal Sonesta.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

When we got there, I was impressed with the hotel. Parking was one of the cheapest in the area too. I had called to follow up an internet reservation to request a courtyard facing room (a must if you dont want the noise) and a king non-smoking. When we arrived, there were no courtyard side rooms without an additional upgrade fee. The manager was rude and short with us and offered no other options and just told us we had to deal with what we got. Actually, everyone at the front desk was impolite. Rooms were small but clean. SUPER soft bed and nice linens.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kamaa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed August 20, 2005

The Royal Sonesta is a lovely hotel with fine service, clean rooms, and good location, even though it is located on Bourbon Street. I particularly enjoyed breakfasts in the hotel restaurant where service was the best I have had in ages.
The New Orleans French Quarter, on the other hand, has become disgracefully dirty. Trash, the stench, and filth is all around the hotel. Talented street musicians still perform, great food is still served all over, and shopping is fun, but how much longer will it last if the city doesn't clean up its act? The areas on Decatur Street were cleaner, so if you are staying at this hotel, go toward the river and then toward Jackson Square for a better part of the area.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
15
Reviewed August 19, 2005

This was my second trip to New Orleans and second time staying at Royal Sonesta. I will definitely continue to book Royal Sonesta every year I visit New Orleans. Why?

Clean, upscale feeling, great amenities - Rooms of your choice, Balcony, On Bourbon, Off Bourbon, Suites, Standard all are reasonably priced, comfortable and clean. Beds & pillows are comfortable. Hotel is Private and quiet (provided you dont stay in a room overlooking Bourbon St.) Massage and bar services poolside.
Nice Lobby, Great Bar and Restaurant.
The staff at Royal Sonesta are very hospitable. I visited the Cigar Bar and was served by one of the most friendly bartenders. (She makes the best bloody mary you'll ever have) She talked with me for hours and recommended 15+ places/sites/venues to experience. I also chatted with the cashier in the Gift Shop who also recommended some local scenes to check out.
Room Service & the Restaurant in the lobby were great!

This hotel is safe. I can vouch for that as I had left the hotel and later learned I left my hotel room door wide open for about 1/2 hour upon my return my room was free of any disruption. Secured lobby and security asks for room key upon entering the lobby in the evening hours.

I am 38 years old and recommend this hotel to families, singles, old/young.

I dont have one bad thing to say about the hotel. The location is Excellent. My opinion, best located hotel in the French Quarters.

Stayed: July 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2005

This was my first trip to New Orleans, and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat! The hotel is attractive and well-maintained, and the pool is lovely. We walked around in the hot sun exploring the city and looked forward each day to relaxing at the pool in the late afternoon with a swim and cocktails- perfect! The room was very clean and well decorated, but the walls were a bit thin- I tried to sleep in late and heard lots of activity in the hallway. We got a free newspaper delivered at our door each morning, and there was a fancy TV system in the room with cable, internet, and video games.
The concierge staff were fantastic (especially Russell)- very friendly and helpful. They booked tours for us and gave us great restaurant referrals. This hotel is located on Bourbon Street which can be pretty sleazy and stinky, but the location is central and we heard no street noise in our inner room. The outer rooms facing Bourbon Street might be noisy because the bars stay open way past 2:00 am. I read another review where someone had jewelry stolen, but that's due to carelessness on their part- the hotel provided an in-room safe, and experienced travellers lock valuables up in their suitcases.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duxbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed August 16, 2005

It was my first trip to NOLA and I was thrilled to stay in a hotel right on Bourbon Street! Upon checking in, my friends and i were greeted by the doorman. The staff were super friendly and very helpful!! Talk about southern hospitality. We ate at Desire's twice - the red beans and rice was great and oysters are to die for. What I liked about my stay is that we had peace and quiet in our room (not overlooking Bourbon) and the hotel lobby had a nice and classy feel. The rooms were nice - we got 2 connecting rooms and they were both lovely and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and I liked the extra drawers in the bathroom. We didn't encounter the water pressure issue I read on the other reviews. Housekeeping also kept our room clean when we wanted them to. However, the walls are thin but it didnt really bother us since we were always out. The pool was a nice plus. We also like the security in the lobby at night - since it was our annual girls' trip, we felt really secure. As soon as we step out of our hotel, it was a party!!! We will definitely stay at Royal Sonesta when we go back next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,999 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,811 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,344 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $206 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing