We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Malcolm in the Middle of Bourbon and Royal Sonesta!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
henderson ky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Malcolm in the Middle of Bourbon and Royal Sonesta!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Royal Sonesta was a delight! We took our 2 grandchildren (16 and 10). The rooms were clean and I am OCD. I was impressed at our service and the professionalism of the staff.The conceirge helped us plan our 3 day visit by booking our Bus tours for all 3 days. MALCOLM IN THE MIDDLE OF BOURBON was an experience in inself. My grandson (10 yr old) has not stopped talking about Malcolm since we came back This year he wants us to go back to NOLA just to see Malcolm. Royal Sonesta and Malcolm go together like peas and carrots! Thanks to both for making our vacation our favorite ever.

Room Tip: Rooms were great. We had a balcony on a side street the first night. It wasn't worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Kathleen, we are overjoyed to read this review of your most memorable family vacation ever! Thank you for bringing your grandchildren to the Royal Sonesta hotel and to meet the famous Malcolm. We appreciate your review and hope you come back for years and years to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,261
    1,113
    329
    113
    97
See reviews for
499
1,724
115
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently stayed at Royal Sonesta for 2 nights during Mardi Gras season… Although it's been a few years since we stayed at Royal Sonesta, the front desk was quick to say "welcome back, we're glad you selected us once again"! When making the reservation we requested a high floor not facing Bourbon Street due to the noise. The staff was awesome in that we never once heard Bourbon Street during our stay… If you're not a late night person…3:00 - 4:00 AM… Request a high floor not facing Bourbon! We enjoyed the time so much, we're going back in August for a 4 day weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Anthony, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for taking the time to share this feedback of your experience. We can’t wait to welcome you back in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel really does have it all. It is in the heart of the French quarter so everything you want to see and go to is walkable. Also, it has A couple of the best restaurants and jazz clubs in New Orleans housed in the same building. We asked for a quiet room and got it at no extra charge and were very pleased when our room was completely peaceful, even in the middle of the night on a weekend when the streets were hopping. Malcolm, the doorman, made us feel like we were in the heart of old New Orleans with his cape and top hat and treated us like royalty every time we came and went. He made our experience very special. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again ourselves the next time we go to New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie5208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Annie, we greatly appreciate your kind comments to our central location in the heart of the city and our very attentive team. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at Royal Sonesta at the end of January for 4 nights/5 days.

It is an excellent location on Bourbon Street. We walked everywhere. Very nice restaurant for breakfast and bar for drinks in the evening. Hundreds of restaurants/bars down Bourbon Street. You won't go hungry! Awesome bars with live music all up and down the Street.

The staff is very attentive and friendly.

There was an issue when I checked in for my room (there were 10 of us checking in with seperate rooms - all that were booked at the same time) They said my reservation had changed and had me coming in on the following day. (I had booked an interior patio/pool room). There was nothing available until the following day. The put me on an exterior patio room on a sidestreet (which still had restaurants/bars) and it was very loud. And in the morning very loud. The room was outdated and very small. I was very disappointed in the room. (they told me price was the same for both rooms which I found it hard to believe) I was able to move the next day into the room I had paid for. I was extremely happy with that room. It was very quiet, remodeled, clean and much larger than the prior room. They were very apologetic at the front desk and handled the frustrating situation very well. (I knew the mishap wasn't a result of an error on their part)

Overall it was a nice hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I highly recommend spending the extra money on an interior room. We were out until the "wee ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fingsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are so sorry that the room choice you initially requested was not available at the time of check-in and you were inconveniently moved around. But we are glad that our hospitable service team helped you through it and overall you had a fun stay in New Orleans. We’re excited to hopefully welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This wonderful gem in the heart of the French Quarter is one amazing hotel! I did extensive research before our trip to NOLA to pick a romantic hotel....this is the one! We had a covered 3rd floor balcony room just on the corner of Conti and Bourbon. There was so much entertainment in the evening to watch and hear! We lef t our french doors wide open all day and night while in the room to take in all the great food scents and amazing music off Bourbon! The Famous Door just across the street had a amazing band play in the evenings with great music! Every night after dinner we would come back to our room with a turndown service with lit candles, rose petals on our bed, and chocolates! They even brought us two bottles of champagne! We were there celebrating our anniversary, and the Royal Sonesta made it memorable! Unfortunately due to weather we were unable to experience the swimming pool, but I will be back to try that! If your looking for the perfect hotel in the French Quarter....THIS IS THE ONE!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runawayroyalprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Reviews like this are exactly what we strive for! We are honored that you chose the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your romantic getaway and pleased to learn how our special our team managed to make your stay. Please come back soon to experience the pool and for another remarkable escape in the heart of the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 5 nights last week. My husband stays there frequently for business but this was my first stay. The hotel is right on Bourbon Street so it's very busy. The staff was friendly but not overly helpful. By that I mean that they answered my questions but did not offer any additional information that would've been useful. I expected more with the AAA 4 diamond rating. The room was small but had everything you needed. The bathroom was tiny and dated. Room service was good; prompt and friendly. We ate at Desire for lunch twice and the staff there is great, the food was very good, too. The club floor breakfast was very nice and the room comfortable. Nice hotel overall --- it could be with Mardi Gras starting the staff was stretched to it's limits but I would expect them to be able to meet that challenge being on Bourbon St.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohcandida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are glad that your husband stays with us frequently and we appreciate your choosing us for your visit. Thank you for your compliments to our Desire staff, comfortable accommodations and delicious food. We are glad that you were happy with your room change – we try very hard to please our guests. Note that renovations are planned for the hotel next year and recent room renovations have happened on the 3rd floor. We hope you will consider revisiting us or staying with one of our other Sonesta properties in the U.S. and abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Royal Sonesta was a great place to stay. The staff is the best I've ever seen. Very attentive. The room was perfect. Although we didn't use the pool or the fitness center, I expect to do so next time. The pool deck was closed but looked really nice. I loved the location of being on Bourbon Street, right in the middle of the excitement. Parking is available in their garage right at the hotel. We did not know this. We are already planning our next trip here.

Room Tip: Our room did not face Bourbon St. which us okay with us because it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Cathy, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta and taking the time to share this feedback of your enjoyable stay. We hope you will come back this summer to test our beautiful outdoor swimming pool, which is often called “an oasis in the French Quarter.” Yes, underground secure parking is available at our hotel which can be accessed from Conti or Bienville Streets. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,906 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,238 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing