We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really Liked This Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
White House, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Liked This Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just returned from a a stay at the Hotel Mazarin and we really enjoyed both the quality and the service. The hotel was clean and the staff was very pleasant and helpful The breakfast was a nice touch. And it was very good. We were in a superior king and it was very spacious. The bed was comfortable ad I love the layout of the bathroom. It is modern and updated with old world charm. I had the opportunity to see the two suites and they also were beautiful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,475
    775
    146
    82
    24
See reviews for
503
1,914
90
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel Mazarin is truly a lovely oasis in the crazy city of New Orleans. Half a block from noisy bars on Bourbon Street is this inviting and relaxing hotel - rooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed, the breakfast buffet delicious and we especially loved the little wine bar as a quiet spot to start of finish our evenings after fun times in the French Quarter. A wonderful find in NOLA! (only negative was the staff's recommendations on fine dining - ask elsewhere)

Room Tip: It was nice to have a room that opened up to the inner courtyard - which was covered up to prevent r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillC737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a four day cruise my wife and I added an extra day to tour New Orleans. We booked at the Hotel Mazarin. Upon arrivial I thought I had made a terrible mistake...the outside of the building has no identifying information and looks in very rough shape.

However, we went inside and found a very exception hotel with excellent staff. Rene the bellboy greeted us at the door. We knew checkin was not until 3pm, however since the cruise ship boots you off at 9am we just wanted to get rid of the bags and do some sightseeing. Rene and Larry, looked at the reservations and were not only able to get us into our room immdiately but we able to give us a little better room. And even though we had just gotten off the ship we found ourselves a little hungry and they informed us that the breakfast was available until 11am. They had a nice mix of hot and cold options.

We were very happy with the quality of the room, nice furniture, pleasant decor. I really liked this hotel...it was only a 1/2 block off Bourbon Street and on the day we were there very quiet.

They had a normal check out time of 12 Noon which was perfect for our flight. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to New Orleans in the near future.

As an added note...what we later discovered was that most of the area in and around Bourbon Street are undergoing some sort of repairs in preparation for the Super Bowl in February and the Hotel was doing some updating.

Floor 5 may not be able to see down into the court yard at this time as they have a large Tarp to protect the guests, the plants and the outside decorations as they paint the upper levels. The work that was going on was really a non-issue

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was a repeat trip to the French Quarter and the hotel was superb! First, the staff: Caitlin, Renee and Ulysses were exceptional and couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the shower was as hot as you'd like! Enjoy !!

Room Tip: For quiet, do not get a room in the main courtyard area, but choose one down 'one of the halls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

For years I was in New Orleans frequently, often sharing the city with friends. I had a favorite hotel where I stayed. Everyone remembered me and treated me like family. After a long gap between visits, I found my favorite hotel dark and rebranded, the old charm and staff gone. I decided to try the Hotel Mazarin.

The decor is lovely and in keeping with the city's history... why would anyone go to NOLA and stay in a hotel that looks like it could be located anywhere?

Most of the staff is friendly and very accommodating. The lagniappe provided is just right .....in addition to in room coffee, there is bottled water, complimentary wireless, complimentary breakfast including hot items. The location is excellent for walking to all sorts of great dining and sightseeing. The suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing were excellent. Taking care of having a cab ready for our early morning departure was seamless.

There were a few negatives. Construction noise came at unwelcome times as did noise from the courtyard late at night. (Not uncommon where courtyards abound.) There was some noise from the street... a downside of the excellent location.

Would I stay there again? YES!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice rooms very clean but best part was smiling helpful staff from check-in to check-out. Also thought complimentary water bottles a very nice touch. The breakfast buffet is great, good choices, wonderful fresh fruit, creamy grits and the best buffet scrambled eggs I've ever had. Also you can't beat the location. Right in the middle of the French Quarter. We definitely will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the back side if you don't want to hear Street noise. We each have ipho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

First and foremost, the hotel is beautiful and very clean. Our room was very nice, the shower was beautiful and I really liked the floors in the room (nice not having carpet). Also, the breakfast was good. It was our first time in New Orleans and I was not sure where to stay. We stayed with family our other night in town, but wanted to experience the French Quarter so I selected this hotel.

We stayed on Sunday, December 9th for only one night. When we checked into the hotel the clerk said they had a few room options to choose from, both the clerk and one of the maids suggested we stay in room 418. The room was large, nice king size bed and window overlooking the front. But, I really wish they had told me how NOISY the room would be. I had NO SLEEP!!! I could hear outside noise, screaming loud men & women (sounded intoxicated from Bourban Street), cab drivers talking, garbage trucks early in the morning, etc. I understand I was staying close to Bourban Street, but I really don't think the staff should suggest those rooms unless they give "ear plugs" to handle the noise. Maybe they could add some type of "white noise" for that room. (note: I've stayed in other big cities where a "white noise" machine was in room and it helps).

Sadly, when I checked out I mentioned to the man at front desk how noisy the room was (note: when he asked me how was your nights stay) and he said ... "Oh, the guests that stayed in there the night before complained about noise too" .... I was surprised he didn't offer any compensation ... just that remark :-(.

I'm sure I will be back to visit New Orleans, my brother and his wife relocated to NOLA earlier this year - across the river in smaller town. I have other family members wanting to visit and this hotel is very nice and clean, but I would really appreciate the management recommending a room where you can get a good nights sleep!

Thanks and have a good day.

Room Tip: Please make sure you ask for a room away from the street! Don't stay on the street side unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doni16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,542 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,385 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing