We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to tour the French Quarter”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to tour the French Quarter”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a great location for reaching all of the French Quarter and much of downtown New Orleans. Only a block from Bourbon Street you can reach everything that's "happening" but also retreat to relax at this very comfortable hotel. Valet parking is very convenient and easy. The staff is very polite and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and just newly remodeled. The breakfast buffet is very nice with hot items as well as plenty of fresh fruit. The courtyard is lovely and certainly a great relaxing oasis. Just as a note to hotel staff, it might be nice to change some items for those of us staying more than one day. One other thing the that could be better is the hotel's WiFi. The signal was very weak in my room as well as very slow the hotel might look into getting some kind of booster. Very good deal for the money. I will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: This hotel does lots of weddings in the courtyard, which is a wonderful setting, but if you have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEZofXenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,958
    955
    180
    89
    28
See reviews for
630
2,340
102
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked this hotel through tripadvisor when my son and his girlfriend had to find a room last minute.I read quite a few reviews and used the trip advisor discount to book it for them. I called the hotel prior to his check in and asked them to leave it billed to my credit card to help them out. The agent at the hotel was very kind and understanding and told my son that I was going to help them out. Then they unexpectedly upgraded them to a suite and they called me so excited, especially since my son's girlfriend had never stayed in a hotel ever. They loved the hotel, the amenities and the location and
hope to be able to return when they can afford it.
Thanks to everyone at Hotel Mazarin for making this unexpected stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mazarin. If you want to be in the French Quarter, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is close to Canal St., where you can hop the trolley to head into the city (check out Audubon Park - beautiful!). It is just a short walk to Jackson Square, and just off Bourbon St. If you want a night of purple slushy drinks, go for it. But Patrick's Wine Bar is attached to this hotel, and is a great place for a quiet drink. A few other more upscale cocktail bars nearby - Arnaud's 75 is just across Bourbon St. on Bienvielle and the Carousel Bar around the corner in the other direction. (If you are planning to spend significant time on Frenchman Street, this might not be the hotel for you without some major support from the local cab companies. I think it might be too far to walk at the end of a long night.)

Noise is an issue probably at any hotel on or near Bourbon St, but this place isn't bad. We had a courtyard-adjacent room, so we didn't have any noise from the constant party just a few yards away on the street. The front desk said that they are installing more soundproof glass on the street view rooms, so that might be nice too. That said, because of the beautiful courtyard style of the hotel and the picturesque brickwork throughout, there is some pretty significant noise from work crews and cleaning staff that begins pretty early (make sure to put up your do not disturb sign!!), and if anyone comes home from some time on Bourbon Street to have a laugh in the courtyard, you'll know. The fountain masks some of the noise, but earplugs to the rescue again for me!

The staff at the front desk, at the door and in the breakfast room were all very friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about them. Extra props to Manny for always being awesome, and the breakfast room manager, whose name I didn't get, but who was also lovely. A nice touch from the valets - whenever we got the car, they asked us if we needed any directions (getting out of the Quarter can be a little tricky-lots of one way streets). They were always right on.

Our room was SMALL, but elegant. We paid the cheaper room price, so I wasn't upset. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room anyway. The air conditioning worked great, the bathroom was stocked with nice supplies, and the bed was a little firm but comfortable enough. Four complimentary bottles of water appeared every day, which was great. There isn't a pool, but there is a gym (somewhere). Free Wi-Fi throughout (you have to log in once a day, but it's not a big deal). The complimentary breakfast was good. The husband filled up on bacon, sausage, eggs and grits every morning, while I enjoyed fruit, yogurt and toast-your-own english muffins. The coffee was good, and always welcome.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoroMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

had a great stay at this hotel right in the french quarter. convenient walking to everything on bourbon street and beyond. their continental breakfast had a large variety of items and was free per your stay. great comfy beds. A huge plus was the non-smoking hotel that doesn't allow smoking throughout. Attentive service and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekMtnBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

First time in New Orleans, this was a great hotel to stay at, located just off Bourbon Street. Room was spacious and the bed really comfortable, breakfast was an added bonus. The only real complaint was the shower flooded our bathroom floor nearly every time we used it. The wine bar attached to the hotel was a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel right off Bourbon. Comfortable rooms, very good breakfast included. Nice wine bar attached. Location hard to beat. Just far enough off Bourbon to be away from the madness. Hotel feels personal but does not have all the facilities of larger hotels - no pool or concierge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bobbygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friends stayed here, while we were across the street at the Royal Sonesta. The wine bar here, with both indoor and outdoor seating was a nice place to meet and a good escape from nearby Bourbon Street. Would recommend it if you're looking for a little quiet and a glass of wine instead of a big beer - and only a few feet away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamginsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,112 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,542 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,093 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing