We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it!”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed two nights pre-cruise, May 31 - June 2. We have stayed in several hotels in NOLA, but this has flown right to the top of my list! The location, while it could have been loud, was perfect! Close to everything --- from the great restaurants near Decatur, to the fun of the French Quarter, to the shopping on Canal, to the WW II museum --- everything was walking distance. It had so much charm and a magical quality! The room (two queen beds) was large enough and beds were comfortable; very classically decorated. Staff was pleasant in all respects -- we arrived in a downpour and they couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was clean and had free WIFI, which was helpful for one of us finishing a graduate class on-line. I would recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet one - and they gave us one that isn't right on the streetside. Also was aw...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,428)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mazarin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,771 - 3,777 of 4,429 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a great small-feel hotel. If you want a large "grand" hotel go to the Monteleone. If you want a more intimate experience, Mazarin is a good choice. It's close enough to Bourbon to have some noise, but you're not in the thick of it, and you can certainly escape from the Daytona Beach-ness of Bourbon here.

The rooms were very nice - nothing too crazy, but well-appointed and -maintained, and the bed was very comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful - a nice place to start the day with the included breakfast. Speaking of which, this was perhaps the biggest let-down. With the quality of food throughout the city, I would suggest the hotel step up the baked goods which were dry and not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel.

The front desk staff were very gracious and accommodating - especially Ulises, Rene and Manny. They made sure we were well cared-for.

All in all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Overall not good. Check-in was terrible. You have to valet across the street, but the doorman saw us struggling and walked away. Staff preferred to chat and smoke over helping guests. Room smelled of mildew and worse. Window opened to dark corner of walkway. Overall very quiet and breakfast was quite nice. Beds were comfortable, and room was clean. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Com4tCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean spacious and quiet , staff was super helpful and nice . Location was perfect for first timers and return customers to the quarter . The free breakfast was fresh delicious and plentiful everyday. Its right in the heart of the quarter and close to everything

2  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My company planned a training seminar in New Orleans and I was tasked with finding a hotel. Not having visited the area before, I went to Tripadvisor to search hotels and found Hotel Mazarin. The location is perfect, between Bourbon and Royal and 3 blocks from Canal St. While you are close to Bourbon St, I did not hear any street noise from my room - the rooms were very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the beds are very comfortable. The service we received throughout the week for our seminar was excellent. The meeting space was ample sized, the food was delicious and served on time. The staff attended to all our requests immediately. We will return next year!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the courtyard view, it's well worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Trip advisors you got this right. Great hotel, close to everything. In our room we didn't hear the noise from Bourbon St. Patrick down in the bar is an amazing man, go have a chat. We were lucky that the wine and food experience was on during our visit. Fantastic event.

Room Tip: Higher floor and a room without a balcony gets less noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We are from Baton Rouge and stay in the French Quarter several times a year. This is the first time we've stayed at the Mazarin and we have found our hotel. Everything was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and immaculate. The bed was extremely comforatble. The bathroom and shower were huge. All the staff were outstanding. The courtyard where a full breakfast is served complimentary every monring was excellent. Parking is expensive $38 including tax but you have to pay that anywhere you stay in New Orleans to park. The location is right in the middle of everything from Bourbon St. to Royal St. where all the fabulous shops are and a few streest over from Jackson Square and the Cathefral for the full NO experience. We loved the way your room is so easy to access from the lobby and street. All rooms overlook the courtyard. I highly recommend this hotel and have stayed at practically all of them in New Orleans both in the Quarter and across Canal St. at the larger Marriott and Sheraton.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room away from Bourbon St. b/c the noise level will keep you up.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,424 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $181 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing