We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Colusa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not so great service”
Reviewed February 7, 2005

The hotel was great, had a great location in the heart of the french quarter, got a good deal for a room online. I guess that is how the guy at the front desk decided how he was going to treat us... He was very condesending in the way he treated us. my husband and I are middle class americans, dressed in casual style, name brand nothing fancy but we had also just been on a plane for 5 hours. Anyhow we had rented a cheapy car from budget so when he asked our vehicle make and we answered, that's when he really looked down his nose at us. Give me a break, all money is green and spends the same.. It just left me with a bad taste in my mouth... Customer service is everything and at a hotel as nice as that they should instill that fact into their employees. That and make sure you budget for parking... $28.00 a night. Most hotels down there charge for parking since it is so hard to come by. Great hotel though!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AaronandAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,334
    1,143
    345
    117
    98
See reviews for
520
1,778
119
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2005

Very elegant hotel,located in the historic street of New Orleans. What I really appreciated was the kindness of the staff. They really make you feel 'at home' and important.
Excellent room decor.

Helpful?
2 Thank gwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 8, 2005

If you are looking for a true taste of New Orleans, this is the hotel to stay at! My family recently stayed 3 nights at the Royal Sonesta and then 3 nights at the Omni Royal (We weren't sure if we could handle a whole week on Bourbon St.). Our trip began at the Royal Sonesta and we loved it so much that we were devastated to have to move on to the Omni. The hotels location in the heart of the French Quarter on Bourbon St., is perfect. Although my family enjoyed every aspect of New Orleans, it was truly the Royal Sonesta that has inspired us to make plans to return again next year.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Miss.
Level Contributor
442 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2004

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for two nights during a recent swing through New Orleans. We couldn't have been more pleased with the staff and the service at this hotel. They were attentive to every request we made, and they solved the few small problems we encountered in short order. (We requested a toothbrush, which they quickly supplied. Also, when the patrons in the room next door to us inadvertently left their alarm set, the hotel staff speedily sent someone up to shut it off.)

The lobby is beautiful, as is the outdoor courtyard. Our double room was more than sufficient for our needs, and the hotel's location is great for exploring the French Quarter.

We requested a room on an upper floor with a courtyard view in order to ensure a good night's sleep. Be warned, however. The walls of the hotel are thin, and you can hear what's going on in the rooms that abut yours. (That is probably our sole complaint about the hotel.) Other than that, it was a dream stay. The staff is largely to thank. They are wonderfully helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradshawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 27, 2004

Do you want to be treated like royalty? You should stay at the Royal Sonesta if you do. Good service, clean rooms, and don't get me started on how nice it is to be within walking distance of everything in the French Quarter. I did hear some music on Bourbon St but it was nothing major. A courtyard room would take care of any noise problem. Not to mention the wonderful view one would have looking down on the courtyard. I can't wait to stay again.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 24, 2004

Clean, safe, beautiful hotel. Attended a seminar at the hotel and stayed also. Everything taken care of wonderfully. Although, if you do stay here, ask for a courtyard facing room, if your intention is to sleep at some point. All remaining available rooms when we checked in were facing burboun st. For those of you who have not been to New Orleans, Bourbon St. is an all night party with ongoing loud music and bands year round. If an indoor facing courtyard room is not available get a pair of earplugs if it is too loud for you. Otherwise I would not have stayed at anyother hotel. It is centrally located, the staff was wonderfull and helpful. The food was great. And the room was beautiful

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2004

Stayed here this past weekend and loved it. i thought the garden was pretty, the service in the restaurant for breakfast was amazing, the room was clean (not huge, but not small at all) and nice. We faced the inner courtyard and it was 100% quiet - wouldn't even know we were on bourbon street. and loved that it is not a hotel with kids partying - it is for adults and is classy. I would 100% recommend it. The only thing i was wary about was the restaurant recommendations by the staff- a lot that they recommended I had done research on, and they seemed touristy and didn't have good reviews. Do your own restaurant research and reservations.

Helpful?
2 Thank tmr212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,452 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,114 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,548 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,095 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing