We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but noisy!”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa,canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good but noisy!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

very clean, pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfast BUT not for the light sleeper if you choose a bienville facing room, particularly one with a balcony. you are literally a stone's throw from bourbon street, which may sound great but only if you plan to be partying late every night. and be awakened early (6 am) by the pressure washer used next doors at the royal sonesta to clean the street of vomit and urine! make sure you request a back room, where you will have little natural light but more pleasant nights. otherwise perfectly situated in the French quarter. perfect adjoining wine bar (Patrick’s) for pre dinner cocktails. uptown magazine street for dining. Frenchmen street for blues bars, arrive early.

Room Tip: completely at the back is a separate section with a cute terrace, quiet and pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_giulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,961
    955
    180
    89
    28
See reviews for
630
2,342
102
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Only spent one night here before moving to the Westin Canal Place for a meeting but we loved the Mazarin. Great price at $169 per night, free breakfast and great location to Bourbon St and the Quarter. You can walk anywhere in the Quarter from here but you don't get the noise from Bourbon St. Breakfast was the usual buffet fare-scrambled eggs, grits, sausage/bacon and bread products. Was fine and the best part is you can eat outside in the courtyard if you choose or inside if you want. The people working there will direct you to places for lunch and will help you with any questions about the area you may have. Rooms are clean and beautiful. We will stay here next time in NO.

Room Tip: Probably be a good idea to be away from the street side. Bourbon St is a stones lob away and may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed six nights in October 2013. We liked the place overall but didn't find it exceptional.
Staff are generally very helpful, especially at breakfast, though I heard a woman checking out who, when asked 'Did you enjoy your stay?', replied 'I've had better', and the person on reception shrugged it off with not further comment or questions - this was the same person who granted our request for a room change with very little grace.
We ended up in 209, courtyard superior king. I'd booked a Premium king first off, but it was a room (218) with a balcony street-side, and one night was enough (noise from revelers, cars hooting, street cleaning, you name it). The superior king was cheaper, bigger, more comfortable and quieter - so don't book a Premium King is my advice.
Breakfast - not sure why so many people rave about it, it was exactly the same options every morning, no real choice of fruit, only fairly bland scrambled eggs (people here mention options but we were never told of any, or offered any). It offered what Americans seem to like (no disrespect) but Europeans or South Americans won't be impressed. And sitting in the courtyard is nice but far from comfortable. But, I repeat, the breakfast staff were delightfully helpful.
The room we ended up in was large, very comfortable, quiet - in other words, excellent. Very comfortable bed, cleaning was generally good too.
I'd give it 3.5 if I could, but will give 4 because of the courtyard room and the staff generally.
And our experience of NOLA was that Bourbon Street is the place to keep away from - some nice music bars but walking there on a Friday or Saturday night? Forget it, go to Frenchmen St or (on Sundays) Tipitina for a much more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street unless you're OK with a lot of street noise. Seems like rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited New Orleans in October 2013 with a group of ten people, and stayed at the Hotel Mazarin. It was an outstanding experience in every respect. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Everyone in the hotel, from the front desk personnel to housekeeping and service staff, was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is served buffet-style, but guests may order anything they'd like from the kitchen at no extra charge. The location is a real plus---in the heart of the French Quarter, yet calm and peaceful. For cocktails and wine in elegant surroundings, be sure to visit Patrick's Bar Vin. I can't recommend this hotel enough, and would stay here again whenever possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, MS
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's our second time to stay here. Close to bourbon street! We love the great breakfast. It's nice to not have to search for that. We have managed to use the special where you get parking for free. That's is wonderful. Every one treats you well and the place has been spotless. We WILL stay again.

Room Tip: We got the exact same room as last year. Had a lovely courtyard, and it was quiet when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in room 225. It was very quiet and surprising large considering some of the reviews that I read. When the air conditioning/or something mechanical kicked in, I loved it as I normally sleep with a noise maker on. Most of the time I didn't notice it. So may be an issue for others??

The continental breakfast was nice and yes, I did ask for the pancakes! WOW! One was plenty for me. If you like thick pancakes, this is for you. I was surprised that they also served grits and bacon since I was expecting a traditional continental breakfast.

You also have to visit Patrick's Wine Bar. Funny and engaging, he has great restaurant recommendations and a wonderful selection of reasonably priced wine. I also had a cheese plate that was more generous than expected.

This hotel is located 1/2 block from Bourbon. Our main plan was to visit the french quarter and our hotel was perfectly situated.

Room Tip: We had 225. It was roomy, with a king bed and was very quiet. We slept in most days until around 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed for five nights. I have stayed at many hotels and this was by far the best. The location was excellent. You are in walking distance to everything. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The entire staff was very nice...but the dining room staff was exceptional!!!!!!! The breakfast was good but the service was better!!!! That entire staff deserves a raise in pay. I would recommend this hotel. If I ever go back to New Orleans I will be staying at Hotel Mazarin!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutti306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing