We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on Bourbon St”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had booked a Bourbon Balcony. What that means is the balcony has access to Bourbon but the room may be facing another street. At first we were disappointed and we had them move us. I now can tell you that either way it is a great hotel and we mostly likelly would have been just as happy in the first room since the balcony was shared. The room was well furnished and clean. All the staff we encountered was pleasant and professional. The hotel is the Old French Quarter at it's best. If you are looking for the most modern type rooms, have a low tolerance for noise, and expect to be catered to similar to an island resort this destination may not be a good fit for you. If you like the personality of older buildings, cajun food and your fill of choices for watering holes, New Orleans is great and Royal Sonesta is the perfect property to meet your needs. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor gives a great view and a little distance from the revelers. Our traveling...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandguy2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your positive comments! We apologize for the inconvenience of moving rooms, but we’re glad to know that overall you enjoyed your view, the staff, the location and accommodations of our hotel. Thank you for the comments on our historical architecture, amazing food and spirits, not to mention our live music in the Playhouse each evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,197)
There are newer reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,440 - 3,446 of 4,197 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

You can't beat the location if you are looking to spend some time on Bourbon Street. It is a beautiful hotel with a very friendly and efficient staff, comfortable rooms and a charming courtyard. We were delighted with our stay. We were worried that we might hear loud noise from the late night partiers on Bourbon street, but we slept very well and couldn't hear anything from the street. It is actually quite the contrast from the somewhat unkempt Bourbon street. Stepping into the hotel off of Bourbon Street is like stepping into another world; however the hotel maintains all of the uniqueness that makes New Orleans what it is. You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsEBandMrVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing your glorious recommendation of our property! It is rewarding to know that you were delighted with your stay and how we live up to our reputation of a tranquil oasis in the heart of the French Quarter! We’re looking forward to your return to the Crescent City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Once again, we were delighted with our rooms, meeting rooms, meals and service. The front desk is friendly and always offers a room with a view on or off Bourbon Street. The rooms are nicely decorated, fresh bathrooms with loads of nice towels and bathrobes and a very comfortable bed. The location is fantastic. Everything is clean and looked after by a very caring staff. The coffee bar in the lobby, PJ's offers great coffee and pastries. The meals we enjoyed throughout our meetings were very good, with attentive service.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from Bourbon Street for a very good night of sleep! The front desk is quite...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

When we checked in the room was good but we were dissapointed to not have a view. It did have a sitting area and a large comfortable bathroom. Once we got out and about on Bourbon street, it's obvious this hotel is in the middle of it all! One side is Bourbon street with all the parties and the other side is Royal Street with all the great shooping and art. The other benefit we realized was that having no view at all meant we were able to sleep off the partying from the nights before! The bed was also wonderful. I gave the hotel an average in sleep quality because if you are on the street view, I can imagine it gets pretty noisy.
From room service, make sure to order the CREOLE CRAB EGGS BENEDICT for breakfast- WOW!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcricket1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We really appreciate your honest review and your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in the heart of the French Quarter, where New Orleans’s food, art, culture, history, and good times live! We have many room types and suites in our Hotel that you can enjoy: a lively Bourbon Balcony room, a quiet interior courtyard room, or the service of our R Club Concierge Level. We’ll give our chef and room service kudos on the Creole Crab Eggs Benedict for you! Thanks again, and please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Paid for a deluxe room but nothing startling. Tiny window which didn't open and toiletries not replaced. No tea or coffee making facilities. Don't pay for the continental breakfast deal it is a con. They give you a voucher for the coffee shop but it only covers a coffee as they add on tax and gratuity. Not exactly continental breakfast and they hold such a fuss about the vouchers depending which staff are on. I would stay at another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room as some are extremely noisy
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlereddevilag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are very sorry that your accommodations were only okay and “nothing special.” We continually strive to provide the highest quality guest experience, and we take your comments seriously. The continental breakfast voucher that you purchased came from a third party and varies from what we honor in our Royal Bed & Breakfast Package. Our managers are addressing this comment to ensure consistency in honoring expectations of ours and other breakfast vouchers. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention, and we hope you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We visited the Royal Sonesta in October for one week. We had stayed there once before and loved it - so we decided to book there again. Once we arrived, it felt as if we were coming home or something. Malcolm was there to greet us at the door. What a great guy. Always smiling, always positive - a shining example of excellence in guest and human relations. All the staff at the hotel were amazing and we felt as if we were greeting old friends. Russell, Jay, Darren..and many others were the epitome of Southern hospitality. This place makes you WANT to come back again.

Our room faced the courtyard and was quiet in itself...although the patrons on our floor indulged a bit too much one night and stumbled back to their rooms in the middle of the night. Guess that's to be expected on Bourbon St! Also - our room was on the third floor which was undergoing renovations..so check in advance with the front desk to see if you will be affected. It wasn't too much of a problem as we didn't sleep in a lot, but for night hawks it might be an issue.

Coffee shop PJ's is wonderful and they were always very friendly. Irving Mayfield's is fabulous (we ended up with the same server as last time!). Appetizers were wonderful..and the bartender really knows how to mix a great drink. If you can, take the time to see Irving in action. You won't regret it.

In NOLA, location is a huge benefit and the Royal Sonesta wins on this account. You can walk anywhere (and we did)..and if you're going far away there are plenty of cabs around. At night, there are security guards at the front entrance to be sure you're where you're supposed to be. We always felt safe at the Royal Sonesta.

Overall, a wonderful experience and we miss the hotel and its staff. Will definitely be back. Congratulations on being a shining example of excellence in business and Southern hospitality!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, request an "inside" room. Also check to see if your floor is being reno...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skategeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I went away to New Orleans for a long weekend without the children. The lobby is beautiful, the staff is very courteous and helpful. Nice pool decking, but what I thought was a heated pool was very cold and appeared to be a plastic liner. I was unpleasantly surprised there wasn't a hot tub. The fitness room is tiny and cramped. Kind of a disappointment.

We had upgraded to a king deluxe room when booking. We requested a pool view, which we received, but the window was a small, high window in the corner, that I'd have to stand on a chair to look out. Not much natural light, no balcony or window you could open. Dated wallpaper, wall hangings and the ceiling was that popcorn/stippled which made the room look worn. One chair, no couch, average bathroom. Nice soaps, shampoos, etc. Bed was comfortable with nice bedding. Overall though, it was not what I'd consider deluxe.

If you're looking for a romantic weekend, I'd probably pick a hotel a block or so off Bourbon, because the city is easily walkable and we went by many lovely hotels that I had also considered when booking. Not having been familiar with Bourbon Street before, there are a variety of strip clubs very near the hotel with graphic marketing, which definitely made the location less appealing to me.

It was a fine stay, but depending on the reason you are visiting New Orleans, there may be better options in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threekiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your most recent visit to New Orleans! We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations due to the pool temperature, the fitness room, view, and décor. Many guests recognize the advantage of our location to be the pleasant change of ambiance that happens when you walk into the hotel from outside. We apologize that our pool was not heated nor does the area have a hot tub. Please know that we have plans to move and enlarge the fitness center next year and that our guest rooms on the second through fifth floors will be completed renovated by the end of 2012, meaning no more popcorn ceilings and more modern decor! We’d love to have you stay with us again once these renovations are completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,414 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,421 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,224 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $198 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing