We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lagniappe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lagniappe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lagniappe - a little something extra. This is what I've always received at the Royal Sonesta. It is an oasis of elegance and sanity in the belly of the madness of the French Quarter. The staff, the rooms, the food, the entertainment are beyond reproach. A must as a basis for an amazing experience in New Orleans. Special props to Ashley in reservations. When I recently called for reservations and told her I wanted to celebrate my 60th birthday at the hotel, she went way above and beyond to put together a package that will really make it special. This hotel never fails to dazzle me!

Room Tip: A room in the R Club is an experience in serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwatmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,210
    1,096
    325
    111
    95
See reviews for
487
1,685
113
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. You will not be disappointed. The hotel is clean and well throughout. You even get a fresh red rose in the bathroom. The beds are very comfortable. Parking is in an underground parking garage. Use the valet service for parking. The most remarkable part of our experience is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. This is a real five star experience. The concierge, Jim, was so helpful in directing us to excellent restaurants for both lunch and dinner. He will help you get reservations or tell you where to go that you don't need reservations. He directed us to several restaurants where the locals go and we had excellent service and food.

Room Tip: We had a nice room overlooking the pool. It is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street is a real oasis in the French Quarter. Our room overlooking the Courtyard was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and my wife enjoyed the makeup mirror provided. Breakfast served in the Oyster Bar was quick and delicious. In fact the beignets were better than the ones at Cafe Du Monde. Entertainment at the Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse was excellent. No cover or drink mininum, reasonably priced and friendly, quick service. I can recommend and would stay at the Royal Sonesta whdn we return to the French Quarter in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Courtyard are quieter. Overlooking the street are certainly more exciting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asheville-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Madison, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our room was not ready when we arrived so we had our bags held and went to Desire for lunch and walked around a bit. When we checked on the room, it still wasn't ready. Virgil, one of the bell staff, took us around the hotel including the pool and the executive level suite/balcony. He was very friendly and an asset to the hotel. Once our room was ready, we found we had a door that would not close all the way, a toilet that ran constantly and a TV that would not work! They sent up maintenance (Ben) and he fixed everything quickly. Other than that, the room was great. The pool area is beautiful and a great place to hang out. They have a poolside bar, also. The Irvin Mayfield Playhouse in the hotel had wonderful music each night. We loved all the acts we had seen. Everyone at the hotel was very hospitable and friendly. Would definitely choose to stay here again. We had a balcony room on Conti, and the noise wasn't too bad at all. Walking down the halls past the rooms with balconies facing Bourbon was so loud. Glad we didn't go for the balcony rooms directly on Bourbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AT5064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The arrival by car was a bit confusing, but once we figured out the Valet parking system, all went smoothly from there.

A very nice hotel stay. Wonderful, helpful staff and good location. A nice respite from the crush of Bourbon Street.

The room was comfortable and had been recently refurbished. Nice amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I go to New Orleans once every few years. We have stayed in the Central Business District on occasion but wanted to be near the action so now we stay on Bourbon Street. Our favorite hotel on Bourbon just changed ownership and we couldn't book a room early enough to be sure we had one for the French Quarter Festival 2013 so we picked the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon based on reviews. It's a nice hotel but overrated for the price. We had a balcony room which we knew would be noisy but there are a couple of clubs across the street that stayed open until 4:30 or 5:00 in the a.m. It was louder in the room than the balcony rooms we have stayed in at the other Bourbon St. hotel. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job of keeping our room clean and well supplied. I would give housekeeping here five stars. The only issue I had was you really had to work the toilet handle to flush the toilet. Check in and check out were quick. The lobby is beautiful but next time we are heading back to our other Bourbon St haunt.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are across from clubs so be prepared to stay up all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeno58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the French Quarter Festival at Royal Sonesta. Our room overlooked Bourbon street but without a balcony. It was a bit airless for us since the window did not open and next time we will book a pool/balcony room. The hotel had all the amenities we could ask for. After a hard day in the Quarter we relaxed at the pool bar where everything was relaxed and casual. All the staff were friendly and accomodating, The breakfasts at Desire were delicious and the music in the bar FABULOUS!!!. We were to late to get a reservation at Revolution but it looked so good we will book ahead next year. The Sonesta is like us... aging a bit but still great! We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool area with French doors allow you to be part of a happy scene without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,834 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,082 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing