We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Stars for Location & Cleanliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“5 Stars for Location & Cleanliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I am extremely picky about cleanliness and I give this hotel 5 stars. It was immaculate, had a superb location in the French Quarter, offered a comfortable bed, nice tile floors, chandelier lighting, excellent shower/water pressure, and attentive staff. The breakfast food-wise was okay, comparable to what you'd get at any help-yourself breakfast at an average hotel (danish, bagels, boxed cereal, fruit, kept-warm scrambled eggs, etc.) Staff-wise, it was very attended to, and the courtyard was lovely. We had a courtyard room on the 3rd floor under the tarp, so our view was preserved. Though the courtyard is thankfully insulated from all street noise, it does tend to echo sounds. Our first night I was awakened at 3 am by someone whistling an entire song. But I really couldn't complain too much, because the hotel room and location were perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneybeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,812
    909
    172
    87
    25
See reviews for
594
2,215
99
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My Wife and I got married and had the reception here a few weeks ago, and it was perfect. Literally the best day of my life. Hotel Mazarin has recently been refurbished, the rooms are excellent, the staff is great, and it's location is outstanding. The entire night was handled by Brent, who did a flawless job of making sure everything was taken care of. Many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been too, and with a sincerity that made me believe they weren't just telling me that because it was mine.

In hindsight I would do it all the exact same way. Food, drinks, etc. Wedding Planning done by Lulu, from weddingsbylulu, which was perfect. Music handled by Rick, owner of Decades Music, was perfect (overusing this word but it fits) as well.

-Will

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great location for touring New Orleans - between Bourbon and Royal St. Bourbon has all of the loud glitz while Royal is a very upscale refined street full of antique shops and fine restaurants.

Back to the hotel - generally all of the features of a large hotel with the quaint feeling of a small B&B. Very clean rooms, full breakfast, very friendly staff, open air courtyard and the best wine bar in town. Interesting that the noise of Bourbon St does not bled over into the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent a great fall weekend here. Lots of events going on in the city of great food. Breakfast was great and room excellent and spacious (I would recommend selecting a room away from the elevator however for noise purposes).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend three nights at Hotel Mazarin. We stayed in room 325. Yes, we did have to walk outside and up one set of stairs to get to our room but this is New Orleans! The room we had was a mini suite. It had a living area with a mini kitchen complete with a refrigerator and coffee machine and a separate bedroom. The room was immaculate. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel's staff were excellent! Our only complaint was the poor water pressure. I'm sure this is no fault of the hotel except for the fact that the hotel is a very old, renovated building. The breakfast is included for all guests at no extra cost. It's a very good buffet but they will make you omelets and pancakes upon request. When visiting New Orleans, spend the few extra dollars and stay at Hotel Mazarin!

Room Tip: Mini Suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyAlamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Mardi gras is crazy-staying here was the right balance .breakfast was delightful

I chose this based on trip advisor reviews and ratings.i was right on target .akthough I am travelling alone I don't feel alone.the breakfast buffet is extremely generous but the chef prepares a fresh pancake every day for me.i could have more but one does me with yogurt fruit and syrup.
So I wanted to share a photo

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome, and great location of the Hotel. The Mazarin is conveniently located in the French Quarter, accessible and near Bourbon Street, but quieter and less bizarre for those not wanting to stay up all night. The staff were excellent, and offered many suggestions for highlights of the city, key local insights for restaurants and great jazz clubs. A nice breakfast was included, along with a complimentary drink at the Prohibition Bar adjacent to the Hotel. Anyone wanting access to NOLA, and all it offers should definitely consider the Mazarin. .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,906 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing