We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always wanted to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Summer At Sonesta
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always wanted to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The first 2 times I went to NOLA, I saw the Sonesta and thought to myself, wow what a cool place I would really like to stay there. So this time I found a reasonable price and did. We had a quiet room in the back over looking the pool but the really great things about the hotel are the service, location and charm. This place is so perfect for NOLA.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, it probably costs less because you aren't on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
We are excited to read that you finally got chance to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans and that it was all the great things you expected it to be. Thanks for your kind compliments, and please come see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    986
    295
    97
    85
See reviews for
414
1,469
102
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Extremely elegant, wonderful friendly knowledgeable staff. Adorable setting. Reasonable pricing.. All around A+++

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuffneyInc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you! We greatly appreciate your business and your comments. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Royal Sonnesta in New Orleans is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. We requested a quiet room, which we got, so even though we were in the middle of everything on Bourbon Street, the room was quiet. We had a standard room with a king bed, and it was perfect, the bathroom was good too. One of the amenities we loved is the pool area, with the pool bar right there. It was very relaxing. It would be fun to get a room right on the pool too! The service was excellent. I forgot one of my favorite pairs of jeans in the room, so I called the hotel once we got home and housekeeping promptly mailed my jeans to my house. That sure sold me on the service!

The only negative is the cost to park at the hotel (it's expensive), but that is true of parking in the heart of just about any city.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Letstravel70360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We appreciate your sharing your experiences so that others can know of our consistent efforts to provide high quality customer service to each and every guest. We are so happy to read that your accommodations were just what you expected: quiet, comfortable, and relaxing. Please come back to see us soon and try a poolside room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Royal Sonesta hotel is an absolute Oasis on Bourbon Street. As you enter the hotel lobby you will be taken in by the marble, flowers and fountain décor but mostly especially by the friendly service of the hotel staff. Our beautiful and clean courtyard facing room only added to our satisfaction. The location was excellent we walked to the convention center, fabulous restaurants, and fun bars. We would end our evening at the lobby bar listening to amazingly talented jazz musicians and vocalist another oasis in New Orleans. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
What a pleasure to read! We are so proud to hear that your stay at the Royal Sonesta was stimulating and highly satisfactory. Please come see us again when you’re next in town. Thank you for complimenting us as an “oasis on Bourbon.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Parking is alo cheaper down the street rooms are cheaper and nicer at the dauphine service is exceptional

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pookibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

It's simple really..... Real southern hospitality, and nice, clean, comfy rooms that don't cost an arm & a leg! This hotel was a great value.

The location is great, right on Bourbon St., but I must admit that it got old after the second day! Day & night we could hear pulsating music and a really annoying guy on the mic. Along with really wasted people screaming and laughing on the street below our room. But I guess you'll probably get that anywhere in the French Quarter!

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juleslillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 5 days. Prior to making the reservation I called them three times for information. Each time an articulate and knowledgeable person answered all of my questions. During our stay we noticed there were usually 2 uniformed hotel employees in the lobby making themselves available to the guests.
The room was larger than many other rooms I've staid at in the French Quarter in this price range. In the morning when leaving our room for breakfast we would hang the sign on our door to have the room clean. It would be ready for us when we returned.
In the Musical Legends Park across the street from the hotel there is a restaurant that may have the best beignets in the quarter. Entertainment starts there at 2 pm.
The hotel has the Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse that you should plan on visiting.
I've been visiting the French Quarter for over 40 years and feel that this is one of the best hotels in the Quarter. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thanks for your vote as one of the Best Hotels in the Quarter! We are so glad that we could help enhance your stay in New Orleans. We’re always counting our blessings, like our warm, hospitable staff and wonderful location in the middle of the Quarter. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel and the Playhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,675 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,838 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,755 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing