We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Sonesta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal Sonesta”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Visit New Orleans regularly but had never stayed at the Royal Sonesta. I was pleasantly surprised that despite it's location on Bourbon street it was an oasis of calm away from the party going on outside the doors. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was adequate with a comfortable bed. The bathrooms have tub showers. Nothing fancy or modern here but all in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
John, thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to share these comments. We’re happy your found our oasis in the heart of the bustling French Quarter and wish you’ll revisit us when you need another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,374
    1,161
    349
    120
    98
See reviews for
538
1,810
121
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a very well run hotel located right in the middle of the action in the French Quarter of New Orleans, the Big Easy. If you are coming down for the Mardi Gras then you could not ask for more. The hotel is clean; the rooms are generous (beds and pillows are all-world - awsome); the jazz in the hotel bar is first class and the staff are friendly and professional. The location and it is not the hotel's fault, is right in the busiest part of Bourbon Street which again, if you are there for the Mardi Gras or want to be located convenient to 3 strip joints (across street from main entrance) and an array of bucket bars; then you are going to think you died and went to heaven. If you prefer a quiet tree lined street with antique shops and great dining then you will want to locate yourself in another part of town. In short, great hotel with great staff in an "action packed" neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank danshedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for celebrating Mardi Gras with us this year! We are thrilled you had so much fun and really enjoyed our hotel’s friendly team and its convenient location. If you’re looking for quiet antique shopping and fancy restaurants, you really don’t have to relocate to another part of town! Royal Street borders our hotel and has the best shopping around plus Restaurant R’evolution in the Royal Sonesta is only one of many fine dining establishments in the Quarter. Thanks for your review and please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the Sonesta March 17 Th March 20th, 2014. We were a big group, and wanted to have a hotel with large & pleasant commons areas to gather and this hotel certainly was perfect for that. We used the charming courtyard several times. The rooms were also charming and tastefully decorated. This hotel is on Bourbon Street; views of the pool area, court yard and the street are very nice. There are some rooms that face a wall or other buildings so we asked to move to a different room and the hotel was very accommodating. I assume that the rooms facing the street will have some noise. I personally did not experience that. Overall we all had a good experience and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: pool or courtyard view will give you nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mali2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are honored that you chose to gather your family at the Royal Sonesta Hotel for fun reunion! Thank you for taking the time to share this gracious feedback and we appreciate your compliments to our beautiful common areas and accommodating staff. Please remember to come back for large or intimate retreats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I really can't complain about the hotel itself, just the location. Of course, Bourbon Street is the prime location, but after the first night, I was over it… Bourbon Street smelled like pee and puke.. Always drunk people staggering around.. I know that what I was in for, but over it by the first night. Hotel staff was very nice, and Phillip at the desk suggested we stay over-looking the pool, but wanting "the experience", we chose overlooking Bourbon St… a wee bit noisy.. Our first room was a standard double? I think. We had to upgrade, the room was very, very small.. I was traveling with my niece, so I needed some room.. We upgraded to a larger room for another $75 a day, which was supposed to be a deal. I think I paid almost $2,000 for the 6 nights.?
I would look for better prices. Seemed like every time I checked, the rates were always changing.. A little pricey..

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Bourbon St. A wee bit noisy, we were woken up a few times by drunkards outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thomas, thank you for staying at our hotel with your niece. We are sorry that Bourbon Street was a little rowdier than you might have expected. Next time we think you may prefer “the authentic New Orleans experience” without ever leaving the hotel: both fine dining & casual dining options, live jazz 7 nights a week in our Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, the outdoor pool and locally roasted coffee at PJ’s Café. Also we’ll be undergoing a hotel-wide renovation next year so we hope you will consider revisiting us for a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We were very fortunate to stay at the Royal Sonesta for 4 nights in March before boarding a cruise ship. We had chosen the hotel for a combination of its location, reputation and comments on TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed.

For a hotel that is so close to all the action on Bourbon Street, it retains a very classy appeal and atmosphere despite some of the guests who seem to think it's OK to party all night and talk loudly in corridors at 4.00am!

We were upgraded on arrival and were able to access the R Club which allowed us a free continental breakfast and 'happy hour' drinks in a lounge on the 7th floor of the hotel. This was great but on day 2 the lounge closed for refurbishment, but we were then given vouchers for breakfast and cocktails in the Jazz Club lounge. Thanks to the hotel for this, it was a real bonus for us and made our stay even more memorable.

The hotel pool was excellent with comfortable sun beds, room was fine although the TV didn't always work, apparently the TVs have all been replaced recently.

The Jazz Club is the real bonus here, obviously there is so much choice of live music in the French Quarter but Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse was fantastic. On our last night we saw Leon 'Kid Chocolate' Brown who was great. If you are planning to go to New Orleans and want to stay close to the action on Bourbon Street we thoroughly recommend the Royal Sonesta.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlCatraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are beaming from this delightful review! Thank you so much for choosing to extend your cruise vacation at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for your abundant compliments. We are so pleased that you felt an authentic New Orleans experience in our RClub, at the pool and Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse! We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

First time visiting NOLA & wanted to be on Bourbon St. so I picked Royal Sonesta. Loved the location! I guess what bothered me was that for 4 nights it cost me over $1500. The room was nice but nothing special, stayed in AC NJ 100% better room for less than $100. My view was roof tops. They had water bottles in the room for $6!!! I got a free bottle of champagne & asked it to be delivered to the outside patio with a glass of cranberry juice. My bill reflected $11 for that!!!!

The pros...locatíon was great! Right in the middle of everything. The doorman was really nice, helped with questions, advice. Loved the garden, we sat out there every night. We could hear the music from the jazz bar sitting there. I have to say that the best thing that we experienced was going to Desire & sitting at the raw bar . James was excellent!!!!! He gave us advice on what to see, where to go, what to order. Very friendly!!! All around nice guy. Not sure if I would spend the money to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the on the inside rooms but no view at all. Ask for room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annod220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing this helpful feedback. We are so sorry that you were not sure about the value received but thank you for recognizing our excellent service and great location and hope that you will consider staying with Sonesta again in the future. We are excited to share with you that hotel-wide renovations are planned for next year and we’d love to welcome you back to see the new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was a birthday celebration weekend for me. The treatment my husband and I received from the staff was exceptional. We were called by name and also received a few hugs. The southern charm in this place exceeded my expectations. Our room overlooked one of the streets. This hotel covers an entire block. The bed is very comfortable and the room was very clean. There is a business center with a couple of computers you can freely use. The room also has free internet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Janet, first and foremost, happy birthday! We are honored you chose to celebrate such a special occasion at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans and pleased to learn how personable our staff made you feel. Thank you for your review and please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,547 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing