We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just spent a relaxing week at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street, November 2013. We had stayed here before but had forgotten how nice it was. From the minute you walk in until you leave you are attended to from roses on the bed when you check in to turn down service in the evenings and delightful chocolate treats. Rooms are spacious and kept spotless with nice quality bed linens. Towels could be upgraded, first day 2 of the towels were nice but went down from there! Sitting on the balconies in the evenings is wonderful. All of staff were pleasant and helpful. Would be nice to have a coffee maker in room for late night tea or coffee, even though during the day PJ's in the lobby has excellent coffee. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice, better views. Rooms with Balconies street side tend to be noisier at night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat2009Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    1,049
    313
    102
    91
See reviews for
462
1,593
107
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My friend and I took our first trip to New Orleans in October 2012. We stayed at The Royal Sonesta on Bourbon St. right in the middle of all the hoopla. We brought our costumes knowing that it was Halloween and New Orleans is known for putting on a big party. We were not disappointed. Bourbon St. is full of people young and old dressed up in costume. We had a ball.
The Royal Sonesta was a perfect choice of hotels. The hotel is close to everything. It had a wonderful restaurant, coffee shop, bar, and jazz club. When you walked through the doors into the hotel you would not even know you were on Bourbon St. The rooms are very nice and spacious and they have a very nice pool with a snack bar.

Room Tip: I would suggest an inside room away from the street. It is Bourbon St. after all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent two nights here on a business trip. Arrived at 2:45PM and room not ready yet but check-in was at 3. Gave the desk my cell # and left. Walked around the Quarter for awhile. Had a late lunch. Still no call. Went back to the desk, now 4:15. Room still not ready. Registration offered me a room fronting on Bourbon St instead of the "quieter" one that they had assigned me so I accepted the change. Little did I know that the club across the street would have loud music playing until 5AM stopping then to sweep out and restarting at 6AM. Good thing I can sleep through anything. It became apparent through observation that while checkout occurred at noon the cleaning staff was so unbelievably slow (or understaffed) that they were often still on the floors cleaning rooms for new arrivals at 6PM or later. Great old hotel. Rooms well appointed. In the midst of the Bourbon Street clubs and restaurants but expect to wait for some things while there.

Room Tip: If you want sleep make sure you are not on a room fronting Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIBoiler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarzana ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stay on the R level for the great service, open bar, breakfast, and the fun of being on a special level.

4 The gym opens late but that probably does not matter to anyone but me.

5 for the crazy Bourbon street location that is all safe and sound when you walk into the Royal Sonesta. the air-conditioning is the best I've ever had in a hotel. There is no hot tub but the pool is fresh and salt water instead of chlorine which is very nice and good for the skin.

4 for the fun medium sized rooms. Everything in the rooms was fitted just right and worked except for television that cut out a little but really! Get out of the room your in New Orleans ;)

4 Service is great with only one person early on the first morning that did nothing to help me find a gym. A simple Google search worried right away.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRTStark22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I took advantage of a Travelzoo special (essentially almost half price deluxe room & $50 restaurant credit) to spend a couple of midweek nights at the Sonesta. I was offered the Bourbon Street overlook or an interior courtyard and based on previous tips took, and was enormously thankful, for the courtyard. My room had balcony doors which opened out onto the 3rd floor so i could walk directly to the swimming pool. If I'd been on the balcony the noise would have been unbearable but in the courtyard, i didn’t hear a thing. The room was clean, nice, homely and had everything I needed. The free Wi-Fi is more than adequate unless you're a bandwidth hog for movies & gaming etc. I also ate at the restaurants hotel on Bourbon Street, Desire, and it the food was great. You can have a basic breakfast to go (coffee & breakfast breads) at PJ's in the lobby. The staff were all very friendly and efficient but I had a small problem when I checked out as they missed the $50 room credit and ran my card for all the food & drink. They quickly mitigated the problem re-imbursed me but this shouldn’t have been an issue in these days of computerized booking systems. However, this was just a small hiccup and I can't wait to return. This is my hotel of choice anytime I'm in New Orleans. You just cannot beat the location of being on Bourbon Street in an upper class hotel.
(If you drive and are looking for parking, the hotel charges $40 a night. I saved $20 a night by using one of the prepaid garages a block away and just walked a few minutes to the hotel.)

Room Tip: 1) As per everyone else, ask for a courtyard room versus nosity Bourbon Street. 2) Ask for 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egf1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The problems began at check-in and continued throughout the stay. There are too many first class properties in New Orleans to choose from, so why take the risk of staying here. The only good thing that I will say is that the food was the highlight of our stay. The problems included only lukewarm water in our bath, incomplete room service orders, suite not ready at check-in, meeting room set up incorrectly for our meeting, and one of our group's VIP's given a parlor room and a roll-away instead of the king bedded room that was guaranteed for late arrival.

If you feel that you MUST stay on Bourbon Street when you visit the Big Easy, try another property.

Room Tip: Request in interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are sincerely sorry for the problems you encountered during your recent stay. As our exceptional reputation suggests, issues like the ones you described are isolated and very alarming to us. Please contact Katherine Jolivette, our Director of Guest Relations, by calling 504.553.2236 to further discuss your unsatisfactory experience. We appreciate your taking the time to write this review because your comments are so very important to our continued success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from a marvelous stay here, This was my first time actually staying in the French Quarter and the location was super convenient. Traveled with a group so we all had interior rooms with no street noise. Also there is a wonderful courtyard off the lobby which is great for having a coffee or a drink.

My one caveat is to bring your own coffee and something to heat water. There is no in-room coffee and so you have to pull on your clothes first thing and run down to the coffee shop where a medium cup is $3,27 with tax. It's good coffee, but.....

Overall we had a great stay and I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Go for interior room. Nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkathypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Kathy, thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel with your friends! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your tranquil accommodations facing our beautiful courtyard so much that you plan to stay at our hotel again. We appreciate your feedback on the lack of in-room coffee makers and we are currently reviewing our policy on this. Please know that you may request an in-room coffee maker from our room service department or order coffee to be delivered through room service so you do not have to leave your room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,388 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing