We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a great stay here. We had a King Bienville Balcony Room. The room was spacious & the bed was incredibly comfortable. Our view was fantastic from the shared balcony. The balcony is small, but still great. We love this area of the Quarter.

The staff was really fantastic and friendly. We ordered room service and it was timely. The food was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D'Shanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    988
    295
    97
    85
See reviews for
416
1,472
102
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are visiting NOLA during the summer this hotel is a great place to stay because of the pool. We had brunch at the hotel and it was delicious. The staff is very friendly too. I do not recommend sharing a room with more than one other person, unless you are sharing with your kiddos, because of the small room size.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent the long Christmas weekend at the Sonesta. Despite the heavy use and traffic that this hotel experiences, it is still clean and welcoming. You can expect the restaurants in the hotel to always serve great food by a courteous and attentive staff. Have a late breakfast in Desire at a streetside table and watch the passersby. The Royal Sonesta, while not cheap, is worth every penny. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We recommend staying at one of the higher floors well off the Bourbon Street side of the hotel if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinios
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent 4 nights at "The Royal Sonesta" for our 25th anniversary. The holiday decorations were beautiful, our room was clean and comfortable. walking distance to everything. They are really working on streets and sidewalks. Getting ready for Super bowl/mardi gras. It didn't bother us. We also were lucky to see/hear Irvin Mayfield at the Jazz playhouse!!! What a treat !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkj965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great hotel right in the heart of the French Quarter, the location is perfect. The hotel didn't seem very impressive from the outside (much of Bourbon Street doesn't look nice or clean), however one step the front door you see it is an amazing place. The hotel has a great bar and very good food. My room was average size for a hotel in an old building, but very comfortable and clean. The bed and linens were very nice. If you are looking for a great hotel in the French Quarter I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Perfect area to see New Orleans' French Quarter which is also walking distance to the cathedral. Hotel is right along Bourbon St., suitable when strolling major sights of the French Quarter district. At night, this area switches to 'cabaret/burlesque' mode and with my 8 yr. old girl in tow, staying indoor is recommendable.
Parking is available to hotel guests for $36/night which I believe is worth paying due to limited parking spots downtown NOLA.
Beds were comfy, lush pillows, bathroom is remarkably clean.Fresh towels were provided on our 2nd day, although toiletries were not replenished. Huge flat screen TV, safe, ironing board were all available but fridge has to be requested...room is overall very decent for $129/day, so I will definitely come back!

Helpful?
1 Thank MeadowsValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location for tourists. The lobby and its surroundings are absolutely beautiful, especially during Christmas. The rooms are nice, there is some wear and tear, which is normal for a high volume hotel. We had a room overlooking Bourbon St. The only noise that was bothersome was traffic in the hallway, not on the street. Maid service came around really early, 9:30ish AM, which honestly may not be early in 'real life', but on vacation it's early. Service was wonderful, especially the bellman. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're into sightseeing, ask for a room overlooking Bourbon St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,683 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,849 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,774 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing