We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by someone who travels frequently. I arrived in New Orleans on the final day of the Essence weekend and the Quarter was still pretty busy. Our room was ready in a short time after we arrived. The room was nicer than I expected, large and really well done. The hotel was very clean and the public spaces were nicely decorated. We had breakfast both mornings of our stay and the people in the kitchen worked to keep the buffet presentation looking fresh and appealing. The best thing about the hotel was just how quiet it was at night,and given the hotel's position between Royal and Bourbon Streets, the quiet really impressed me. In the past, I have stayed at larger hotels in the Quarter, but this trip the Mazarin really worked well for my partner and me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,961
    955
    180
    89
    28
See reviews for
630
2,342
102
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For my first visit to New Orleans, I wanted to stay close to the French Quarter without being kept up all night by the crowds on Bourbon street. I also didn't want to stay in a grungy hotel. Hotel Mazarin was the perfect choice! The hotel is located 50 feet from Bourbon street, but shielded from the late night noise. The hotel has New Orleans charm, but is modern and updated, so you feel the comfort of staying in a nice place. The lobby was cozy and welcoming. Everyone who worked there was friendly. The rooms are beautiful with comfy beds and large showers. Good WiFi access.

The breakfast in the morning was pretty disappointing compared to all the wonderful restaurants nearby. I would recommend skipping it and checking out the locale fare. Patrick's Bar Vin (off of the courtyard) was our favorite place to start the evening. Patrick serves up drinks and stories and we just loved the place. Compared to the trashy places on Bourbon, you feel the quaint character of the area.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked at this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our stay at the Hotel Mazarin was one stopping point in our overall trip and we were not disappointed. The location of the hotel made it ideal for our visit to New Orleans. Everything was within walking distance, including the public transportation.

Upon checking in we were a bit concerned about parking as we were driving a collector car but the hotel took care of everything. The rooms were perfect but the staff was what really made the visit. They were exceptionally helpful and friendly and played a significant role in the success of our visit.

The rooms were clean and well appointed - something that I'm picky about. The included breakfast was good and again the staff made the experience great!

Will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moopet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I love NOLA and was very happy to find this gem of a hotel so close to Bourbon St. and within walking distance to other attractions. The décor is a marvel-a blend of classic with modern comfort. The courtyard was peaceful and an enjoyable spot to enjoy the complimentary breakfast or an evening cocktail. The hotel provides free Wifi which is a huge bonus. The valet was speedy and the staff in general were very courteous and helpful without being overbearing.

Room Tip: French Quarter view is very "vieux carre"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonsha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here with a couple of friends, we got a double room on the 2nd floor. The location is excellent, between Bourbon st and Royal. As I've mentioned earlier, we got a room on the 2nd floor and we can hear every noise coming from the courtyard.

They have a nice wine bar with reasonable prices. The complimentary breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: You can hear every noise from the courtyard if you have a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location was excellent. One block off of Bourbon St. We had a room on the 5th floor so no noise at night. I haven't stayed at any other hotels in the French Quarter so I have nothing to compare it to; but, overall, I was a bit disappointed. There was no pool (you could walk across the street to another hotel and use their's). No windows in our room therefore no view. The court yard had a cover over it to keep out the sun. It cooled the fountain area off quite a bit which was nice. The room was a bit small; but, spotless. Big flat screen TV but not a lot of channels to watch. The pay per view was $18 per. The bed was adequate and had 5 different pillows. I loved the bathroom. It was very large, fairly modern and like the rest of the hotel absolutely spotless. The staff must spend a lot of time keeping the hotel clean. I was very impressed. The free breakfast was also outstanding, scrambled eggs, toast, sausage, bacon, grits, bagels with cream cheese, English muffins, fresh fruits, fresh fruit dishes and all sorts of cereal and the usual assortment of teas and coffee. The orange juice tasted fresh squeezed. Valet parking was about $40 dollars and day and they stained our car as rusty old water must have leaked on it all day and night. I took one star for no pool, no windows, no restaurant and staining my car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of 16 just recently stayed at Hotel Mazarin for 5 nights.. It was a great experience!! The location is great (right off Bourbon), the hotel is charming ,quaint,and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly (with that many people we had a few mishaps and the hotel staff was very helpful). The breakfast buffet was delicious. I would strongly recommend the Hotel Mazarin to anyone who is planning a visit to New Orleans. I know that I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jja1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing