We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #27 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Warm greeting at check-in, rooms are good (a little wear), great evening happy hour, close to everything in French Quarter. We stayed on R Club Level facing the inner part of the hotel and it was QUIET at night, yay! The extra expence for the Club Level was worth it, as it was a place to rest, catch up with friends and have some quiet time to put feet up before heading out at night. We loved Carl, our bartender in the Club Lounge. Great appetizers at night, changed nightly. At the pool, locate Tommy at the bar and have him make his famous drink. Must try Felix's for charbroiled oysters, Mr.B's for BBQ shrimp. You'll be thankful you did.

Room Tip: R Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissIvNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! Thank you for staying with us in the R Club concierge level and recognizing all who helped enhance your experience. We look forward to sharing these compliments with the team! During your next stay we hope you will try our Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar for fresh Gulf seafood and all New Orleans’s classic dishes, even BBQ shrimp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    1,113
    330
    113
    97
See reviews for
499
1,727
115
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We loved everything about our Royal Sonesta experience. The staff was so inviting & went over & above to ensure our comfort & pleasure. The hotel was beautiful inside & out & captured the French Quarter perfectly including a beautiful courtyard. We were centrally located & walking distance to all our destinations except one music venue. The fitness room was a bonus since most boutique hotels don't offer much if anything at all. Thank you RS for delivering on a wonderful Christmas VaCa with friends!

Room Tip: The RS offers many deals throughout the year, check out their website! You can choose a street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafekokoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share how happy your holidays were with friends at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are pleased that you found our fitness center and most attractions you wanted to visit conveniently located. On your next New Orleans vacation you should plan to visit Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse for authentic live jazz 7 nights a week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a recent conference. The lobby is nice, the rooms were fine but there was a very noisy air condition that kept humming quite intensely even when turned off. If you want to sleep at night, make sure you get a room facing the inner garden and not Bourbon Street. The gym is very small with only two treadmills that look somewhat worn down. I could not open the window of my room which was a bit annoying as well. All in all, it was a good hotel that needs a make over and renovation in the near future. The price is a little too high for what is offered.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank La_tedesca_di_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent conference in New Orleans. We appreciate your bringing this AC unit to our attention, which is being addressed. Please know that our 3rd floor guest rooms have been recently renovated and renovations for the remainder of the hotel are planned for this year. We hope that you consider revisiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Royal Sonesta is located right on Bourbon Street, very convenient for everything French Quarter.
Our room was nice, not overly elegant, but very nice. Clean room and very comfortable beds.
Several restaurants and jazz club located in the hotel. We did have lunch at the restaurant Desire. My husband had catfish and hush puppies. The fish was okay, but the hush puppies were completely raw inside. We told our waitress about this, but it wasn't of any concern to her. Did not eat there again.

Room Tip: We wanted a quieter room, so we got one with a courtyard view instead of a street view. Lots of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

If I ever return to New Orleans, THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!! Outstanding rooms and staff!! Right in the heart of everything, yet, in my room, it was very peaceful and quiet. We went on a VERY BUSY NIGHT in the French Quarter and I slept wonderfully!! The amenities were awesome!! I wish my stay there had been longer. I will definitely choose them again!! OUTSTANDING!!! (We had 7 in our group, and everyone agreed it was awesome!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justbeachiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this Hotel - centrally located so it was an easy walk to most places, Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, The French Market, Frenchman Street, etc.

The staff here is very friendly, we enjoyed their casual dining "Desire" and their jazz bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights. Great Hotel in the middle of the French Quarter right on Bourban but don't let that scare some of you as there are three entrances, one on Conti and the other on Bienville if you don't want to walk out in the night madness. Staff were great and rooms were great and roomy! Would definitely stay there again. And the best Jazz Bar is right in the Hotel along with first class restaurant for fine dining - Revolution - check it out!

Room Tip: A little closer to the elevator as it is a big hotel and long walks to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,910 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing