We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel in the Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in the Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a great find. Historic feel but not too big or overdone. Two blocks from Canal Street, one street over from Bourbon. Our room (#208) faced the courtyard with a picturesque fountain that blocked out any possible noise from the French Quarter. The courtyard was a pleasant place to hang out and the bar right next door connected to it. Clean, spacious room. Modern bathroom, although we mentioned to the front desk that the sink area (2 separate sinks were great!) needed hooks or racks for hand towels. Ample, yummy complimentary breakfast, helpful staff. Will definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,728
    868
    165
    87
    24
See reviews for
573
2,127
97
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a nice boutique hotel. The location was great and despite being within a block of Bourbon Street, we had no noise issues in our courtyard-side room on the 4th floor (5 floor hotel), even through the weekend. It is a short walk to the river, French market, and lots of nice restaurants. The room was nice, but a bit crowded for 3 of us (my daughter stayed with us). There is limited closet/drawer space. The bathroom was modern and very nice. The included breakfast is very good and convenient. The service from the breakfast manager and restaurant staff was excellent. The front desk service was spotty - The late night manager was excellent, but the staff during the day was good and bad; sometimes very helpful, other times I felt like I was imposing. When I asked if there irons in the rooms, I was told, "no, there are no irons and none I could borrow". But, when we got to the room, we found a very nice iron and board in the closet! I had to ask twice for extra hangers (no, they didn't appear very busy). Sometimes I got help getting a taxi, while other times, I was told that "where I was going wasn't too far" (despite the rain). As far as the neighborhood, we felt safe. We walked miles and miles each day through the Quarter, and one night, walked to a restaurant at Jackson Sq. and then back after dark with no concern.

Room Tip: We had no noise with a courtyard room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

On a quick trip, first time to New Orleans. This smallish hotel is right in the active area in the French Quarter. You can walk to most of the French Quarter from this location so it is great for that. This is a Boutique hotel though and all of them have their charm and their flaws. This hotel had a great central covered courtyard where you can eat the daily breakfast offering. Think Hampton Inn buffet for breakfast. But the setting and location are nice enough.

You are doors from everything here, but once you enter the hotel you are away from it all and can rest or lounge in a classically decorated bar on site or in the expansive courtyard - away from Bourbon street, the crowds and the random noises of people that are announcing they are in New Orleans to party. The room was small, but clean and off in a second back and isolated courtyard. The bed was soft and comfortable. Check in no problem. There is no parking so if you have a car be prepared for a Valet parking charge.

SO if you want a place to find quiet that is minutes away from the craziness of Bourbon and the French Quarter, this hotel works well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We (2 couples) very much enjoyed staying at this boutique hotel! All of the staff were friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and elegant. The 'petite king rooms' were on the small side, but very comfortable and tastefully decorated, and Quiet! Wonderful complimentary breakfast, with a nice selection of food items (hot and cold). (Loved the scones and the delicious crisp bacon!) The hotel is in a perfect location in the French Quarter - close to Bourbon (but not too close!) and easy walking to shops, the French Market etc. Highly recommend staying at the Mazarin.

Room Tip: Petite King Rooms are located in the back of the hotel (away from Bourbon) and overlook a private ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flomo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great big clean rooms, great property, great French Quarter location. But if you can't sleep none of that matters! Not sure if room 217 is just the worst room in the hotel but it was as loud as if we left the door and window open. While the courtyard is beautiful, imagine the sound of wrought iron chairs scraping across the floor repeatedly while you're still in bed. I thought someone had their boombox going at 4am in the courtyard and went out to find it was a car in the street having a good time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlomoBeachbummin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
629 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We didn't have a very good start to our visit as when checking in, I inquired about using my AAA membership. I was abruptly told by a female member of the front desk staff that they can't take it as, like booking a flight, we were already locked into the rate we asked for when booking on their website. Really? Talk about poor customer service.

The lobby is very small and unimpressive, surprising given the rating of the hotel.

Upon getting to the room, we immediately noticed the smell of must in the room which, even though was an upgraded one with an outside balcony, was quite small. The balcony was without charis as one could barely stand on it.

The innner courtyard was nice but covered with a tent so if you were third floor and up, and inner courtyard, you were looking at large white tent.

We ended up moving to another hotel in the French Quarter as while out, we found several others that seemed a lot nicer. We found one with rooms that were larger and even less cost so more for less. To their credit, the manager at the desk when we returned was very nice upon us asking to depart the same day. He even offered to help us with our bags and get us drinks while we waited. Now that is customer service. He was the bright spot in an otherwise mediocre albeit short experience.

Overall, I don't think the hotel is worth the costs of the room and definitely not #1 in New Orleans from my experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! Great customer service, from Larry at the front desk to Solomon, another wonderful staff member. Fantastic complimentary breakfast! Make sure you request the omelets and the pancakes. Worth staying here for! Beds were so comfy you melted into them. Nice spacious and quiet rooms. Great location to everything in the quarter. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing