We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An Oasis of Class Among the Seediness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Class Among the Seediness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Let's face it. If you're over the age of 22, Bourbon Street is seedy. It may be fun, it may be wild, it may be the easiest place in the world to get hammered, but it is seedy. It is thus quite surprising to find the Royal Sonesta situated on this very street, and yet there it is, an island of class in a sea of debauchery.

The lobby is large and lovely, the staff was courteous and friendly and the room was quite nice. It wasn't overly large, but it was large enough. My particular room faced an inner courtyard, so it was completely immune to the noise of Bourbon street. However, I heard from other guests who had rooms facing Bourbon street that they could hear the noise.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the jazz bar right off the lobby. It played host to some excellent musicians and had a well stocked bar. It did attract an older crowd, so if that isn't your scene, there are plenty of other options down the street. It is Bourbon Steet after all.

Room Tip: Get one that doesn't face Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Metlz86, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback on our location, friendly team, and the entertainment in Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse. Please come back to see us next time you’re in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,105
    1,049
    313
    102
    91
See reviews for
462
1,595
107
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great pool, excellent location (except if you want to sleep in blissful quiet. It's right on Bourbon Street). We booked a balcony room and got just what we requested except you share most balconies with two or three other rooms. Bring earplugs or a sound machine because even if you are on the side street, the action is loud and goes on most of the night. Customer service at check-in/check-out was the weakest part of the experience. You would think that this aspect would require the best and most well-trained employees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Brett, we appreciate your taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention, as they provide us with the information necessary to evaluate our performance. We apologize for the level of service you received from members of our front desk during your stay. This is certainly not the normal manner in which we operate our Front Desk and we sincerely apologize. The Royal Sonesta strives to exceed guest expectations by providing the highest level of customer service possible. Brett, because we truly value your patronage, we hope that you consider revisiting us to experience the Royal Sonesta in the manner intended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I just spent the weekend at the Royal Sonesta. Our first impression as we entered the hotel lobby was wow! Beautiful Christmas decorations and trees in every direction. Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse right there where we watched the amazing Germaine Bazzle. Our room was a little on the small size but adequate for our stay. Centrally located allowed us to easily walk to the marketplace or anywhere else we wanted. If you wanted craziness it is right outside the hotel if you want quaint shops and restaurants go 1 block south to Royal. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Some reviewers have complained about the noise, we had a courtyard facing room and only heard the occasional person in the hallway. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms avoid the business of Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just enjoyed a long weekend at the Royal Sonesta. We had a courtyard room overlooking the pool which was great. I'm sure the rooms right on Bourbon Street would be loud, especially on a Fri or Sat night. Great location in the heart of everything French Quarter. My wife was able to get a coupon book at check in that had a lot of good deals we used. Look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will be quieter but if you like the action try to get a room on Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishmasterFoodmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Fl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After avoiding staying on Bourbon Street my entire life, I finally succumb to a "real" French Quarter experience. I could not have imagined such a great time. The Royal Sonesta provided only the best during our Thanksgiving stay. Quiet comfortable rooms on the R Club level. Daily breakfast and PJ's coffee and evening cocktails and hors d' oeuvres in the R Club lounge made for a great beginnings for our days and our evenings. Located within walking distance to EVERYTHING.
A special thanks to Dan and Cheri in the R Club for making our adult family Thanksgiving truly special.

Room Tip: R Club rooms are located on a dedicated floor (7) on the back of the property. Absolutely no noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillG8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Royal Sonesta is a haven of tranquillity in the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street and New Orleans! It felt much more like a 5* hotel rather than a 4*, it's very luxurious, the staff are wonderful, and the pool is lovely! The rooms are large and comfortable and perfect for returning to after a busy day in the city. You couldn't get a better location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is beautifully appointed and charming. The staff is wonderful. This place is on the main drag. If you want to be in the center of it all and don't mind not sleeping until 4 a.m., this place is for you!! I do believe there are rooms that don't oversee the main drag and I wish I had one of them. If so, my review would be slightly different. If pleasure is the reason you are here - go for it. If you want the craziness and the debauchery the French Quarter has to offer with 5 star accommodations - go for it! If you are there for business, look slightly further.

Room Tip: Know your appetite for being in the center of it all and your need for sleep. Communicate that in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,401 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing