We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“unexpected delite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Summer At Sonesta
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unexpected delite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

upgraded to the "R" club on the 7th floor. Now we are spoiled forever!!
This is the place and it is right on Bourbon street next to all the action.
The REVOLUTION restaurant was costly but well worth the experience. The turtle soup was to die for.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and ask for the "R" club rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kubotaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    985
    295
    97
    85
See reviews for
414
1,468
102
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been to New Orleans many times, mainly for business including customer entertaining and conferences. All this time, I never actually stayed inside the French Quarter, until now. Instead of staying at the event "host" hotel, we (10 of us with wives) changed things up this time and stayed at the Royal Sonesta. Using TA reviews and some personal friend's advice, we used this as our home base while we attended the conference and held 3 different evening events with 100+ customers each night.

This is the perfect location. If you plan on spending any time at all in the FQ, this is where you need to stay. The hotel is gorgeous. Our original room faced the side of a building and had the windows with "safety glass". So we upgraded to a balcony room that faces into the courtyard. You should do the same. Otherwise, you might be up all night with the festivities on Bourbon Street. Unless you are the ones joining the festivities and then it won't matter.

Bar and live music was the best. Great restaurant (only had breakfast there) and coffee shop.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beautiful interior, attentive staff and nice accommodations. Jazz Bar adds a nice touch. Great location. The front door opens right onto the party atmosphere of Bourbon Street. Leave out the side door to walk 1/2 a block to the sophistication of Royal Street and it's shops. The main attractions of the French Quarter are walkable from this lovely hotel: Jackson Square, the Miss. River, Cafe DuMonde, and Central Grocery.

Room Tip: Recommend getting the interior rooms that are quieter than those facing Bourbon Street where the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneHappyFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I arrived with 5 girlfriends for the infamous "Girl's Weekend" in New Orleans on a Saturday morning. We tried checking in but were too early for our rooms, and the front desk girl just could's get her act together about understanding who was in which room, what to do with our bags, etc. The manager came over, took her to the back, and then she emerged knowing what to do and with five $20 coupons for their restaurant. Very nice!!

The accomodations were lovely, very professional employees (after the first experience), and the one of the best beds I have every slept in. It was a classic New Orleans experience right in the heart of it all. The concierge led us to a great plantation tour that we would have otherwise overlooked, and even lent us umbrellas for our less than perfect weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELINDA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were on a much needed long weekend away to recharge (2/22-2/25) I really wanted to like this place, but the one after another bad experiences made this very frustrating.

Positives were that it was convenient being right on Bourbon Street. The lobby was pretty. When we visited the lounge two evenings the jazz music was very good. The bellmen were courteous and very helpful.

My husband arrived the night before I did and arranged for me to be on the room so I could get a key. The young man behind the desk seemed to be purposely ignoring me waiting on several people who walked up after I'd been standing "in line"; it took another guest saying I had been waiting since before she arrived for the young man to roll his eyes as he asked if he could help. I gave him my husband’s name and asked to get a key to the room. I was told I was not on the room so until I was I could not get a key. I asked to speak to a manager and he rolled his eyes and said "sure, but it's not going to help". The manager on duty did get things straightened out - after a call from my husband - but was not friendly.

I walked in and was met with very strong cigarette type smoke smell. I mentioned it at the desk but was told there was nothing they could do about it. I then tried to get a cocktail in the hotel lounge and after listening to the bartender argue with a guest who was trying to order a nice bottle of wine - bartender insisted this particular wine was only available by the bottle --- which is what the guest clearly ordered. Ten minutes of wait she looked may way and said "you gonna order something", I opted to support another business.

Housekeeping was VERY late and when we asked if they could get to our room (3 pm) so we could come back to get ready to go out they said yes, yet 40 minutes later they had not yet begun cleaning. They did not replenish supplies.

Two of the doormen were outstanding. When we spoke of some of the issues one insisted this was not how this hotel does things, yet when we tried to speak to a manager were told one was not available.

Sadly, disappointed but grateful the rest of our experiences in NOLA were positive.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room - one that faces the pool - not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Its my third stay at the Sonesta. I have stayed at at least 5 other hotels in New Orleans, and for my money it is the most beautiful, comfortable, convenient hotel in NOLA. The staff is ver efficient and courteous. Ashley checked me, helped me extend my stay, and gave me know issues when I had to cut my stay short at the last minute. Nicole also assisted me. I will only stay at the Royal Sonesta when in NOLA.

Room Tip: If you dont mind some Bourbon Street noise the side street balcony rooms are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Amant, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Every staff employee goes out of their way to make your your stay memorable. Beautiful hotel, clean and well worth the money. We had a balcony room on a side road and was worried that the noise outside would keep us awake.... Even though ere was a lot of renovations going on (we traveled the weekend before Super Bowl), we slept like babies.

This hotel offers for approximate $25 additional cost the concierge level. Upon checking in, they offered it to us. We definitely received our monies worth. Ere was a welcome reception with appetizers and drink if choice and in the mornings they offer a breakfast. Had we went out and paid for what we consumed (food and alcohol)' we would have spent well over $100. They food we excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,674 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,836 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,749 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing