We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer in N.O.L.A”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I cant compare the Mazarin to any other hotel in the area since it was my first trip to New Orleans. But I can say it was a lovely hotel. I stayed in room 304. It was larger than I expected since most older hotels have smaller rooms. It had french doors that opened up to a small balcony with no chairs but still it was nice to step out and see the street and all that goes on. I like the marble floors; it really made the room look expensive and the bedding was modern and clean. The bathroom was sexy with black marble throughout and a large shower with privacy glass on the front half of the length of the shower and open down the other half. I found the service to be excellent. I dont usually even notice the service at most hotels but the staff was very accomadating. The only warning I have is that in inclement weather they put a tarp over the courtyard. So if you are 3rd floor or above on those type of days, you will not see the court yard but a large white tarp.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATINCIBOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,187 - 4,193 of 4,586 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is my first time staying at Hotel Mazarin and I will definitely be coming back. The room was beautiful, the hotel staff was excellent and the location was great. I was traveling on business and decided that I did not want to stay in a chain hotel. Hotel Mazarin definitely lives up to all of the excellent reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeJR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were early so they let us drop our bags and eat a free breakfast. It was a very decent breakfast. We were on the second floor and a corner room. It overlooked the outdoor area for the hotel. The bed was soft and very comfortable with tons of pillows. A sitting area with a nice chair. Two sinks with a huge mirror and a mirror on the side with light. Shower was great and had nice pressure. Nice stand in the bathroom for your items to sit on. It is nice having the sinks and mirror outside of the bathroom so more than one person can get ready at a time. Nice shampoo and conditioner and a hair dryer available. In room phone worked well. TV was a nice flatscreen. Staff was very professional. Friendly doorman willing to do his job. Happily took our bags to the cab. We would definitely return and would recommend it for solo, couples and families. Noise does carry very well in the courtyard and hallways so keep that in mind when you are walking through or closing doors. It's New Orleans, some people like to sleep late.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Mazarin is lovely, clean, staff is wonderful, great location, but none of those things matter much when you can't get a decent night's sleep. My husband and I had the worst night's sleep ever in a hotel. There is no insulation from street noise, or noise within the hotel. We have stayed in the French Quarter many many times and have never experienced such a noisy night. Maybe it was just the room we had, but with so many other hotel options in the area, we aren't willing to take another chance on the Mazarin.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otisfiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The room was beautiful, with marble floors and lovely decor. The employees were really nice and helpful. The hotel is in a wonderful location in the French Quarter. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cher211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here for our first time to NOLA. Great location.The front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The hotel lobby and courtyard are very beautiful. The free breakfast if very good with a nice variety and the wait staff in the breakfast area were constantly refilling the food items and kept everything clean. The room was very nicely decorated, comfortable, and had everything we needed. The only downside was the noise level in the room in the early mornings. They are doing some renovations and the men working on the building start around 7 or 8am! Also one morning they set up the large courtyard tarp around 7 am and that woke us right up. Also we did get upgraded to a larger room but it was next to a very noisy ice machine. I should have asked for a room change but we just stuck it out since we had unpacked. I had to roll up a towel and place it under the door to reduce the noise level and it helped a little. I would definitely return to the Hotel Mazarin but probably after the renovations.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameriantiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Expectations were high based upon previous reviews and we were not disappointed.
Loved the bar, nice cozy place to get away from the general craziness on the street.

We will stay again on our next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryf310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,697 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $175 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing