We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rowdy Neighbors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Rowdy Neighbors”
Reviewed November 18, 2008

First, I'll start with the positives....it's a beautiful hotel, located right on Bourbon St. Amazingly enough, the noise on Bourbon was barely heard during the middle of the night.
However, the neighbors we had next door were young party animals. The little fellow was so drunk he banged on our door @ 4am thinking it was his room and ended up sleeping outside our door until 6am! We stayed two nights and both nights, no sleep for us! If you plan on staying here, just remember, it's on Bourbon St. and most travelers want to be ON Bourbon because of easy party time access. If you want to visit New Orleans for other reasons, there are other wonderful boutique hotels located all around the French Quarter that may not house rowdy neighbors, who are ready to party all night. And it was the weekend.....so, maybe during the week it's a little quieter. We were quite disappointed with the hotels inability to keep the inside noise to a minimum.

Second, the rooms are a bit tiny, so if your going as a group, you'll be stepping on top each other.

Would I stay there again, probally not. I've stayed at other hotels around the French Quarter, that were more spacious, quiet, just as elegant and a little less expensive. But, would I discourage you from staying there if your a party animal, nope, it's the perfect spot!

  • Liked — Comfy Beds
  • Disliked — Noisy Neighbors;small rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,295
    1,132
    340
    116
    98
See reviews for
510
1,755
119
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2008

My husband & i spent ten day,s at the Royal Sonesta we had a lovely room which opened out onto the pool & garden area this was lovely and very peaceful.
The people we met who worked in the hotel were very nice Russell helped us with the choice of trips we were going to go on & he recommended some very nice places to eat and Malcolm the doorman what a gentle man he took very good care of us from the day we stepped out the taxi both these men were gentlemen.
We had room service our first morning this was very nice and we did not wait long before it came to our room,the rest of the mornings we ate in the breakfast dinning room the service there was so good you give it enough praise the ladies who waited on our table were lovely they made us feel as if we were friends who had come bye for a visit and when we went for the Sunday brunch it was out of this world again everyone was nice & very helpful.
the down side of the hotel was we were there for ten days and we did not have a coffee/tea maker in the room we had to ask for one then we thought it would be standard practice to replace the tea coffee milk & sugar every day but when we asked we were told we had to pay for that privilege we thought we were paying for it because we were staying so long.
The fact we stayed so long the staff passed comment on this it seems that long weekends are classed as a long stay so we thought we would have had been entitled to some kind of reward but that was not to be.
The day we checked out was a night mare we had asked for a print out of the extra's we had up to the day before we checked out we got this the day before looked at it and it add up to what we thought it was going to be but the next day was a different story for breakfast for two, the use of the internet and i have forgot what the third thing was it had jumped up by $200 over night the staff at front of house with the exception of Russel could all do with learning people skills they did not have the manners that the rest of the employee's had so what was a good stay with a few teething problems became a nightmare we arrived home October 11th about three weeks later we were billed for the two bottles of water that was in the room when we arrived we thought they were complimentary wrong we had to pay for them as well .
we would go back but i would not go for as long as you seem to get better treatment lost of complimentary things we were there for my husband 50th birthday i would have liked to have gone back for mines but after eating drinking and going to the Friday night show we payed a lot of money out and they could not even give us a free tea/coffee.
but once again thank you to all the staff that was helpfull caring & kind they were the people that made our stay worth it.
Yours Ann Young

  • Liked — The room was very nice with the perfect view and at the best part of the hotel to the back not onto the main street which would be very noisy
  • Disliked — I am disabled and i had a long walk from the lift to our or the room to the lift
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jenfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

First if your young or just young at heart and looking to be smack dab in the center of action. Look no further! This hotel is right in the heat of the action.

The service was amazing! I went and booked a romantic weekend package. Ended up paying 650$ and received accomadations in a 600$ a night room. We had a turn down service with champagne, candles, and chocolate. They sprinkled roses on the bed floor, truly amazing.

We had complimentary breakfast in bed, lunch in the court of two sisters which runs about 70$ includes a jazz grp free again, dinner at their 4 diamond restaurant which we didnt get to go to... darn partying.

I would recommend the interior rooms, we had a patio pool level. It was very nice, doors opened up to the interior courtyard. I could sleep at night which was nice. If you think this place only parties during marti gras your wrong! So if you sleep light, sleep on the inside.

I will be coming back again, thanks for the awesome memories you made my proposal weekend perfect!

  • Liked — Flat screen Tvs in the room, great room service, warm and hospitable doormen
  • Disliked — That I had to go back home, really... I dare you to say something bad about this place
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sinerex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

What a wonderful experience. Simply the best. 5 star accommodation. Super clean and comfortable. Had booked pool patio room but on arrival changed to Bourbon balcony. The room was sound proof once closing the door. Loved all the action below in the street. The hotel surprised us with a delicious birthday cake for my husbands' 60th and complementary breakfast for the length of our stay. Highly reccomend this hotel

  • Liked — right in bourbon street
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pateann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Being able to be in the center of it all and then coming back to a great hotel means a lot. Every morning we walked to the Casino for a wonderful breakfast buffet. During the afternoon when its too hot to hit the streets its perfect at the pool. There are tons of great restaurants to go to for lunch and dinner in walking distance. We even walked to the street cars to tour the Garden district. Then at night your right where you want to be, surrounded by great entertainment so you can dance the night away. With all that exercise its nice to be able to sleep in a comfortable bed to get good rest so you can start all over again the next day. Some advice though, if your going to be drinking, the tap water is disgusting. So when you wake up in the middle of the night with a dry mouth make sure you have some bottled water. The Hotel does have a bottle of water on your table if you want to purchase it for around 6 dollars. I suffered through the first night drinking tap water.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The tap water
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Byfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I loved this hotel. Our room rate was really low in relation to the elegance of the hotel - it has an old-world charm that I loved. This charm added to the ambiance of my trip rather than being at a cookie-cutter hotel. It was right on Bourbon St. which I suppose could be a little noisy for those facing the street, but we faced the pool and couryard. .It was nice having a serene place to go to in contrast to gritty Bourbon St. The hotel and room were clean, clean, clean. We were there in the days just prior to Gustav, so there were a few inconveniences. For example, they closed the pool bar to staff the inside bar because some employees were starting to go home to their families. But, I'm not a princess except for cleanliness, so I have to say, that the hotel handled everything gracefully. The head concierge, Russell Murphy, was as charming as people get, and of course, was full of great advice and reservation help. We did not try the hotel restaurant. Have breakfast at Petunia's, just a few blocks away, and the concierge is full of dinner suggestions.

  • Liked — The old world elegance and the genuine friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — They did not have free coffee - Starbucks only in the Lobby.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angiegirlNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion Grove, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We loved the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We booked a Patio balcony room and it was beautiful. Our room had a nice size flat screen TV and French doors that opened out onto the patio.

We arrived early and were taken care of by Coop, our bellman. He stored our bags for us and brought them up when our room was ready, along with a cooler full of ice for drinks.

Although our room faced Bourbon Street, you would have never known it. It was quiet and the patio was a great place to relax. The pool area was very nice. It had a bar and offered burgers or chicken made on the poolside grill.

Le Booze bar on Bourbon Street was a good place for a drink, and Desire Oyster Bar had great food.

We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,006 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,398 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing