We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect and I cannot wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect and I cannot wait to go back!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My only regret was not working with the FABULOUS Concierge, Milton, from the minute I arrived because he was wonderful and incredibly helpful and hooked us up!

I was enchanted from the minute I arrived. The hotel is beautiful and the Ambassador Suite did not disappoint. The fresh floral arrangements, Chandeliers and art welcomed and charmed me.

I was in New Orleans for a girls trip and what could be more fun than being on Bourbon street, in a beautiful hotel with fabulous service, food, entertainment and art. We walked all over the Quarter and by the river and before we knew it we had been out for over 10 hours.

I can't wait to return with my husband for a romantic weekend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Vera, thank you for choosing to stay in our Ambassador Suite recently and writing this review. We are delighted that Milton was able to contribute to this remarkable experience you had and we look forward to helping you plan your romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,295
    1,132
    340
    116
    98
See reviews for
510
1,755
119
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

For a few extra bucks you get more than a bang! A personal floor manager awaits your arrival...in our case MR. Darin...Mr. NOLA. You need it...he has it. The breakfast is comp...daily. The 24 hour lounge is a much needed plus. Our room was well appointed with the finest linens and bathroom needs. The Bellmen are anxious to be at your service and the front desk Mgr. Jessica Jones goes out of her way to accommodate your needs, as well. We loved the lobby, which is rich in french quarter ambiance. During Mardi Gras the hotel kept it's first class status, while right outside Bourbon street was jumping. Fantastic time & most memorable.

Room Tip: get the room close to the lounge...great for late night munchies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegasrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are looking forward to sharing your comments with our hardworking team, especially Darin and Jessica who really made a great impression. Thank you so much for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel as your Mardi Gras headquarters this year. On your future travels we hope will consider one our Sonesta properties located in U.S. and abroad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to the Royal Sonesta and I felt confident enough to take 3 other couples with us. Location, Location, ambiance, comfort, convenience and service. Close enough to be in or out of the craziness and excitement of Bourbon St. An oasis to retire to and still be in the middle of that great French Quarter. It has it all. Entertainment, lovely rooms, great staff and wonderful restaurants.
If you are not up to staying up all night during the weekend, pick an inside room, preferably pool side/balcony on the East side of the building...4h floor is really best. Want to watch the goings on of Bourbon St.? Stay in a Bourbon St. room and sit on your balcony and watch the revelers.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel, 4th floor (quieter) overlooking the pool/patio with balcony. Rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraMicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you and your friends had such a fun trip and look forward to having you back in the future. Thank you so much for recommending friends to stay with us – we really do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

OMG! I will never stay at another hotel! Location, location, location! It was in the middle of everything wonderful! Our room and bed were great! Staff was great! Loved the jazz bar, Revolution was to die for. See next review! I loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khanebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your recent trip to New Orleans! We are thrilled you had such an amazing time taking in the full authentic New Orleans experience from the fine cuisine to jazzy entertainment all within our doors. We appreciate your feedback and please come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped at their restaurant on Bourbon Street for lunch last month when we visited NOLA. We were seated right away but then no one came by to even give us water. One waitress was standing at the bar yapping to the bartender while we sitting less then 3 feet away. Finally, after 10 minutes of being ignored we got up and walked out. We will never go back since we received absolutely no service!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Kelli, we are very upset to read your comment on the lack of attentive service you described at one of our restaurants. This is not the normal feedback on our wait staff at either of our two restaurants, which usually receive praises on how the friendly, dedicated staff enhance the dining experience whether it be at our casual or award-winning fine dining restaurant. Again, we are sorry you did experience this and we will work with both restaurant teams to ensure this isolated incident is not repeated. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here during and after Mardi Gras. This hotel is perfectly placed. It's a lovely building. The rooms are lovely and kept immaculate by housekeeping. My negatives are that on checking in, even though we were the only persons doing so we were dealt with impersonally by the Receptionist. I had advance requested non feather bedding due to allergy but arrived to find that although acknowledged prior to arrival it had not been addressed. Having travelled 24 hours, even though done swiftly it was not ideal to wait bedding change. I had also asked for a Bourbon Street room but was given a room on Conti Street. The heating in our room wasn't working & it was a very cold/wet time. We couldn't even get our coats dry. We did address this but it wasn't fixed. On one occasion, asking the Bellboy to assist us with making a call he remarked "you don't have a phone?!" Then sent me to ask someone else. On checkout we were again dealt with impersonally with exactly the same format used as the couple checking out before us. Not once did any member of staff initiate greetings. I am disappointed when after this holiday had been so long in the planning, the hotel staff seemed a little impervious to how special a time this is for its visitors. Customer Service aside, this hotel did tick the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank judeloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for Mardi Gras and sharing this review. We appreciate your compliments on our convenient location and clean accommodations, as well as helpful comments on the heating system and your customer service experience. Please know this is not our normal feedback on customer service and we sincerely apologize that this was your experience. We will share your comments with our Front Office Director to ensure this behavior remains isolated and not repeated. When your travels bring you back to New Orleans, please consider staying with us and contact our Director of Hotel Operations kkelterborn@sonesta.com for reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay at Royal Sonesta was excellent. Room was clean; bed was extremely comfortable; bathroom/shower were very good. The restaurants at the hotel are first rate, as was the Jazz Playhouse. We will definitely book this hotel again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Laurie, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! Thank you for visiting the Royal Sonesta for your birthday and taking the time to share this great feedback of your memorable stay in New Orleans. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,008 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,399 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing