We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel in the heart of the city...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel in the heart of the city...”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

In my true opinion New Orleans can be a little bit hard to enjoy. However, this perfect place on Bourbon Street offered us a quiet, safe and relaxing spot away from the craziness of the city. Out of sheer courtesy as we were part of a honeymoon party, we were given an upgrade and the room was utterly wonderful. In fact, the staff should be commended as they make this hotel what it is; friendly, warm, happy and spotlessly clean. The adjoining jazz club is classy and lively and is a fabulous night out.

Room Tip: The large rooms overlooking the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinjawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We greatly appreciate this feedback on your August stay at our hotel. Experiences like yours are our goal: a quiet retreat from the excitement of the city, an authentic New Orleans experience without ever leaving our doors and a dedicated, hospitable team to help you enjoy it! Next time you’re in town please come visit us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, PJ’s Coffee Café, Le Booze and Restaurant R’evolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,376
    1,161
    350
    120
    98
See reviews for
538
1,812
122
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A great hotel right on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. Ambiance is great, rooms are well equiped. Rooms right a the Bourbon Street side can be noisy but we did not experience many noise when we stayed here, could be because of the fact we stayed here on a week day. The hotel has a parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel a the back side of the hotel to avoid possible noise disturbance from the action goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamaragw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Let's start with the good- the location right on Bourbon Street is nice, especially for a first time visitor (the bad is if you are a light sleeper Bourbon Street is VERY noisy). If you are the type of traveller that wants a big impressive lobby with a good concierge, the Royal Sonesta delivers.
Rooms are slightly worn but certainly nice enough.
The bad and the inconvenient? I find it incomprehensible that any modern hotel does not offer the ability to make coffee right in the hotel room. I understand that the hotel wants you to buy their coffee in their own coffee shop, but really? I would of made coffee in my room first thing in the am AND bought an Americano later in the hotel coffee shop. Two more negatives- no fans in the bathrooms and the hotel pool was very cold. For a hotel room charging $265 per night, even in the heart of the French Quarter, there are a few issues.
Would I stay here again? Maybe yes but probably not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candace8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Candace, we’re sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations. Please know that while in-room coffee makers do not come standard in our guest rooms, we have other options for our guests to enjoy PJ’s Coffee, voted the locals’ favorite: in the lobby café and conveniently through room service. And based on your feedback, we are evaluating the temperature in our pool more often. Thank you and we hope you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had an inside room that accessed the pool, and it was great! I've stayed in rooms on Bourbon St. which can be fun, if you plan on being up all night because the noise is relentless. The bar has a good jazz band and decent cocktails. although my Sazerac was off. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in a quiet pool-patio room. As you’ve recommended, only 20% of our guest room inventory is on Bourbon Street with the majority of interior rooms overlooking our lush tropical courtyard and pool. We’re excited that you enjoyed our service team and the authentic New Orleans jazz played nightly at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, but we’re sorry that your Sazerac was not to your liking. Please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the location convienent-right on Bourbon Street, but we had a room facing the inner courtyard so it was quiet and the bed so comfortable! The pool is cool and refreshing and not too crowded-there is a pool bar and complimentary ice water (flavored with sliced pickles! Refreshing and different. ) It was nice to go to PJ's coffee bar in the morning for coffee, oatmeal or treats and the hotel is right across from the Jazz Greats Park with Cafe Beignet, which is good for breakfast too. Listen to some excellent music during breakfast, why not? Housekeeping is very good and everything very clean.

Room Tip: Request a room facing inner courtyard, away from Bourbon Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatznKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

For a large hotel of nearly 500 rooms, the rooms and level attention to the handsome facilities and to housekeeping were a nice surprise. Room 3133, a generously large deluxe double, faced the attractive courtyard and was nicely furnished, everything in good order and very well maintained. In the mornings there was some minor noise of water supply lines running to upper floors, otherwise all was deadly quiet. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed, though a notch below the standard of the room itself.

All told, the Sonesta is a good choice against the competition in New Orleans, and despite the Bourbon Street location, a sea of calm and quiet inside. If there was a shortcoming, it's in the experience of entering the hotel and at the Reception and Check-Out Desk. There is a doorman in the evenings at least (and perhaps by day), though he kept a very low presence; in four days I saw him once speaking to some quests, answering their question. Likewise the check-in and check-out process was at once polite but perfunctory. The front door and front desk didn't seem to warrant the usual priority of attention seen in most hotels. A self-serve kiosk for either would have had no impact on the welcome factor. It wasn't a sore point for me, but seemed an odd detail to be so low-key, even indifferent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for the feedback on your September stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. While we’re glad that you enjoyed the quiet tranquility, we’re disappointed that our Front Office & Lobby Doorman did not meet your expectations. Please know that this is not our regular feedback of our doormen and front desk team, and we will review this feedback with them. As our reputation suggests, we work very hard to ensure all guests feel welcome and have all they need to enjoy their stay in New Orleans. Thank you again for sharing your observations and please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a wonderful stafy at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans. It has an excellent location and wonderful staff. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. If I ever return to New Orleans I will stay there.

Room Tip: If you want quiet at night make sure you are not on the Bourbon Street side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing