We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This New Orleans boutique hotel has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Sonesta! The people running the valet were quick, efficient and super nice. We stayed in a room with a balcony facing the street. It can be quite loud even after we came back to room at 3AM but the amazing beds and super soft pillows made up for it. It's New Orleans there is always a party going on! :) The pillows were so great we actually ordered some when we got home. The room got super cold so no issues with the thermostat. You can walk downstairs and listen to live jazz in a dimly lit lounge then walk over to the hotels Le Booze and people watch everyone walking down Bourbon. Le Booze has always been our favorite place to start off the night with a cigar and a few drinks. The bartenders have been there for years and always remember us when we come back each time from out of town. My favorite restaurant in New Orleans is the Royal Sonesta's Revolution. You have 3 people waiting on you, the food is INCREDIBLE and the wine list is shown to you on an iPad. The "pig out" board is a must for appetizer with amazing sauces -- this serves 2-3 people. Best steak I've had in a long time topped with foi gras butter. Brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes to top it off. Incredible dinner. Our stay here made for great memories! Perfect location! Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: The balconies are shared. Didn't bother us but if you want a quiet more private location don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisandlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We’re always excited to welcome guests back to the Royal Sonesta! It’s a pleasure knowing how our friendly staff manages to meet your expectations each time you visit. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback on your memorable experience and we can’t wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,776 - 2,782 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here a total of six times this is the only hotel we will stay at when we visit New Orleans. Very nice hotel the minute you walk inside the lobby is beautiful and also the rooms. The staff is very friendly we arrive room was ready took our bags we walking toward French market give us call room when room was ready. Only dislike every night we went same security guard kept asking for room key when we come back . We understand they are there for protection of guest but if they see us leaving going out every night and returning

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJAYNFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to know that our staff makes you feel welcome and secure each time you return to see us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at night with security when you return to the hotel, but as you said, it is done to ensure guest safety. We appreciate your business and continued loyalty and look forward to your seventh visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed club level for our anniversary trip and found the hotel to be PERFECT for a romantic visit to New Orleans. We were on the R Club level and our room was impeccably decorated and maintained and was very quiet. We were steps away from everything. The in-house restaurant, R'evolution, was one of our best meals of the trip.

Parking is expensive - but it's the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneyfan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

First and foremost, congratulations on your recent anniversary! We are honored that you chose to stay at the Royal Sonesta for this special occasion and we are glad that you found our hotel to be in such a convenient location. Thank you for your feedback and the compliments about your accommodations on our R Club concierge level. Please come back to see us next time you’re visiting New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend. It is right in the center of the French Quarter but provides a rest from the chaos. I personally am not a fan of the quarter (its a bit of history meets spring break) but I write this review for folks who believe they want to be on Bourbon Street. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were fine. The jazz club was great. The staff really works hard to please. Downsides: The bathrooms were quite tired (some mold, needed to be recaulked). The pool is dismal. While this is not a luxury hotel, if you want to be able to walk on and off of Bourbon street 24/7, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxNomadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are happy to read that you found the bed in your guest room comfortable and that you enjoyed the live jazz at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse. However, we are disappointed to read that you were not pleased with the bathroom in your guest room nor the swimming pool area. We will be working with our engineering and housekeeping departments to remediate the maintenance and issues that you described. Should you find yourself in New Orleans in the future, we hope that you would consider staying at the Royal Sonesta once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you are interested in being "in the heart of the action" in the French Quarter, the Royal Sonesta is a great place to stay. I have stayed there many times and have always had a pleasant experience. They have all sorts of accomodations from a "rowdy" balcony room, to the quieter rooms like the one I stayed in this time...on the back of the hotel where the wing of rooms has it's own balcony over a small quiet courtyard. You don't even have to leave the hotel to get great food: from the Desire Oysterbar to LeBooze( the bar that opens onto Bourbon street) to the wonderfully elegant restaurant R'evolution...it's all in the hotel. You don't have to leave the Sonesta to hear great Jazz, either, since Irvin Mayfield's club is off the Lobby. But since you came to experience NOLA, The Royal Sonesta is close to all the fun!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Geri, reading reviews like yours make our day! We are so excited to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta. We pride ourselves on creating an inclusive guest experience and are excited that you were able to have a complete authentic New Orleans experience all within our doors. Please come back soon for another fun-filled getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed many places in New Orleans and by far this was our best experience! The location can't be beat and the hotel was beautiful. The restaurants in the hotel were amazing and the Jazz bar was Great! Royal treatment by the staff and royal amenities top it all off.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toriadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about our amazing staff and luxurious amenities at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are thrilled that our dedicated team managed to provide you with the best experience you have ever had at a New Orleans hotel. Please tell all your friends about your stay with us and visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for our 17th wedding anniversary. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. It is hard to believe that this hotel is right on Bourbon Street. The rooms are very large and extremely clean. We highly recommend buying into the R Club and getting to stay on the 7th floor with your own personal concierge. When we initially checked in we had a view of the rooftops and asked to be moved to a room with a better view. They did not have another room available until 7:00 that night. We went to the reception and our room wasn't quite ready when the reception was over, but they made up for us having to wait. Champagne arrived soon after we got into our room and we were now looking over the beautiful pool and courtyard. Everyone here is more than accommodating. I would strongly suggest buying into the R Club for the breakfast and reception in the evening. The Jazz club was fun and we did not get a chance to check out the Revolution Restaurant. Desire is good as long as you dont stray from the oysters. If you order anything else it is less than average and the staff is not near as friendly as the remainder of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the R Club level and stay on the 7th floor, with breakfast and evening reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Loretta, congratulations to you and your spouse for 17 years of marriage! We are honored that you choses to celebrate such a special occasion with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed the luxuries in our R Club concierge level. We appreciate your compliments about our dedicated staff within the hotel and we are sorry to read that you found some servers in Desire to be anything less than friendly and hospitable. Thanks again for your feedback and we would be honored to welcome you back for the next opportunity you have to visit New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,371 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $177 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing