We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I expected, or perhaps wanted, this to be a quaint boutique hotel on Bourbon Street. That it is not. If you want to stay on Bourbon, you can't beat the location. Walk out of the hotel and you will immediately be swept into the hustle and bustle. However, I would described the rooms as the equivalent of dated Marriott rooms. It's just fine and clean, but nothing special. The staff were very nice, but don't expect Ritz-like service or beds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and sharing your experience. Even better than boutique hotels, we feature larger rooms, a personable full service staff, and everything that makes an authentic New Orleans experience: great food, live music on site, and a PJ’s Coffee Cafe. Please know that our 2nd through 5th floor guest rooms are being renovated and updated to a modern, New Orleans influenced décor. We hope that you plan to visit us when the renovations are completed at the end of 2012, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,993
    1,020
    303
    99
    89
See reviews for
440
1,527
104
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. We stayed Oct 23-26th....We originally requested an R club room but at check in our room was not what we had asked for and switched to a pool deck room. I am actually happy it worked out. The pool room had french doors that opened and was a bigger room then the R club room. Louise (front desk) is exceptional. Overall it was a nice hotel. We have stayed at the Monteleone and Omni Royal. I would stay at the Royal Sonesta again ( I really do not have anything bad to say other than Tommy the bartender is awful/and rude and we had to have the keys programed several times during our stay), but I think I would stay at the Hotel Monteleone in the future.

Room Tip: Helpful tip: if you want a quiet room...ask for pool deck side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks for deciding to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel after having been to other equally as beautiful hotels in the Quarter. We apologize for the inconvenience of reprogramming your keys and your original room choice being unavailable, yet we’re pleased that the poolside room did exceed your expectations. We will certainly pass on your gracious praises to Louise at the front desk. However, the situation you described with our bartender is unacceptable and is uncharacteristic of our staff and our Department Heads are addressing this. We try very hard to set our hotel apart with an experienced and caring staff, as our reputation suggests. John Gomes, our Director of Food & Beverage, would like to speak with you regarding the experience. Please call him at 504-553-2273.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

On a recent trip to New Orleans, we decided to stay at the Royal Sonesta - it is located right on Bourbon street in the heart of all the activity. We also splurged and stayed on the R Club floor. Overall the stay was fantastic - i'm telling you the bed was the best ever - i can't remember the last time i slept so well.

The R club is nice, but I'm not sure i would stay there again - it doesn't come close to what you get with the Ritz Carlton Club level - you get breakfast and a happy hour - but the times are very limited and the food is just ok - we would have been better to pay less for the room and just buy our own drinks. I was also very disappointed in the conceirge offered on the floor. We asked for a reservation at NOLA's restaurant and were told that they couldn't get it - i then went out to OpenTable and booked it myself - so my recommendation would be stay at the hotel, but don't pay for the R Club.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbj2174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and sharing your experience. While we’re overjoyed that you had such a restful night’s sleep, we’re disappointed that our R Club did not meet your expectations. Please know that we take your comments seriously and will address the R Club food offerings and the concierge feedback immediately. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel, and we’d love to have you back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The web site, calls to the hotel and even at check in failed to mention major remodeling. It was loud , starting very early. Dusty and not pleasant. Won't stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cafiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had booked a Bourbon Balcony. What that means is the balcony has access to Bourbon but the room may be facing another street. At first we were disappointed and we had them move us. I now can tell you that either way it is a great hotel and we mostly likelly would have been just as happy in the first room since the balcony was shared. The room was well furnished and clean. All the staff we encountered was pleasant and professional. The hotel is the Old French Quarter at it's best. If you are looking for the most modern type rooms, have a low tolerance for noise, and expect to be catered to similar to an island resort this destination may not be a good fit for you. If you like the personality of older buildings, cajun food and your fill of choices for watering holes, New Orleans is great and Royal Sonesta is the perfect property to meet your needs. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor gives a great view and a little distance from the revelers. Our traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandguy2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive comments! We apologize for the inconvenience of moving rooms, but we’re glad to know that overall you enjoyed your view, the staff, the location and accommodations of our hotel. Thank you for the comments on our historical architecture, amazing food and spirits, not to mention our live music in the Playhouse each evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

You can't beat the location if you are looking to spend some time on Bourbon Street. It is a beautiful hotel with a very friendly and efficient staff, comfortable rooms and a charming courtyard. We were delighted with our stay. We were worried that we might hear loud noise from the late night partiers on Bourbon street, but we slept very well and couldn't hear anything from the street. It is actually quite the contrast from the somewhat unkempt Bourbon street. Stepping into the hotel off of Bourbon Street is like stepping into another world; however the hotel maintains all of the uniqueness that makes New Orleans what it is. You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEBandMrVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing your glorious recommendation of our property! It is rewarding to know that you were delighted with your stay and how we live up to our reputation of a tranquil oasis in the heart of the French Quarter! We’re looking forward to your return to the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Once again, we were delighted with our rooms, meeting rooms, meals and service. The front desk is friendly and always offers a room with a view on or off Bourbon Street. The rooms are nicely decorated, fresh bathrooms with loads of nice towels and bathrobes and a very comfortable bed. The location is fantastic. Everything is clean and looked after by a very caring staff. The coffee bar in the lobby, PJ's offers great coffee and pastries. The meals we enjoyed throughout our meetings were very good, with attentive service.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from Bourbon Street for a very good night of sleep! The front desk is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,821 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,152 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,235 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing