We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST concierge ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everyone else has covered what a great hotel this is. The concierge, Jim, is fantastic. Just tell him what type of jazz you enjoy and he will send you to the right place. The restaurants he made reservations for were exactly what we wanted. We asked his opinion every day and he always made time for each person. He is from NOLA, so he is an expert on his city. Can't wait to go back to the Royal Sonesta again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on the side streets are also noisy with the drunks feeling the need to yell all the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carmac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We appreciate your taking the time to share how our team managed to exceed your expectations, specifically how our concierge Jim personalized all your daily activities. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal Sonesta Hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,052 - 3,058 of 4,438 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I came to celebrate Mardi Gras in New Orleans and chose the Royal Sonesta as our hotel. We had a very simple problem with our room on check-in and the hotel manager, Katherine, immediately came to our rescue! She moved us into a great room and recognized us by name every time she saw us coming or going. She helped us with a package that was shipped to our room and made an incredible effort, even in the midst of crazy Fat Tuesday crowds and traffic in and out of the hotel, to make our stay perfect.

The hotel is in an amazing part of town, right on Bourbon Street and is an absolute jewel. The architecture and rooms are stunning and are just so "New Orleans"! If you come, you have to try out Desire. Best food and people-watching in the city!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Bmkennedy, reading your review really made our day and we are looking forward to sharing it with our team! Thank you for staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel this Mardi Gras and taking the time to share how Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar and our management team, specifically our Director of Guest Relations Katherine Jolivette, managed to exceed your expectations! Please come back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I traveled with my finace and a fairly large group and we were NOT disappointed! We traveled during Mardi Gras and had such a great time the staff was amazing us in directing us to the right places. We stayed on the 7th floor and had a breakfast that was served to us with a large breakfast selection, and they had a wonderful cocktail hour everyday with the most amazing staff, Darin and Carl were so very friendly and pleasant. The general manager Al Groos was very thoughtful and always helpful, when we mentioned to him that we needed a taxi to the airport and were leaving fat tuesday he had one called and said they'd be waiting at noon. Overall, this hotel, thier wonderful jacuzzi bathtub, and AMAZING staff was perfect, we will definetly return!!! THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!!

Room Tip: The 7th floor was amazing and had a great happy hour everyday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillT642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Jill, thank you for your gracious Mardi Gras review! We appreciate you recognizing how our team at the Royal Sonesta Hotel successfully manages to give each guest the highest quality service, especially in the midst of special events. Your compliments will certainly be passed on to Darin, Carl and Mr. Groos. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We love New Orleans and have stayed at the Royal Sonesta many times. To this day to front doorman knows are names and greets us each time we come and go. The rooms are small but luxurious and include many amnenties. The staff treat us like royalty and pamper us to no end. The restuarant, Benines,(can't spell it right) is top notch. The Friday buffet is all you can eat and has the best desserts we have ever eaten. Room service is fast, efficient, and superior to none. We love the Royal Sonesta and try to stay there as often as we can.
If you want a special place to stay for you and a loved one to have a great time, choose this hotel. One note of help-ask for a quiet room or you will be kept up by all the partying on Bourbon street. Love this place and give it a TEN star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The suites on Bourbon Street are beautiful if you want to party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Nitingal, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We are so pleased to read that our friendly doorman and efficient, delicious room service stood out to you most during your royal stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. Thank you for your feedback and high rating. Please remember to come back next time you’re in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Big shout out to Barbara Mays at the Royal Sonesta in New Orleans! She is wonderful! Such a kind heart and a huge help! Customer Service at the Royal Sonesta is wonderful here and I would recommend staying here for sure! Clean hotel, friendly people, great location!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have visited New Orleans countless times and stayed in many hotels in and near the French Quarter, but this was my first time at the Royal Sonesta. Despite arriving the morning after the Super Bowl, my deluxe king room was spotless and ready for my early arrival. The staff was all consistently friendly, knowledgeable, courteous, and helpful. Example: on my last day there the main lobby ladies room was temporarily closed for repairs. A maintenance man personally escorted me to the closest ballroom restroom and apologized profusely for the inconvenience. Another example: on my first day the housekeeper clearly noticed that I had a cold and was blowing my nose a lot. I returned to my room to find that she had placed extra boxes of tissues in the bathroom, on the desk, and by my bed.

The only warning I would give is that the main entrance is on Bourbon Street-with all that entails. Several seedy Hustler and strip clubs are nearby. Travelers with children may wish to stay elsewhere.

I highly recommend this hotel and would welcome the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueDevil94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am a local and booked a room on the Concierge Floor for me and my 16 year old niece and her friend who were visiting from California. Although the room was small, we did enjoy the jacuzzi and wi-fi. The rooms were always clean and the staff very helpful.

One of the beds was not comfortable, although management contacted me after my stay to apologize and assure me that the beds were new and that it was probably the box springs that were bad. Whatever. I've stayed in countless hotels all over the world and at my age, know a bad bed when I sleep in one. I guess at over $300/night, I expected a quality bed, although the duvet, linen and pillows were almost equal to what I have at home.

I have found in my travels that by paying a little extra for the RClub room, I actually save money because breakfast and cocktail hour appetizers are always included on a concierge floor. The wine and liquor at the Sonesta was definitely not top shelf but it was passable. Being from New Orleans, I'm somewhat of a snob about food but was pleasantly surprised that the food was very good.

My main complaint, especially having two 16 year olds with me, was that the pool closed too early. I was told that it closed early because the noise would disturb guests with a pool-side balcony but it make little sense to close the pool at dusk(!) in August, no less. A reasonable hour, such as 9PM should be the cutoff.

In summary, the Sonesta is all about location, location, location but the concierge floor was definitely a plus. I would warn tourists to stay off of Canal Street after dark (and Rampart Street for that matter) and to be careful in the first couple of hundred blocks of Bourbon, where for some reason thugs like to gather late at night. Other than that, if you stay aware and keep on the populated streets, your stay should be safe and fun.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EileenNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,999 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,811 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,346 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $206 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing