We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Grace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived here on a Thursday after two long connecting flights and a Tom-Tom guided drive in from NOLA airport. Like arriving at an endless ongoing party - streets barricaded off, revelers strutting their stuff - gals in cowboy hats, boots and little else, corpulent guys gravel-voiced someway south of Nick Nolte. Hey, Nawlins man!

So something of a surprise to drop the car off in the subterranean garage of the Sonesta and rise up into the cool, air conditioned glam lobby. "Can I help you with your bags Sir?" You certainly can.

Our room overlooked the pool and patio area, filled with a different set of party animals. The rich, downing Mai Tais and Mint Juleps like there would never be another Mardi Gras.

And a very comfortable King Size bed there was. Slowish Wi-Fi, but probably because the entire hotel was online trying to find anywhere nearby with the kind of Jazz that Louis Armstrong made famous. Fat chance. Bourbon Street is filled with scummy bars playing awful 4th rate Rolling Stones rehashes by semi pro bands and even worse, karaoke. Gone are the piano bars where you might find Dr. John or Fats Domino or Harry Connick Jr, vamping on a night off. But all is not lost. Wander off towards Jackson Square and your ears will guide you to a bunch of kids playing the music this city made famous - trumpet, tuba, trombone and snare drums. Fabulous and worth every dollar you mostly certainly will give them. And outside the Cafe du Monde - essential for beignets and coffee - I heard a wiry man in his late forties singing his soul out. Wade In The Water and Amazing Grace, testament to his childhood in Baptist churches. Such courage, armed with nothing but this voice that hit every note heart-stoppingly bang on. It was like Sam Cooke was back and had never been near that damn motel.

And in the midst of all this, the Sonesta is your sanctuary.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool, class. Overlooking Bourbon Street, trash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your very eloquent review. We are so pleased that you found sanctuary from the commotion of the streets at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. When searching for jazz music in the French Quarter you should not have to look further than Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse in the lobby of our hotel. Their nightly jazz performances are unmatched on Bourbon Street. Should your future travels bring you back to New Orleans, we would love to have you return to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,815 - 2,821 of 4,427 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at the royal sonesta, and there's a reason I keep coming back. The hotel and staff are exceptional. They offer great packages and the location is perfect. Well maintained, beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for returning to the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for taking the time to share this feedback. We are delighted that our staff and our hotel continue to provide you with excellent service and value. We look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you want to be in the heart of New Orleans Bourbon Street, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is lovely and very clean. The staff is friendly. The room was very comfortable. It's within walking distance to many sights and is right on Bourbon Street. I have stayed their twice and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are always excited to welcome back repeat guests and we really appreciate your returning to the Royal Sonesta Hotel. Thank you for your kind review of our staff and hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

You can't beat the location of the Royal Sonesta in New Orleans' French Quarter. Located on the upper end of Bourbon Street it's not in the loudest section of the Quarter, so it's a good location for small conferences as well as families that might have worries about some aspects of Bourbon Street. We were there for three nights and never had to take our car out of the parking lot - everything is an easy walk from the hotel and the hotel's pool is a nice refresher after any of the many walking tours New Orleans has to offer. Free wi-fi is a nice benefit however the $30 a night for parking is a bit high if you are NOT taking your car in and out frequently.

The Concierge service is top notch - they know all of the attractions as well as the restaurants and can secure you reservations (most of the time) at eateries from fine dining to excellent local creole dining that is family-friendly where foodies can enjoy a very good meal in shorts and casual dress.

If you don't get a King the beds can be a bit on the small side, but the service and staff are excellent. The Royal Sonesta should always be considered when visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: We are a family of three and we had a King bed with a roll-away and it was perfect. Families of four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Jeffrey, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and we look forward to sharing your comments with our team, particularly the concierge. Please know that we review our parking rates twice annually to ensure that they are competitive with garages in the area and will be conducting our next review soon. Thank you for sharing your comments and recommending our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you stay here you know why, the location in the French Quarter. The hotel public spaces and restaurants are decorated ornately and kept clean and clutter free. This helps during high volume times and festivals. The hotel provides security to help keep some of the lower aspects from Bourbon Street out.

The only issue comes when you get to the room. For the price you would expect a nice modern room, especially after all the renovations occurring at other places in and around New Orleans. While the room is not horrible, there is nothing to rave about, but more is expected for the price. The bathrooms seem industrial with outdated showers and rough looking ceilings. The decor and feel of the room is old and the A/C blows smoke smelling air into non-smoking rooms. The TV is new and the beds are nice.

The one aspect that may cause the most disturbance for guests is the noise. This does not predominately come from Bourbon Street as one might expect. Yes the rooms facing Bourbon Street have the sights and sounds seep in, but this becomes unnoticeable with a long stay. The guests walking, running, or stumbling down the internal hallways becomes the main focus at 3am. The rooms for whatever reason have little sound proofing for the Bachelor parties that are present and the main entrance doors to the rooms stop about an inch and a half from the floor.

The Royal Sonesta however has some great deals during the off-season and the previous mentioned issues are not a deal breaker for me. Check out their patios and the pool for a nice break from the activities of the Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Kurt, thank you for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your recent visit to New Orleans and for sharing this feedback. We are pleased that you found the hotel safe and convenient for your sight-seeing. We are so sorry to read that your guest room did not meet your expectations and how the air conditioning in your room was not functioning properly. Please know that our hotel will be undergoing a major renovation in 2014 and we will consider your observations while planning the renovation. We hope that you will revisit the Royal Sonesta Hotel in the near future to experience our new guest rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent one night at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We found the hotel itself to be very nice, the staff friendly, and our room very comfortable. I had read reviews before staying about the noise level with the hotel's location. We were on the top floor and the noise wasn't too bad but we could definitely hear it late into the night. I am sure that would be worse on lower floors closer to street level. The biggest drawback of the hotel for me was the location. If you are going to New Orleans for some Bourbon Street fun, it would be great. However, for a more family oriented trip, having to walk through all of that to get to the hotel would not be ideal. Overall, a nice hotel though.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New Orleans. We are delighted that you found our staff friendly and your accommodations to be comfortable, yet we are disappointed that you found the location undesirable. We hope that you will consider one of our other Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States, Egypt and South and Central America on a future vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street for my first New Orleans experience. In this regard the hotel and it's location are excellent. You can step right out into the Bourbon Street after-dark experience and easily make your way home. It was also very convenient for the business conference that we were in town to visit. The convention center was just a short (hot) walk and so was the waterfront.

The hotel itself was charming and nicely appointed. The room I had was on the 5th floor street-side and was on the small side but clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked great, too. If you want the full Bourbon Street experience then stay on the 2nd or 3rd floors with a balcony!

Staff was great.

Room Tip: Bourbon street-side 2nd or 3rd floor for party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We appreciate you sharing this feedback of your stay at our hotel for a recent conference you attended at the nearby convention center. It’s a pleasure knowing that our hotel provided you the opportunity to experience the exciting nightlife in the French Quarter for the first time, and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,995 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,801 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,500 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,651 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $200 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing