We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Marais(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prince Conti Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grenoble House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Orleans(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,589)
Filter reviews
4,589 results
Traveler rating
2,670
1,258
395
141
125
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,670
1,258
395
141
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingclub levelthird floormardi grasstreet noisethe location is perfectjackson square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,068 - 3,073 of 4,589 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at the Royal Sonesta. On the inside, you can tell this is an older facility, but everything is spotless and well maintained. The service is excellent as is the food, but it's the location that makes this place special. It's like an oasis in the middle of Bourbon street.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank GABJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Everyone was very fast and good with all the services provided, I have no complaints at all and will be staying here again, I have stayed all over the French quarters and this has been the best stay yet and I travel to New Orleans 3-5 times a year, couldn't ask for better service and friendly people, I booked with Living Social and received a wonderful price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandyhammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the check in process, (which was expertly handled by Ja'Kel at the front desk) to the bellman that handled are bags, the hotel proved to be the best hotel that I have stayed anywhere!
The Royal Sonesta is immaculately clean. What makes this establishment stand out is the "little extras" that they provide. We all see the bottles of water exorbinately priced for consumption in your room...well, this hotel provides bottled water free of charge directly to your room (without even asking!). Additionally, housekeeping provides a fresh red rose in your room. Finally, complimentary champagne!
The pillows provided in the room are so comfortable, I purchased one to take home with me. This hotel is competitively priced and located right on Bourbon St.
I cannot wait to go back to visit!

Room Tip: Request view of the pool not Bourbon st.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesmom102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

this hotel is well-located. and it's huge (though a bit dated). and the staff attentive. however, not sure i got my bang for the bucks. first of all, the room was very small. and, i requested a quiet room. it was fine until 6:00 the first morning (stayed 4 nights) when i woke to constant voices in the hallway. turns out we were close to the housekeeping closet. tried to get a room change and was offered one - on the smoking floor. what hotel allows smoking anymore? also, the a/c would not stay on and i got hot ... every night. and i am the person who always requests an extra blanket! i solved the noise issue by downloading a white noise app. it worked wonders! and really, you can't beat the royal sonesta's location in the french quarter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fangeldunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is feedback like yours that provide us with ways to improve the experiences of all of our guests. We are reviewing standards with our housekeeping staff to prevent the issues that you encountered in the morning from happening in the future. We will also work with our engineering staff to pinpoint why your A/C did not operate continuously throughout the night. We strive to provide all of our guests with a pleasant experience and it’s evident that we fell short of that during your stay. We hope that we can make this up to you during a future stay here at the Royal Sonesta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband gave me a wonderful Mother's Day weekend in New Orleans. The Revolution restaurant was excellent. We like to stay on the 7th floor (Club R). You are totally pampered. The concierge, Darrin, is very professional. He cares that your stay will be memorable. We have stayed here many times before and always come back. We love it so much that we had our daughter's wedding and reception there two years ago. The service is impeccable.

Room Tip: Stay on7th floor . It is the quietest. Food is great, drinks are great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miminmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are so honored that you chose to celebrate your Mother’s Day with us at the Royal Sonesta and we’re ecstatic that you keep coming back to see us! Thank you also for your kind words about Darin. We look forward to sharing them with him and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews