We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here in January and the location is perfect! Its directly on Bourbon Street (you can request a room on the quiet side of the hotel if ya like) and walking distance to other areas of town as well. Beautiful rooms and great lobby bar!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralynnparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Lauralynn, thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. We appreciate your sharing this feedback of your recent experience at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,203
    1,094
    324
    111
    95
See reviews for
487
1,679
112
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived at this hotel late in the evening, and were shown to a room to the back of the building.The first thing that struck me was the noise coming from outside, the music and shouting. Forget any vision that you may have of Bourbon Street, it's no longer the hub of jazz but instead sleazy strip clubs and cheap karaoke bars and all of that noise pumps into The Royal Sonesta which sits on the corner. I immediately asked for a new room and was shown to one that resembled a broom cupboard! we questioned the size but were told it was all they had free. It was tiny with only a queen sized bed for two which we slept on for two nights before our agent got on to the hotel and sorted everything.

I believe that the hotel is going to be/is being renovated, which it definitely needs. The furniture was tired and dated and the service very 'laissez faire'. If you are looking for the Blackpool of the Louisiana the this is the place for you, but if not then there are far nicer hotels a couple of streets back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingersheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Our hotel is usually called an oasis within the Quarter, so we were sorry to see that your recent stay with us was not what you expected. Thank you for this important feedback on our hotel. Please plan to revisit us next year when our hotel-wide renovation is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Chittenden, VT
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you want to experience Bourbon St. up close and personally, there really isn't a better hotel! We had a Bourbon St. balcony room for 5 nights, and one of the best parts was just hanging out on the balcony and watching the crowd go up and down the street. I would not recommend those rooms if you are noise sensitive, as the din from the street is pretty much all day and night, with maybe a little break around 4am. But we didn't come to Bourbon St. for peace and quiet.... We were prepared for it, so it was no problem. Would stay there again tomorrow, it really is in the heart of all the action.

Room Tip: Bourbon St rooms are the noisiest, but we found it tolerable. Stay on the other side if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorBill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our coveted Bourbon balcony rooms! If you prefer a more tranquil experience for future visits, please request one of our interior patio rooms or a quieter room on our RClub Concierge Level. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbr0095
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed here May 8-12, booking the room on BookIt.com using their "four diamond mystery hotel" opaque option. Truth be told, our top priority was finding something close to Bourbon Street and you can't get much closer than the Royal Sonesta (since it's on Bourbon).

Since I chose to use an opaque option, we were not given a room with two beds. Not a big deal, since I knew there was a chance that could happen. But the hotel provided us with a cot, at no extra charge, which quite honestly was more comfortable than the regular beds at some of the other hotels I've stayed at. Outside of that, it was your average room. Nothing special, outside of a mini bar, which we did not partake in (all the items were insanely expensive).

They have an on site workout room, which has a few treadmills and machines. I was a little disappointed in the lack of free weights, but I was able to get a sufficient workout in without them.

We didn't use it, but they have a pretty amazing pool area, complete with its own bar.

All in all, it's a nice hotel and I would recommend based on location alone, assuming you can get it at a reduced rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbr0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for this review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you seemed to enjoy the value you received, and please know that a hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year to include updates to our fitness center & all guest rooms. Please remember to visit us again or our other Sonesta Hotels in the U.S. and abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Worst experience of my life!! I called to confirm our reservation today and was assured everything was fine. We got here and OMG! our room is TWO ROLLAWAY BEDS in a living room! I kid you not! For a married couple. There IS NO BED and this is a HOTEL! They said they were out of rooms; this "room" is just the parlor of a suite . It is like staying in grandmas basement. They won't refund the money because it was prepaid. They "say" they are going to put us in an upgrade room tomorrow but when there's a front desk shift change I highly doubt the next person will even care. They keep saying "it's just one night" but that's one night of a long weekend. We can't even unpack and it will be afternoon until they get us a room. Again, we can't get our money back! Ive been given lots of promises about what they will do for us tomorrow. I will post the second half of this tomorrow and let everyone know what they do that can possibly make up for this fiasco. We are shell shocked.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Ronald, we are very sorry to read about your disappointing room situation. Because your feedback is important to us and we want to restore your confidence in our hotel, our Director of Hotel Operations would like to speak with you further. Please contact him at kkelterborn@sonesta.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I didn't expect to be treated ROYALLY at a French Quarter property. The area is just a little bit seedy, but this place ROCKS! The staff is responsive, it has everything but a SPA .. food is to die for and the jazz bar is exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank TexasCoastal_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We can’t stop beaming from your delightful review! Thank you so much for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel and taking the time to share this feedback of your awesome vacation with us. These are the kinds of experiences our staff strives to make possible. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed two nights during Memorial Day weekend attending a wedding…The hotel is in a terrific location right in the center of all the action. Feels perferctly safe even at night. However, the rooms facing Bourbon street have to suffer the crowd noise well into 3-4am. Ask for a room facing the courtyard or pool if you want it quiet. On the flip side, the balconies make for terrific people watching in the evening. The hotel is in good shape for an old lady and has an authentic feel so I recommend it for local flavor in the French Quarter.

I was very disappointed with the service and atmosphere at the pool. I expected a quieter, more serene pool setting (my bad assumption) and was surprised it looked more like spring break redo for 30-40 year olds. Pool service is sloooow and weak!

Even worse is the check-int process. It didn't take long to figure out all the rooms have the privacy sign on the door from a long night before so the housekeepers have to wait. This makes it hard to check in before 3pm; had to wait until 5pm. That's New Orleans for ya!

I would still recommend as a first time to NOLA hotel as the rooms were clean and elegant but for the price will likely try the Ritz or similar next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for visiting our hotel recently. While you did enjoy your street side room and the security at night, we are very sorry that the pool service and check-in service were slow. Our food & beverage director and security team are working together to address the pools-side service and groups at the pool this summer. We appreciate your comments and they will be reviewed and acted on by our team. We hope you will consider visiting our hotel again next year after the completion of our hotel-wide renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing