We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Overall, the hotel was quite nice. The room was clean and well maintained and the public areas are beautiful. They have a lovely courtyard from which the restaurants branch off. The one restaurant we did eat in, R'evolution, was great. We dined in the bar area, but the food and service were excellent. At one point during the stay, we called room service to see if they could do a cheese plate to accompany our wine order. While it is not on the menu, the room service staff was very accommodating and created one off-menu for us. After delivery, they even called back to see if it was alright!

On the downside, we had to wait almost four hours for our room to be ready when we checked in. To make up for it, staff did give us two drink coupons which was very nice. Also, we tried the jazz club in the lobby and were quite disappointed. The music was not to my taste, nor what I would call jazz. Once seated, we were never approached for a drink order, although others around us were. Eventually we gave up and left. The pool itself looks dated and a bit of a let down. If you're willing to fork out the extra cash, upgrade your room to a balcony or courtyard view. We were on the sixth floor- nicely away from the late night noise, but with a dismal view of pipes and rooftop.

Overall, this hotel is a piece of civilization in the center of the chaos that is Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryoko_Izara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the wait at check-in and that Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse was not what you expected, but please know that your comments are important to our success and the Playhouse Manager will address this review with her team. We are pleased to learn that our room service was so accommodating and dining at Restaurant R’evolution was really incredible. Please keep our hotel in mind when you are planning your next stay in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,338
    1,145
    346
    118
    98
See reviews for
521
1,782
119
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schriever, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Staff is so friendly and knowledgeable!! Very clean!!! Love the location. Overall great hotel!!! Stayed here plenty of times never been disappointed! They always accomodate. We called an hour before we checked in. Another time we stayed, we decided to try a new hotel at the same price of Royal Sonesta. BIG MISTAKE!! It smelled and most of the hotel was closed off for a wedding. We immediately called the Royal Sonesta and they told us to come on over to their hotel. We did and enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: If you don't like the noise of Bourbon St. then ask for a courtyard room. Its so quiet and pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzagigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Reading your review really made our day! Thank you for thinking of the Royal Sonesta Hotel and sharing your compliments of our hospitable team and luxurious accommodations. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that you are members of our Sonesta Travel Pass Loyalty Program so that you can earn points towards to a free night every time you stay with Sonesta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I really liked staying at the Royal Sonesta. I love the location on Bourbon Street in the middle of the French Quarter. It wasn't too far to walk to any of the attractions and I felt very safe there. We had a balcony but didn't use it. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Peggy, thank you so much for taking the time write this review of your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed being in the historic French Quarter and an easy walk to so many of our city’s best attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Royal Sonesta Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speedway, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I totally agree with Boomerang's comments regarding their stay in the R Club. Darin, the R Club manager is the one of the greatest assets of the Royal Sonesta. One afternoon we asked when he would leave that evening because we wanted him to get our boarding passes for the next day. We came back in time for him to help us, and he was still there two hours after his work day had ended. We usually go to New Orleans every year, and we will always stay at the Royal Sonesta as long as Darin is the R Club manager.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayhuud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to New Orleans to celebrate a big birthday for my husband and to attend the Blues Festival in Lafayette Square. We chose the Royal Sonesta based on reviews and location. While I was a little concerned about being on Bourbon Street, from our room located on the R Club level, the noise was not an issue. The R Club itself was wonderful! First Darin, the R Club Manager, is the friendliest, most helpful person in the city. He was great! He was a great resource for recommendations and helped with some reservations as well. In addition, when we arrived there was a bottle of sparkling wine and pralines from Darin in our room, with a personalized note wishing my husband a happy birthday and welcoming us to the Royal Sonesta. Our room was well appointed, including fresh flowers, and very relaxing. In addition to the R Club concierge, the lounge offered breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d’oeuvres in the afternoon. While we weren’t always around to take advantage of the lounge, it was nice to have available. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay in the R Club at the Royal Sonesta again. It was well worth the extra money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomerang09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are excited that you chose to celebrate your husband’s special birthday at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to sharing your compliments with the R Club team, especially Darin. One birthday a year just is not enough (from a celebration stand point, not an aging one) and you should celebrate with us all over again for his half birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful hotel in a great location if you're interested in the French Quarter. I stayed during a conference and, luckily, the organizers had reserved a block of rooms facing the courtyard. (Do they really book the outside rooms facing Bourbon street?) My room was well decorated with a comfortable bed, but the phone did not work and the clock/cocking station adjustment "wheels" could not be changed; I had to use my cell phone alarm. The bathroom was nicely appointed; however, the shower head appeared to be the very cheapest Home Depot model with a terrible spray pattern; at these prices, I expect a better shower. The shower curtain did not reach wall-to-wall due to the curved shower bar, and there was mold/mildew in the grout of the lower shower-surround tiles. I was really surprised to not have a coffee maker in the room; not sure if this was to encourage purchase of coffee at PJ's coffee shop in the lobby, but then I've stayed at numerous hotels with Starbucks in the lobby that provided coffee makers. I only mention this because of the cost of this hotel. The conference food was very good and the front desk folks were personable.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard if you are a light sleeper; otherwise, bring ear plugs for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Steve, we are glad to have had you stay at our hotel for the conference you recently attended. We apologize that this guest room did not meet your expectations and the details you described are being addressed with our housekeeping team. We appreciate your feedback on the lack of in-room coffee makers and we are currently reviewing our policy on this. Please know that you may request an in-room coffee maker from our room service department or order coffee to be delivered through room service. Thank you for taking the time to write this review as it is very important to our continued success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My spouse and I made reservations in June for a stay the end of October. We reserved a smoking room. Upon arrival, we were informed the hotel went totally non-smoking on September 6. Did anyone contact us regarding this change---NO! We were given the option of staying in a room with a balcony where we could smoke (which we took). The room was so noisy that getting any sleep was next to impossible! Then, while checking out, we were informed that there was a "credit" on the room, i.e., whatever dollar amount we spent at the establishment would in turn be discounted from the room charge. HELLO! You want us to spend $200. to get a $200. room credit? And just how does that save us any money? Never again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,466 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,125 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,563 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,110 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing