We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Mazarin is lovely, clean, staff is wonderful, great location, but none of those things matter much when you can't get a decent night's sleep. My husband and I had the worst night's sleep ever in a hotel. There is no insulation from street noise, or noise within the hotel. We have stayed in the French Quarter many many times and have never experienced such a noisy night. Maybe it was just the room we had, but with so many other hotel options in the area, we aren't willing to take another chance on the Mazarin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otisfiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,227
    700
    128
    69
    24
See reviews for
448
1,710
76
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The room was beautiful, with marble floors and lovely decor. The employees were really nice and helpful. The hotel is in a wonderful location in the French Quarter. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cher211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here for our first time to NOLA. Great location.The front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The hotel lobby and courtyard are very beautiful. The free breakfast if very good with a nice variety and the wait staff in the breakfast area were constantly refilling the food items and kept everything clean. The room was very nicely decorated, comfortable, and had everything we needed. The only downside was the noise level in the room in the early mornings. They are doing some renovations and the men working on the building start around 7 or 8am! Also one morning they set up the large courtyard tarp around 7 am and that woke us right up. Also we did get upgraded to a larger room but it was next to a very noisy ice machine. I should have asked for a room change but we just stuck it out since we had unpacked. I had to roll up a towel and place it under the door to reduce the noise level and it helped a little. I would definitely return to the Hotel Mazarin but probably after the renovations.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ameriantiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Expectations were high based upon previous reviews and we were not disappointed.
Loved the bar, nice cozy place to get away from the general craziness on the street.

We will stay again on our next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryf310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Previous reviews had left me a little worried about what I would find, I had not stayed at this hotel since it was the St Louis some years ago. But either the previous reviewers has been very picky or they have done a complete update of thier services.
The front of the hotel was undergoing redecoration which was a little inconvenient but it has to be done sometime and I guess this was the quiet period for them.
Service was excellent and friendly, from the first couple of times I phoned to check up on things, through all the time I was there. Car valet was prompt, I had allowed time to get my car, but on both occasions I needed it they got it out in less than 5 minutes.
By US standards the room could I guess have been considered a little small, but by my European standards it was fine. Well decorated and clean. Housekeeping were there at 9am each day and a second check was made in the afternoon to ensure all was well. The room I had 201, would be considered noisy by some (elevator and aircon noise) but it was not so bad I felt I had to move and apart from some very noisy party animals leaving the elevator at 2am I found it acceptable. The room could have benefited from some kind of small desk for my laptop, but then many people probably do not work whilst there.
Breakfast was very good, though after 4 mornings it was getting more difficult to find something different (at least to my taste).
The hotel has an excellent location for all parts of the French Quarter.
Check prices as they seem to vary considerably depending on events, but at the price I paid I considered it very good value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS186326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our stay was wonderful..This hotel thinks of everything for your comfort. Great to have a breakfast waiting each morning and it too was great, such variety. The service was out of this world. I had trouble with printing our boarding passes and the desk clerk was very helpful even tho he was extremely busy. The locationb was the best! I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Hotel Mazarin is great- but there were some visual items I had issues with. First of all, the paint was damaged on the exterior during the hurricane two months ago and they are having trouble getting permits to correct- so the exterior looks VERY bad right now. Next, the "tarp" over the courtyard looks very bad and appears to be for painting. Not sure why they even have it as no other quarter hotels have tarps over their courtyards. They claim it's to keep the plants warm. The wine bar was closed half the time during my stay for reno, then the wine bartender died in a car accident. While I was there every hotel had up their Christmas decorations except Hotel Mazarin- they started to put theirs up on 11/27. There is no water in the courtyard fountain and I was told that was due to a leak. Also, By looking at the 5th floor hotel floorplan, I could tell I was given the smallest room on the 5th floor, even tho I paid for a deluxe King.
The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,746 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,476 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,967 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing