We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the best hotel experience I have ever had. Entering the hotel from Bourbon Street was like stepping into a another dimension. The jazz in the lounge was exceptional. Considering the amount of noise on Bourbon Street, it was completely quiet when you entered the hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the staff very pleasant and accommodating. I just loved it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardeen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Ardeen, we are absolutely delighted that you had such a great experience recently at our hotel, from your guest room to the attentive service! We’re so glad that you had the opportunity to visit Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse and hope that you will stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,200
    1,094
    324
    111
    94
See reviews for
486
1,677
111
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've wanted to stay at the Royal Sonesta for years, and my desire to do so was heightened by the excellent Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse and Restaurant Revolution, both on the premises. The facilities are nice, classically French Quarter as I had hoped. The staff are helpful by in large. And I really appreciated getting excellent food (and coffee from PJ's) and music without leaving the premises. Having said that, I was disappointed. I had always wondered whether or not the noise of Bourbon Street would be a problem, but never imagined that the noise would come from the inside. We were poolside, which meant that we endured daily and raucous parties at the pool with loud music (not even the music of New Orleans). And given the age of the hotel, the noise of other visitors was audible in a way that I haven't experience. I also found that my room was not well attended to and the service staff less than helpful. I value service staff as they perform hard and thankless tasks. But the folks on my floor needed customer service training.

There are a lot of great places to stay in New Orleans. But I think I'll be joining the numbers of folks who are looking outside of the Quarter for really good and reasonable accommodations. While I would recommend the Royal Sonesta to anyone who wishes to drop some money to stay in the Quarter, I would not encourage them to do so with the same expectations that I had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwelburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. We are pleased that you ultimately enjoyed our hotel team and luxurious accommodations, but we are disappointed that our housekeeping service did not meet your expectations. We will address these shortcomings with our housekeeping team to prevent any deficiencies from reoccurring. We also apologize that you were disturbed by other guests at our pool and Oasis Pool Bar. Your comments will be considered when we review our pool security policy. Please consider staying with us again soon so that we might have another chance to give you the royal treatment that each of our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was so nice to walk out of the hotel, and be centrally located in the bustling French Quarter. Similarly, it was so nice to walk back into the hotel after a late night of carousing, and walk back into the quiet Royal Sonesta Hotel. Other than some pesky light sneaking through the curtains every morning, I really couldn't find any gripes with this fine property. It possessed a coffee shop downstairs, and a slew of bars and restaurants on property. I dined at the Desire Oyster Bar one evening when I just had arrived into NOLA, and it was nice to eat at a place so authentic without having to hike around the city.

I will definitely enjoy a night of rest on that comfortable bed again when I am in New Orleans next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orange-u-tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your recent New Orleans getaway. It’s a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed the comfortable bed in your guest room, delicious meal at Desire Oyster Bar and the fresh coffee in the morning at our PJ’s Coffee Café. We appreciate your review and we will have a very comfy bed waiting for you at the Royal Sonesta Hotel the next time you find yourself in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Royal Sonesta was a WONDERFUL place to stay! It is right on bourbon street, so if that is where you plan on being it is very convenient! If your feet hurt, you can run to the hotel and put on your flats and not miss anything! It sits on an entire block and has a wonderful coffee shop plus more in the lobby. The beds are very comfortable, and clean. The rooms are decorated beautifully! It is expensive though, and parking is also steep! If you have the money, it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Masey, we’re so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the Royal Sonesta. Thanks for taking the time out to write a review and we hope to see you and your friends again during a future visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Awesome hotel in the French Quarter! I was horrified when we pulled up in our cab - the location is right on Bourbon Street and the noise was LOUD. However, as soon as we walked in the lobby doors, the sound was gone. It was like we walked into another world! Same with the room - you can't hear anything from the street. It is like Bourbon Street ceases to exist when you are in this hotel. : )

The hotel itself is gorgeous - beautiful lobby, very nice rooms, great amenities. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size. We had a little issue with no hot water from the sink faucet, but it worked fine in the shower.

The location of this property is stellar - easy walking distance to everything in the French quarter, restaurants outside the French quarter, Royal Street shopping, the street car on Canal, etc. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

PS - If you want to avoid Bourbon Street entirely, you can do that by entering and exiting from their side door on Conti. That was really nice in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Kim, we are pleased that you came inside to enjoy our Oasis in the French Quarter and that you found the hotel gorgeous and your accommodations comfortable. We apologize that your sink was not working properly and have done some maintenance on the room to rectify the issue. We hope to see you and your family at the Royal Sonesta on a future visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Starting with the valet staff (mainly Joe) to the bell hops (ex: Ebanks), the service was above and beyond. They were very friendly and took the time to let you know they remember each person, so it was more personable and meant so much more. They are such hard workers, through the heat, etc., and have a very positive attitude. It doesn't get better than that!

Everyone looked highly professional in their hotel attire (especially the Bell Hops), but I would greatly recommend lighter clothing attire for them during the summer. It looks extremely HOT for them to be wearing throughout the Louisianan heat/humidity.
Other than that I did find hair in the bathroom, but we brought sanitary wipes and cleaned it up. It is still a very nice hotel and EXCELLENT staff an location.

On another note: The Registration staff that we dealt with seemed very anxious and were not nearly as friendly. The gentleman that handled our registration was very stressed out and arguing with people in front of the rest of the customers. He cannot hold his temper ver well, which is a necessity in his line of duty. I would recommend a staff meeting to encourage them to watch the way they handle themselves in public and behave more professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Leslie, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta on your recent New Orleans trip. We are pleased that you were impressed with the majority of our service team and found our location ideal. We are highly disappointed to learn that the check in process did not meet your expectations. Please know we will review our guest standards with the front desk team to ensure each and every guest receives the level of quality service that they deserve and should expect. Please come back to see us again at the Royal Sonesta Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago and loved our accommodations. We decided to stay here again and booked a deluxe king and paid a higher price for this accommodation. The room was below standard . No dresser or night stand The closet had shelves.. The room had a faint cigarette smell. We are non smokers. Housekeeping left our trash and used glasses The outside fixtures that could be seen from our window were encrusted with rust or debris.

We wrote to the hotel manager after we returned .He never replied but I did get an email after I sent back the survey that included another email . We were offered a complimentary room,, only if available, the next time we are in New Orleans, It is good for a year . We probably would not return in a year and would not want to stay in a room that they consider deluxe. They did not address our issues. We did not get what we paid for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleneHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
First and foremost, we are so sorry to read of your unsatisfactory experience during your recent stay. Our deluxe rooms encompass any room with a king bed or double beds that does not include a balcony. At this time, we do have smoking and non-smoking rooms and will be converting to a non-smoking hotel in the fall. Please know that we are in the planning process for a major hotel renovation in 2014, and we will gladly take your feedback about the lack of dresser into consideration. We apologize that our housekeeping service did not meet your expectations, and we will be address your observations with housekeeping to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. Your gift certificate is redeemable at any point during the upcoming year subject to availability, and we hope that you will take advantage of our offer to provide you with the royal treatment that all of our guests deserve and should receive during their stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,192 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,805 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing