We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. Friendly staff, perfect location, it has a lot of charm. The rooms were great. I would suggest curtains over the wooden blinds to block the morning sun however. We would definitely stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N1JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,728
    868
    165
    87
    24
See reviews for
573
2,127
97
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Good location, near but not on, Bourbon Street. The rooms face a quiet courtyard, so street noise is not an issue. Unfortunately the designers seem not to have focused on the noise issue when they installed brick corridors leading to all of the rooms, so everyone hears the click and clack of suitcases , baggage carts and housekeeper utility carts whenever they move about. On the other hand, the room itself was spacious, nicely appointed and clean, and the hotel includes a nice hot and cold buffet breakfast. I would go again, (but will probably bring earplugs).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnepDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Location--between Royal and Bourbon Street. Fabulous location. We walked everywhere without a problem at all.

Great breakfast--loved it! Try the chocolate eclairs...they are fabulous! The eggs are great (not the typical breakfast buffet eggs).

Great staff--friendly, nice, helpful. Enough said.

Just stay here....you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: They have balcony room but you can't sit on them so it is kind of pointless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katelynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! Clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated rooms! Helpful, personable staff.....Manny was cordial and accomodating. Breakfasts were fresh with nice variety and were served in a lovely manner. The Courtyard was inviting. The Mazarin is well located .... just far enough away from the noise of Bourbon Street but close in walking distance to everything. Would definitely return........Excellent hotel ... outstanding staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hedonist hits New Orleans.

I pride myself in my decadence. Then I came to New Orleans and realized the level of my naïveté.

But we're here to talk about the hotel Mazarin. OK... Bad news first. No bathtub and the pillows are not comfortable. That's all the bad news. Since the shower is huge and I always bring my own pillow, my life was pretty sweet at the Mazarin. Oh yeh, they have you sign a piece of paper that says you'll pay $250 if they catch you smoking in the property. A bit off-putting, but manageable. Concierge? Restaurant? Room service? No to all, but I didn't miss it. (For a change.) Rooms are very nice and quite large. Breakfast is plentiful and good. (It must be a good place if one reviewer had to criticize the breakfast bacon temperature in order to find something bad to say.) There's a nice bar attached to the property for a pre-dinner glass of wine, or post party cocktail. Almost forgot. Each lamp in the room has two electrical outlets at its base. Majorly convenient. Free wifi, too.

The high point of this hotel is the staff. Helpful, courteous friendly, efficient... I can't say enough to compliment them all. I was somewhat disappointed not to see a concierge, but all I had to do was to ask a person behind the desk and he made up for the lack of a concierge title.

The hotel is a half block away from Bourbon street - a perfect location if you happen to be interested in the college guys wet-dream-Disneyland. I wasn't. One walk down the street is about all I could take. Fried food and strip clubs are not my cup of tea. I can't imagine being a woman and walking through Bourbon street seeing the other almost dressed women offering themselves like so much meat on the rack. A major disappointment.

However! You'll find - in walking distance - some of the finest antique stores and art galleries in the world. If you have an extra million or so to spend, you'll have the opportunity to do so without feeling ripped off. 17th century animatronic clock? Amazing jewelry? $800,000 Chagall? Picasso? Erté? Miró? 3000 kinds of hot sauce? Yours for the taking.

I hope you'll take the time to take a - pardon the expression - bus tour of the city to get an overview. New Orleans has an amazing history. Spanish, French, American, Caribbean, and other influences combine gracefully to create one of the most interesting and richly mixed cultures anywhere.

For music, take a cab to Frenchman Street. Amazing, small, appropriately seedy clubs with some of the best jazz you'll hear anywhere. Don't dress up. The other places for music are interesting, but touristy. Locals go the Frenchman street. (Locals also avoid Bourbon street like the plague.)

You'll want to try beignets. Once. They aren't that great, but it is a piece of the history. Chicory coffee is also something to try. Once.

Check restaurant ratings to find good food. We tried several of the top rated. Good enough food and service, but if you're a foodie, you'll mostly be disappointed. For foodies, try "Coquet" in the garden district. Menu changes daily and it's one of the great, creative small restaurants anywhere. Black olive praline and cashew puree in your salad? Andouille infused caramel painted under your duck breast? A bit pricey, but not unreasonable... foodies won't care. Every bite is an experience to be remembered. Put this little gem on your bucket list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedonistSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mazarin. It is located between Bourbon St. and Royal St....the "perfect" location in NOLA. We enjoyed the atmosphere of being in The French Quarter without loosing any modern comforts. The staff was friendly and helpful. They welcomed us warmly had helpful suggestions for places to visit. We enjoyed our lovely room, comfortable bed and outstanding full breakfast. I would definitely recommend to friends and will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this completely delightful hotel. We were there on business and I looked forward to returning to our "little slice of heaven" every night. The location is beyond perfect. The entire staff could not have been more pleasant. There was a wedding on premises while we were there and it added to the pleasant atmosphere, as so many guests knew each other. The wedding gave it a very homey feel. Our room was just a tiny bit small but it just made me feel even more like I was in a European Hotel. That by no means is meant to sound like a complaint, merely an observation. We don't get to New Orleans very often but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing