We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Quick Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
shreveport,la
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Quick Trip”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I travel to New Orleans at least twice a year and this trip had to be the best. I made reservations through the hotel website, reserving the Summer Special. At check in we were told that the reservation was for a standard room with a queen bed. Curtis spent several minutes looking for other available rooms as we wanted a king size bed. I knew that requesting a king with a balcony would be considered an upgrade with added fees per night but asked anyway. After giving us the keys Curtis winked that we could thank him later. Boy was he right!!!! We were given room 4131 -- huge room with a full wet bar, sofa & table, desk, gorgeous king bed with unbelievable linens, dining table with chairs, and huge Jacuzzi draped with curtains in the suite. The separate bathroom had a beautiful double sink vanity made from antique furniture, tub with shower and jets, separate glassed in shower with rain-shower head, and large closet with a safe for valuables. On top of all of that it had double french doors that opened to the balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. We were blown away!!!
We shared wonderful, huge oysters at Desire along with a great peace maker poboy the first night and a great burger through room service the second night. We also dined at Mr. B's Bistro for a lunch of seafood gumbo, salad and awesome $1.50 Bloody Mary's, as well as visiting our usual favorites the Chart Room bar (great people watching from a street-side table) and Bombay Club (get the calamari!!).
We both agreed that this was by far the best visit and we owe it all to Curtis -- coming back to that gorgeous room after strolling the French Quarter was wonderful!
Curtis, we will see you on our next visit to NOLA! Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing will be quieter than street. Also, be nice!! It goes a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We’re so glad that you found our Summer Select Package to be a great value. Reviews like this are exactly such a pleasure to read. Thank you for taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans, specifically Curtis, was able to exceed your expectations. Our staff works very hard to make each guest feel like they’re part of our family and keeps them coming back to us year after year. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,402
    1,172
    353
    123
    103
See reviews for
556
1,827
123
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Royal Sonesta.
I usually will not write a review until my stay is over, however, I must make an exception.
Marcel as been a shining light during our stay. I had a few issues with the first room we were given, there was some confusion, but we got in during the early morning hours and were too tired to try to fix the issue.
We woke up this morning to a phone call from Marcel, informing us that we were being switched to a new room.
The room is gorgeous, clean, spacious, brand new...everything you could ask for in a hotel! Marcel single handedly saved what was turning out to be a terrible vacation.
He was courteous, professional, a true sweet heart. If the home office is reading this- Marcel deserves to be a general manager...that's how stellar he is!
Marcel, many thanks to you and the rest of the hotel staff for all of your help. If you need any recommendations for promotions please feel free to have the management contact me!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBlacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Wow, what an outstanding review! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback on your experience with our dedicated staff, specifically Marcel, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

First HUGE shout out to Mel at the front desk, my girlfriends were just in the city for the Beyonce concert and he was a BIG help at check in and with recommendations to night spots in the city.

His customer service was impeccable, enough where I am writing a review for him.

The poll is the best in the city - very sex in the city. Would definitely COME back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Nikki, we greatly appreciate this wonderful feedback on your experience with our dedicated staff, specifically Mel, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Love this place! I travel to New Orleans annually in July. It is centrally located on Bourbon Street in the middle of all the action, however, once inside the loud craziness of the French Quarter is left on the streets. Rooms are quiet with comfortable beds and frigid air conditioning (which is needed in July). I have stayed in singles, doubles, duplexes and the Governor's suite which is equipped with a huge lounge area and two separate king sized bedrooms, and an extra bathroom. The single and double rooms vary in size depending on where you stay in the hotel- mind you the hotel is HUGE. Overall, the king and double rooms are medium sized. I generally stay in a King sized room around the pool. The rooms around the pool have an additional door which places you outside and within a few feet of the pool. The R club offers an extra touch of luxury. You need a key to get to this floor and they offer free breakfast and lunch daily. The concierge service is amazing- shout out to Russel! The bell men are also willing to help you however they can. Down stairs is Desiree restaurant which serves up a mean poor boy ($$) and Revolution- which has been ranked one of the top restaurants in the country ($$$$). The hotel's room service is reasonable as well ($$). I have stayed here fourteen years and counting- I will be back in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Itsmeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans has consistently met your expectations for every visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your annual visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for our stay in new Orleans. From the pretty decor to the helpful staff. The concierge were very helpful in recommending restaurants, places to visit and advising us on the remainder of our road trip. I think the guy was called russel who we dealt with.
Breakfast in the hotel is yummy and worth paying out for even if just once.
There is a restaurant called Oceania opposite the hotel which is so good we went back for breakfast the following day. The shrimp is very good!
Hotel is in perfect location and is easy walking distance to everything.
We booked a river trip on Natchez Steam boat and swamp tour through the hotel concierge booking service which I highly recommend.

I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children as there are lots of "adult bars" in a very close distance these did not bother us but more reserved families may have an issue.

I would definitely return to this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Vikki,reading your review really made our day! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback on our hospitable, attentive staff, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel. Great service. Although the area on Bourbon street can be very loud, hectic- the atmosphere at the hotel was very comfortable and I felt safe the whole time I was there. Pool was great but drinks were expensive. Overall great trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We checked in on a Thursday and left Sunday afternoon. I definitely would say that for us 3 nights came and went really quick. I would definitely come back to this hotel again and spend at least 4 nights for sure. The hotel service and experience was nice. I wish we had a better view from the our window which we weren't really able to look down as it was higher then us to only see above at the buildings. A balcony would have been nice too but we should have asked for it. Otherwise great location on bourbon for all the restaurants and bars left or right. When we first got there we didn't know where to park so we chose the hotel valet parking only to realize its $43 a night. After that we changed it next day since we were tired from the long drive in from San Antonio. There are definitely plenty of options for parking which are literally within 5 mins of walking. We parked in a public garage that was $20 a night. For us everything was within walking distance so we didn't use our car during the stay here. During check out our bill was charged for 3 nights of parking and Curtis the receptionist was Awesome and fixed it immediately. We only got charged for the one day and made it a nice experience. Either way I had the vouchers in the car in case there was an issue with where we did park.

Room Tip: Ask for better view if you need it. You will spend most of your trip outdoors anyway so one less exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prakash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Prakash,we greatly appreciate your taking the time out of your day to let us know of your lovely stay and the excellent service you received from Curtis . We truly value your patronage, and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,289 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,197 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing