We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“In the heart of the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“In the heart of the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was such a great find. Is it a huge hotel--oh yeah. It takes up a whole BLOCK in the French Quarter. But it still manages to keep a boutique feel with the lobby decor, the front desk and concierge service, the quaint period-decorated rooms and the outdoor pool and patio area. It was a nice touch having robes and slippers in the room.

Room Tip: My friend and I stayed here over part of the Halloween week, and we slept like babies! Remember to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    1,020
    303
    99
    90
See reviews for
441
1,527
104
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My little brother got married at the Royal Sonesta. It was my first trip to New Orleans & it didn't disappoint. The Royal Sonesta is right on Bourbon Street in the heart of all the action. It has a beautiful lobby/reception area & the rooms were very cozy & nice. Our room was small, but comfortable. Besides, who on Bourbon Street is there to sleep?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clintjames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel itself is perfectly situated and absolutely beautiful. BUT, beware of huge party groups of 'young folk' (I'm only 35!!) taking over the pool, partying in the hallways, etc. The rooms (Ambassador Suite--two bedrooms and living space) were perfect for our small birthday group, but the doors seemed to be paper-thin and we were constantly awoken by noisy partygoers in the hallways at night. Staff was friendly but incredibly incompetent. Started at check-in with nobody behind the counter aware of the other members of our party (names had been left--they finally found them handwritten on the back of some other paper). We were assured of early check-in due to our surprise birthday party plans, but not only were rooms not ready, previous tenants were still in them LOOOOOONG after checkout, waiting for a bellhop! Food that was ordered weeks in advance to be delivered was nowhere to be found, and staff seemed unaware of the order and even claimed they did not know the staff member whom we ordered through. Flowers and balloons that were to be delivered sat at the concierge desk as we tried to track them down through the off-site florist from the room because "Oh, we didn't know who they were for". Would have been nice if someone had ASKED the delivery person or simply checked the computer for the room number of the name ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CARD. Hallway was thick with smoke from someone smoking pot in one (more than one??) of the rooms one evening (on a non-smoking floor to boot), and front desk staff was nonplussed when informed. After insisting someone doing something about the stench, staff 'humored us' by finally sending up a security guard. One bright point was the floor manager for the housekeeping staff. She personally cleaned the rooms when we arrived so we would be ready for the surprise when the 'surprised' element of our party arrived.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool will be quieter, but if they open to the pool will be less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta for business for one week. Booked a standard room with the option to upgrade. At check in I was upgraded to a Club Room. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The room included slippers, robes, safe, refridgerator, and all the standard amenities. The club room gave me access to the club level which included a full breakfast and hors devours and cocktails n the evening. Maid service was efficient and my room cleaned impeccably. I did use the small fitness center which included all the standard equipment. A little hard to find, but it served the purpose. Dinner in Desire Bistro & Oyster bar had good food and service. The hotel was decorated elegantly and all the employees would acknowledge your presence. When back in New Orleans I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Depending on your sleep preferences, if you want quiet, ask to be away from Bourbon street and Conti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First Time in New Orleans and the French Quarter - Hotel was great, Rooms were Clean and well taken care off all staff were cheerful and helpful - Had balcony room was quite noisy in the morning, loved having coffee on the balcony watching the morning activities. Hotel was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in the French Quarter. Best of all was Malcome at the front door, Great guy with a great smile always very helpful and took care of everything. Made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Best rooms are with balconies - if you dont mind the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Royal Sonesta is the perfect location. We booked it through Bookit.com so it wasnt very expensive. We got a super clean nice room and the hotel is right in Bourbon st. so we could explore the French Quarter . We didnt eat or drinks at their restaurants/bars cause we went for the cheaper options in the French quarter. I am not sure how expensive it is to book it by itself since we got a good deal at Bookit.com but it would definitely be one of my choices if when i go back to NOLA. Oh and the first night we went back to the hotel around 3:30 am the music outside was crazy and people too however we could barely hear it from our room even though it was on the side of Bourbon st

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstanzaAravena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your recent trip to New Orleans and thank you for sharing how pleased you were with your clean, quiet and convenient accommodations in the heart of the historic French Quarter. We value your feedback and hope we are your first choice hotel when returning to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Friends and I enjoyed a long weekend at the Royal Sonesta. Location right on Bourbon street was convenient to exploring the Quarter. Seventh floor was high enough to leave the noises of Bourbon Street behind when we were ready to call it a night. Cheri and Dan provided great service in the club room -- and we're great company!

Room Tip: If you can afford the club floor....go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerNJresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It’s a pleasure to know how much fun your group had staying at our hotel! If you prefer the quiet in the R Club, you may also like to try a stay in our interior rooms with a beautiful courtyard view or easy poolside access. Thank you for your feedback, and we will certainly pass along your compliments to Cheri and Dan. Please remember the Royal Sonesta Hotel next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,160 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,241 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,533 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing