We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pros and cons”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed in a Bourbon Balcony Room
Pros:
-Great location in the French Quarter (on Bourbon Street). Walking distance to many bars, restaurants and shops. They close this street at night to cars so people can walk.
-Nice, clean, decorated room. Balcony is a great place to sit and watch the people go by.
-Staff was helpful and friendly. Could answer all our questions. Shared maps and ideas on what to do. (special thanks to 7th floor Darrin, from your Nebraska friends)
-Outside courtyard and pool. Both are very private and quiet.
-Parking is at the hotel and easy and safe to get to but expensive.
- The Desire restaurant has good food and drink. Enjoyed the Oyster Desire. yum
-Lobby was beautiful, made me feel like I was in New Orleans.

Cons:
-The Balcony room is loud; all night from the party goers and all morning from the street cleaners (they did warn us about this when we arrived). But you are in New Orleans on the busiest street so........(having a balcony in NOLA was worth it.)
- Parking is expensive

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We can’t wait to share your comments with Darin as well as the rest of our staff. Please know that our management team evaluates our parking rates twice annually to ensure we remain consistent with other covered and secure garages in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,294
    1,131
    340
    116
    98
See reviews for
510
1,754
119
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruce
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Royal Sonesta was the perfect hotel providing elegance, comfort, and safety for our "girls getaway" to New Orleans! From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Mel at the registration desk immediately made a connection to our hometown and gave us the special treatment. I remembered Mr. Malcolm Thompson from a previous visit, and his smiling face greeted us like we were old friends! Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Rebecca, thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to the Royal Sonesta New Orleans, and the outstanding level of service you received from Malcom, Mel and our entire team. We are pleased to know they provided you with a fantastic experience.
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans consistently strives to create the New Orleans experience our guests have always imagined by offering the highest level of customer service possible. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Royal Sonesta was a beautiful and relaxing surprise. It provides a luxurious oasis in the middle of the French Quarter at very reasonable prices. The staff is very friendly and accommodating from arrival to departure. We parked our car at the hotel and did not use it again until we left. When you stay at the RS you can walk to all of the POI's in the Quarter. Treat yourself on your next visit to NOLA and stay smack dab in the middle of all the action.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Joe, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this pleasant feedback for your recent stay, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Royal Sonesta and our staff, in the manner that is intended. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Malcolm was awesome. He helped with arranging taxis. He also gave our group some tips on fun things to do around New Orleans. He helped us with directions and transportation ideas also. He also always greeted us with a smile every time we entered or exited the hotel! Awesome service!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Lisa, thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to the Royal Sonesta New Orleans, and the outstanding level of service you received from Malcom. We are pleased to know that he provided you with a fantastic experience.
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans consistently strives to create the New Orleans experience our guests have always imagined by offering the highest level of customer service possible. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is located right on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter of the city. Finding it was easy with the sat nav but the parking was not so easy to find. Finally found it around the corner - not cheap but we couldn't find any nearby alternatives. The hotel is lovely - beautiful floral display at the front and the rooms were large and comfy with free wifi. However, the room doors bang loudly as people are coming and going at all hours of the night, and they tended to keep us awake. Bourbon Street is great entertainment at night - loads of bars, lots of free music and restaurants. However, I wouldn't advise taking young children as there are a lot of sex clubs and scantily clad ladies hanging about. Well worth a visit, if only for a few days but take your earplugs!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Mandy, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. Our parking garage is accessible via Conti or Bienville Streets taking you to our lower lobby entrance, which for families is a nice alternative to our main entrance. For future stays please know that earplugs are available by request from the front desk. You may also prefer an interior courtyard or pool-facing room which are quieter, or a room in our RClub concierge level for the ultimate privacy. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Sonesta Hotel is a favorite of ours! Close walking distance to attractions in the French Quarter. Beautiful courtyard & pool. Rooms are available overlooking Bourbon Street. We prefer a quieter experience & the hotel always accommodates! Charming hotel in the heart of downtown New Orleans!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Allyson, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback on your quiet, relaxing stay with us. We are glad that you had a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a beautiful facility, well maintained in the oldest part of New Orleans, the French Quarter. The Irwin Mayfield Jazz Club on site is fantastic. We were able to hear some real local legends play, have a cocktail, and not have to brave the potholes and strewn trash on Bourbon Street to look for music. I also think you get good value for the price of the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Patricia, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so glad you found your stay with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans to be such a great value. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,006 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,396 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing