We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Oasis in the Midst of Crazy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fun Oasis in the Midst of Crazy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my fourth time down to New Orleans. I chose the Royal Sonesta due to Tripdavisor reviews, location and I really wanted that "New Orleans" experience over a more "mainstream" hotel. Got a good price ($199 with a $25 per day credit we used for parking) for a nice balcony room overlooking the courtyard.

We requested a non-smoking king room (I think the non smoking is hard to come by) and a courtyard balcony away from the Bourbon Street noise. We called a few days before arrival to reconfirm. When we arrived, they had us in a smoking room, but quickly rectified it. Our second room was well located, fourth floor overlooking the courtyard and away from the pool. I would guess this to be the quietest area, and we really enjoyed it.

The room itself is good sized, with a very comfortable bed, nice linens and robes to use. The bathroom is standard with a nice bowed out shower curtain and good bath products. Turndown service is nice, and includes two chocolates. The toilets are very loud, not only your own, but your neighbors. Also, during the weekend especially there are lots of rowdy guests, bachelor parties, slamming doors, screaming well into the wee hours, but hey, it's New Orleans.

The pool area is fine, but it's almost impossible to get a lounge chair on weekends. We didn't care, we just sat around the edge of the pool. Friday and especially Saturday the pool was rowdy, filled with mostly mid 20-ish tattooed boys getting drunk, doing cannon balls and generally being slightly to very obnoxious. Again, didn't care as it's New Orleans. BUT, Sunday by the pool was so nice, all the partiers were gone, we got chairs, it was calm and a whole different vibe.

Staff at the hotel extremely friendly and welcoming, especially the bartenders at the pool bar.

It is really an oasis in the middle of crazy. The lobby is so beautiful, with fresh flowers and no "Bourbon Street" smell, it feels so welcoming.

Small cons: The carpet in our room was dirty and stained, it needs a good carpet cleaning or really a replacement. Also, how do you get maids to take dirty glasses that we used for soda and wine over the weekend? They always just left them in our room.

Really enjoyed our stay, this is now our first choice in New Orleans and we will be back. I will probably stay during the week next time so it's a little less crazy.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room overlooking the courtyard away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelvinaSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal Sonesta on your most recent visit to New Orleans and for your detailed comments. We are happy that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed your guest room and our lobby. Please know that in the coming year we are planning renovations which will replace carpeting. In addition, we are going to address the Saturday pool observation with our security department. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    1,012
    301
    97
    87
See reviews for
429
1,508
103
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Believe the reviews. This place is that good and then some. My wife an I stayed here June 6-10th for her 50th birthday. What a beautiful hotel. The service from the doorman, to the front-desk, to the bell-hops, and the R-club staff (and manager Darren?) was outstanding. We are glad we did the R-club which includes a nice breakfast buffet as well as happy hour (for 2 hours). We had quite the deal from Living Social that included coupons for the restaurants and jazz club. The pool was a great feature and something we took advantage of late in the afternoon after our adventures. The Desire Oyster Bar was a favorite of ours (2 nights). Try the grilled oysters and the crawfish Etouffe (sp?). The jazz club had some great talent. After spending the evening on Frenchman Street (quite good; walking distance), we came back and decided the Brass-aholics were the best act we had seen that entire night. The location is great -- we walked everywhere except for street car ride out to Commander's Palace (worth the ride). Will return with friends in tow (hopefully we get the great deal from Living Social again).

Room Tip: R-club -- away from the noise of Bourbon; breakfast and happy hour included plus concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyondexit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We’re honored that you chose the Royal Sonesta for your wife’s 50th birthday celebration, and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay on our 7th floor concierge level. It’s a pleasure to know how our hospitable team was able to make the occasion very memorable for you both. We can’t wait to see you and your friends next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Royal Sonesta is a grand hotel with a great location. Walk through the doors and you are in a world far removed from the Bourbon Street craziness. This was our third stay at the R.S. Each time we have chosen to upgrade to the R level, which we feel is definitely worth it! The rooms are nicely decorated--even had fresh roses in the bathroom! The R level is on the 7th floor of the hotel. The added amenities include a daily hot breakfast and an evening cocktail time (5-7) which includes drinks and appetizers, both of which are served in the R level lounge. The hotel has a great pool and several restaurants as well as Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse. (Again, a venue far removed from what lies just outside). Mayfield's offers some of the best live entertainment nightly in a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no food service (even room service) after midnight -- even on weekends--In New Orl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaritalady/pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We’re always excited to read reviews from frequent guests like you! Thank you for the fantastic comments about the Royal Sonesta and the RClub. We are so pleased that you enjoy each and every stay with us and that you continue to return time after time. We can’t wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Okay...I took my friend to New Orleans for the first time. I love this city and she loved it equally. This hotel is great but would have gotten an "excellent" rating if not for the lack of knowledge on the part of the night staff. Called saturday night to ask what time breakfast was served as it was included in our rate "I don't know" was the response call back in the morning. We called back at 7am and was told noon. As a precaution we called back at 10am and was told 11am...we hurried to dress and with 8 mins to spare got to breakfast. The next item was how old and worn the towels in our room was ....seriously at $300 per night? In addition, the rooms are a bit on the small side and the bathroom even smaller.

Get it together...I would love to stay at your hotel again but not before you assure me you will address these issues.

Now at Desire restaurant you have the sweetest lady named Ruthie working, take good care of her she is an absolute treasure. My friend and I just adored her.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Versailles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the location, right on Bourbon Street and within walking distance of a plethora of great food choices. Service at hotel was great, room was clean, no issues using wi-fi, and the jazz bar had great music (especially Sunday nights). One downside is if you're wanting to get some exercise in, the fitness center is small.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TXbierfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are grateful for your kind comments and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Royal Sonesta. We have completed some renovations in the hotel and are looking to make some changes to our fitness center in our next round in 2014. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the first moment entering the lobby, our stay was quiet, clean, relaxing, informative and FUN. Perfect spot on Bourbon St. Room was facing inside courtyard...quiet, even @ night. Easy walking for the French Quarter attractions. Not sure about parking garage, we flew in and took a taxi (good advice from Milton). Love, love, loved it!!

Room Tip: For quiet @ night, inside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Donna, we really appreciate this feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s a delight to read about the fun you had at the Royal Sonesta! We’re also looking forward to sharing your comments with Milton, our concierge. Please come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacios, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our extended weekend in New Orleans! We must return soon. We used a LivingSocial Coupon and had many extra coupons attached with the package. This saved us a ton of money. The hotel sparkled.

Room Tip: We had no problem sleeping. We were out past 2am each night with lots of rum in us to help us. Nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKNiccolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your long weekend here at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and that you were able to take advantage of a great Living Social deal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,750 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,021 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,978 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing