We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PHENOMENAL!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PHENOMENAL!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If I ever return to New Orleans, THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!! Outstanding rooms and staff!! Right in the heart of everything, yet, in my room, it was very peaceful and quiet. We went on a VERY BUSY NIGHT in the French Quarter and I slept wonderfully!! The amenities were awesome!! I wish my stay there had been longer. I will definitely choose them again!! OUTSTANDING!!! (We had 7 in our group, and everyone agreed it was awesome!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justbeachiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,404
    1,175
    353
    123
    103
See reviews for
556
1,829
123
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watkins Glen, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this Hotel - centrally located so it was an easy walk to most places, Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, The French Market, Frenchman Street, etc.

The staff here is very friendly, we enjoyed their casual dining "Desire" and their jazz bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights. Great Hotel in the middle of the French Quarter right on Bourban but don't let that scare some of you as there are three entrances, one on Conti and the other on Bienville if you don't want to walk out in the night madness. Staff were great and rooms were great and roomy! Would definitely stay there again. And the best Jazz Bar is right in the Hotel along with first class restaurant for fine dining - Revolution - check it out!

Room Tip: A little closer to the elevator as it is a big hotel and long walks to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Try for at least 2 nights here. All the safe areas are walking distance. Once you get to know the city the Frenchman's Street local accommodation and non tourist music will balance out the trend to tackiness that's become Bourbon St and taxi out to Fairgrounds race track.
look up the Acme oyster bar for lunch; hope that Boston sift shell crab is in season.
Bon temps.

Room Tip: round to west and away from Bourbon St
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel while you were in town for business. We are so happy that you enjoyed touring our historic French Quarter on foot and suggest that next time you try Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar for lunch if you like oysters. Hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I went to New Orleans with another couple in June. We had never been and wanted to stay somewhere that was nice but put us in the heart of the culture. Well, this hotel definitely does that! It is RIGHT on Bourbon Street. This is both a good thing and a bad thing. It was fun the first night because we could step outside and be in the action. The bad part came in the morning when were step out onto the street and were overwhelmed by the smell… it wasn't good. Ultimately, the room was very clean (not very big but big enough), the bed was clean and comfortable, the pool was very nice and refreshing and the staff was super helpful. I did appreciate that the security was VERY heavy. You needed to show your room key to enter after a certain time and the cops were quick to arrest any trouble makers. The hotel bar is nice and has a really neat show going on the night we arrived. I'm glad we experienced it, but I think next time we visit, we may pick a quieter spot.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the courtyard to reduce the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Colleen, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this experience at our hotel. We are glad that you found your accommodations clean, comfortable and very safe with a happy team eager to greet and assist you. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future and request an interior room that tends to be quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while in a conference. . loved the hotel. The room was large, very comforatable and clean. Having read other traveler's reviews I asked and recieved a room not facing the street and thus had no problems withnoise. BUT as a woman travelling and visiting New Orleans by myself, I found the location to be of a problem. I felt quite uncomforatble (and at times even intimidated) walking down Bourbon street at night ( or even late evening). The street is full "action" and drunks. being the main street of the French Quarters.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an interior ( not facing the street) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Iris_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are pleased that you had a restful stay with us while in town for work. Please note that our lobby entrance allows taxis to drop you right at our secure underground entrance. Thank you for your review and please remember to stay with us again whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I along with our best friends decided to stay at the Royal Sonesta on Dec 2 and 3 to kick start the Holiday Season. The hotel was beautifully decorated and immediately throws you into the Christmas spirit. Being located right on Bourbon street you know your staying in the heart of activity. Our room overlooked Bourbon street therefore you could hear partying and music into the weeeee hours of the morning. This is expected if you choose to Stay on Bourbon street. The hotel has several dining options and they are all wonderful but eating oysters at the Oyster bar with Rodney was especially fun. The staff is some of the most polite people you will ever meet.

For a really great Seafood dinner go to GW Fins on Bienville St. Just a few hundred yards away. The food was magnificent.

The special prize of this stay was the lighting of the Balconies and annual tradition. Two adorable little girls from the Children's Hospital were there to throw the switch that lights up the Royal Sonesta Christmas lights on the Balcony rooms. The music of Creole Opera was wonderful for this extravaganza and we were visited by the Saints Cheerleaders, special characters and Santa Himself.

On the long ride back to South Florida we spoke about making this an annual tradition.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REV62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are overjoyed that your group of friends chose to begin the holiday season at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! And we’re so glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our 8th Annual Lighting of the Balconies, our fun oyster bar named Desire, and some delicious New Orleans cuisine. On your next visit we suggest that you try our nationally recognized Restaurant R’evolution for reinterpreted Creole and Cajun cuisine. Hoping that you and your friends do indeed make this holiday vacation a new tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,643 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,311 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,369 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing