We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of everything”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a beautiful upscale hotel. Everything turned out perfect with the help of Larry, the front desk supervisor. We arrived Friday evening and were given a small, less than expectation room in the back, no view and close to ice machine. We asked to be moved since staying for six nights. The Friday night desk clerk was not accommodating. He said we didn't request it when reserved. We spoke to Larry McDowell the next morning about our request and he went above and beyond to ensure we had a great room with a view. He and the other staff were accommodating the entire visit. Great trip and place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,652 - 3,658 of 4,651 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have never written a review for Trip Advisor before, but was inspired to after our great stay. I'm picky about hotels in general, so I was pleasantly surprised about the excellence of this one. We booked a room with 2 queen beds with our kids. The room was clean, modern, and well maintained. The beds were comfortable, and internet is free in the rooms. The toiletries offered were good quality, and the hotel provided complimentary bottled water daily, a nice touch. The room was surprisingly quiet, especially considering the hotel's excellent location 1 block from Bourbon St. Breakfast was outstanding and very well prepared: a buffet of fresh scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages (which we don't eat, but appreciated the offer), multiple cereals, tons of fruit (cut up and whole), toast/muffins/croissants, juice, tea, and most importantly, perfectly brewed strong coffee as well as tea/hot chocolate. Made to order omelets and pancakes are available as well, not necessary considering the abundant choices available on the buffet. Seating is plentiful inside or in the covered courtyard. Happily, breakfast is available through 11 AM, for late risers. There is a nice work out room which we unfortunately did not have time to use, since we were busy taking in the city and restaurants. No pool, but we don't care. The staff was friendly and helpful by offering directions, booking tour reservations (I recommend the swamp tour on an airboat), and calling taxis. My only reluctance about writing such a positive review is the fear that the hotel will not have any availability the next time we go to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Room facing inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed for our anniversary weekend. We had Room 405, overlooking Bienville St. Room was quiet except when other guests used ice machine, which was rare. Service was friendly and helpful. I was concerned with room size at a "boutique hotel" when I booked, but our double queen room has plenty of space. Room was clean, water bottles restocked each day and free WiFi connection was easy. Mattresses were very firm. The tarp on the courtyard was an eye sore. We went to the bar for complimentary drinks and enjoyed that. Breakfast was good - better than expected. Location between Bourbon and Royal was great for walking around. Great stay, we would do it again.

We also purchased the tourism packet and used the brunch, Cafe du Monde and NORTA passes. I think it was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We did a full week there and truly enjoyed the full stay. The city has lots to offer and a good portion of it is well within walking distance from this great location. We had a room towards the back which was quiet and spotless. I agree with other comments the breakfast is first class, make sure you try their pancakes! The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the building. Don't miss the 21st Amendment Bar on Saturdays too, they have live music and great servers. We will be back...when its' a little warmer.

Room Tip: Stay towards the back, a little more quiet and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lovely renovated hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Was there for business but definitely would stay for fun. Large, comfortable rooms are well appointed. Beds were super comfortable. Nice workspace. Only negative is that the light comes on automatically in the bathroom...and takes forever to turn off. All rooms overlook the Courtyard. All rooms come with a complimentary welcome cocktail and complimentary breakfast buffet which is extensive. Highly recommend for business or pleasure. Small workout facility does its job. As with most (if not all hotels) in NOLA, parking is by Valet. They were great. Check out the hotel's French Quarter Wine Bar. Great selection of wines and we had a delicious Charcuterie plate. I will return!

Room Tip: Higher up would be better if you didn't want all the noise from Bourbon Street. Otherwise I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Mazarin. Although it was unseasonably cold, we had a great time in a Hotel within walking distance or a short cab drive of the places we wanted to see. The staff was
unusually accommodating. We were in a suite on the third floor but had to walk up a flight of stairs to get there. The hotel staff carried the bags and arranged for a change to a room that the elevator reached the next day. Family came and they were placed in rooms near us. Hotel staff got cabs for us immediately and arranged a couple of tours. The Mazarin is across the street from the Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse in the Royal Sonesta. We were able to walk in and hear wonderful jazz. One evening Ellis Marsallis was the keynote. Great restaurants nearby were in abundance. I'd like to go back in good weather so the tarp could be removed from the courtyard and we could enjoy breakfast outside.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious. Unless you want to walk up back steps in the rain, choose a room/suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough good about this beautiful, comfortable hotel. The service is impeccable. It is apparent that the staff has been well trained as they go out of their way to provide excellent service. The rooms are well appointed. The conference room is private and roomy. Breakfast was delicious. Excellent choice for business or pleasure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank StockadeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,801 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,427 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,995 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 166 in New Orleans
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $161 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing